3/25 Tyler PM +3.5 41 3.7 47 +4 67 +5.75 74 +6 78 +7 101

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 3/25 Tyler PMPS 130 +1 139 +2 60 +3 42 +3.5 41 3.7 47 +4

Good job. And I'd get 100 strips....

Be careful and see you soon.
 
Re: 3/25 Tyler PMPS 130 +1 139 +2 60 +3 42 +3.5 41 3.7 47 +4

Ok, I'm back, for some reason it was a ghost town out there... and of course what can will, my internet is having intermittent spikes...

Anyways his pm feeding was at 5:30 which makes this reading (11:15) +5.7... I must have got off somewhere back on the last few readings. As usual, SS is up to speed.

+5.7: 74 Should I keep carbing him?

His ears are bleeding good now. Would it be safe to say he can go to the 33g lancets? He's on the 30 gauge now.

Just in case the morning his number is still below 150, do I still shoot 1.0u? I wake up at 4:30 (central time) for AMPS/feeding/injection... I just would like to know the what if in case it happens. I'm not very alert nor do I function well at hours so early, especially on little sleep.
 
Re: 3/25 Tyler PMPS 130 +1 139 +2 60 +3 42 +3.5 41 3.7 47 +4

you don't need to carb him now. instead, you want to wait about an hour and test him. as long as he's still going up, you can probably sleep the rest of the night.

if he's down, repeat the process earlier. he very likely will be up.

many people set cell phone alarms when they want to nap in between tests - i always did that and napped on the sofa with a light on so i wouldn't oversleep.

for morning, if he's under 150 and you're leaving for class and work, i'd skip. he might very well bounce (go high) from these low numbers. hard to say.

what sienne suggested about a timed feeder is a great idea. we use food as our first defense against low numbers. but you also said he grazes - i would make sure and leave plenty of canned low carb out for him. many cats will eat if their blood sugar drops.
 
Re: 3/25 Tyler PMPS +3 42 +3.5 41 3.7 47 +4 67 +5.75 74 +6 7

Just got Tyler's +6 and it was 78.

Thanks, going to set the stopwatch on my tablet for an hour & go plug in my laptop.
 
Re: 3/25 Tyler PMPS +3 42 +3.5 41 3.7 47 +4 67 +5.75 74 +6 7

if you have at least an hour now since you last fed him high carbs, he might be ok. to be certain you could snooze and check him in an hour.

btw, i just posted above, probably while you were posting, in case you didn't see it.
 
Re: 3/25 Tyler PMPS +3 42 +3.5 41 3.7 47 +4 67 +5.75 74 +6 7

No more food for now. 78 is a good safe number

You can probably slow down and get another test in about an hour. His liver may kick in too and give you a big bounce

As for the morning you may get that high bounce if you don't see it tonight so giving the 1 unit should be a good dose. If he's under 150 and you can't be home to test, you could give the 1 unit and leave some medium carb food out for him or skip the shot and let the depot drain some (hopefully Julie or Marje will chime in on this one too)

How long after you leave in the morning will it be before you get home?

As for the lancets, you can always try the 33's and if you have trouble, go back to the 30's
 
Re: 3/25 Tyler PMPS +3 42 +3.5 41 3.7 47 +4 67 +5.75 74 +6 7

I'd feed him a little LC food and retest in an hour from the last test and at least 30 mins after you feed. This number could come back down as the HC wears off but a little LC will help to steady the numbers so you can sleep for a bit.

You can try the 33g lancets. I still use the 30g with a very light touch to be sure I get a drop of blood. I tried the 33g and I just didn't poke hard enough to get enough blood. I also bought a package of baby wash cloths and before I test, I hold one under cold water and as soon as I poke, I hold the cold cloth to her ear and press gently. The cold cloth helps to keep her from bruising.

Dyana is our early morning helper and so if he's 150 or below, don't feed, post for help. :-D. If you are able to stall any extra time and he comes up, you can likely shoot the 1u but it's better to see where he is in the morning.
 
Re: 3/25 Tyler PMPS +3 42 +3.5 41 3.7 47 +4 67 +5.75 74 +6 7

julie & punkin (ga) said:
if you have at least an hour now since you last fed him high carbs, he might be ok. to be certain you could snooze and check him in an hour.

btw, i just posted above, probably while you were posting, in case you didn't see it.

And I edited while you were posting! I'm out like a fat kid in dodgeball! I'll be back in an hour!
 
Re: 3/25 Tyler PMPS +3 42 +3.5 41 3.7 47 +4 67 +5.75 74 +6 7

hehe this is why i said early on to refresh your browser when you've got a lot of action going on in your thread. it's very easy for people to post at the same time and you don't want to miss things. occasionally back up and look to make sure you haven't missed anything. sometimes after things settle down it helps to reread - you'll pick up info that you missed the first time around.

by the way (btw) congrats on making it through your first low numbers. you did great! :-D
 
Ok Everyone, his +7 was 101!!!

I wasn't able to sleep, but did rest a bit. I am going to bed and will start a new condo( is that right? I don't know anything right now, my brain is mash'd-tataters) @-)

Marla, Tyler's partner in crime, is whoopin' up on him and he's twice her size, they are playing, all seems normal for middle of the night activity. BTW, Tyler never seemed like he didn't feel well, but I'm still a bit new, so he may have had some visible symptoms. I'm going to reread this thread tomorrow.

Thank you all so very much, ya'll are wonderful! :razz:

B
 
Re: 3/25 Tyler PMPS +3 42 +3.5 41 3.7 47 +4 67 +5.75 74 +6 7

julie & punkin (ga) said:
hehe this is why i said early on to refresh your browser when you've got a lot of action going on in your thread.

From the moment I first posted his PMPS I have been hitting the refresh tab like a lab rat hitting a button for a treat!

I'm really going to be now, so I'm off like a prom dress!

B
 
Super! We start a new condo with the AMPS so if you get up tomorrow and have to stall, use this condo until you shoot or, if you have to skip, start a new one with his AMBG which tells us you skipped the shot.

BTW, you are using U100 syringes and drawing from the pen, right? You aren't using the pen needles made for humans and then dialing in the dose using the twisty dose part on the end of the pen opposite where the needle goes, correct?

Hope you sleep well. Great job!
 
Hi. Congrats on surviving a crazy ride. I had my first one of these not too long ago. Max likes me to be up during the night and doesn't seem to do it as much during the day. Now that I wrote that he will!! Hope you get some sleep.

Elise
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top