3/25 Red: 240 AMPS, +6 397, +12 445

Status
Not open for further replies.

carolyn16

Member Since 2013
Hello!
I still can't figure out why Red always starts the day of with the lowest number when he's due for a shot & it continues to rise as the day progresses. Any clues anyone? He has been on 3 units now for about 2 weeks. Thanks for any input!
 
Re: 3/25 Red: 240 AMPS, +6 397

Actually I think his dose it too high and has always been too high if I understand his spreadsheet correctly he was started at 3u which is a hefty dose for a newly dxed cat. Personally if he was my cat I would start over at 1u and work my way up slowly from there while getting in as many ketone tests as possible. The problem is that too much and too little insulin can look exactly alike, but where he is getting his lowest numbers as the Lantus should be starting to wane would have me rolling the dose all the way back to 1u and holding that for a couple of weeks, then slowly raising based on his nadirs.

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang.
 
I never started Red on 3 units of Lantus. He started out on 1/2 unit. I just now started the spreadsheet & now have computer problems. He started on Lantus in January of 2013. He also was diagnosed with diabetes in December of 2011 and was on Pro-Zinc until this past January of 2013 I thought something would work better as well as my vets opinion too.

Now, can anyone explain to me why he would continue to rise throut the day? I have only raised him by 1/2 unit after trying a new dose for at least 2 weeks if not alittle longer.

Thanks for any help.
 
Without being able to see the same numbers you are seeing I can't even guess. It could be one of two things...too much insulin or too little insulin but without being able to see the patterns I don't know. But if his numbers keep getting worse as you increase the dose then the only way to go is down in dose and see if he gives you better numbers.

There could be a myrid of reasons for him to constantly rise all day...Since he goes outside, he could be getting into something high carb, it could be not enough insulin, it could be too much insulin. He could have an underlying health problem which could be something as simple as an infection or a complex as IAA. (insulin resistance).

As much as I wish this was a simple equation of if the cat weighs so much, eats this and has a BG of this then you give this much insulin, it just isn't that easy. The other thing that comes to mind is how old is your insulin?

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
Red started on new Lantus this past Wed. night & I dropped him from 3 units to 2 units as a good friend on this board suggested I do. He is not overweight now & holding steady at around 14. He use to weigh 17 lbs. & was overweight then. He is a pretty big tomcat too. We live in the boondocks & there are not any cat owners closeby. We do have some dogs but they are all indoor ones & very well taken care of. My few neighbors know he is diabetic as well. He shows no sign of infection at this point. He has had one bladder infection but no signs of that now. He has energy & his fur looks good as well.

Red was on 3 units before I opened up this new bottle. His numbers for today were:

3/30 AMPS 321 +3 354 +12 487. Hope to get more testing in tomorrow if possible & if not, then on Monday I will.

Thanks for your input!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top