3/25 on behalf of Kiwi, AMPS 159, reduction earned

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 3/25 on behalf of Kim and Kiwi. eyes, DOSE, reduction ea

Is everything OK with Kim?

A dose reduction is in order. I'd suggest trying to shave the dose and shooting a 0.1u dose.
 
Re: 3/25 on behalf of Kim and Kiwi. eyes, DOSE, reduction ea

Please pass on my congratulations - whoo hoo go Kiwi and go Kim :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:
 
Re: 3/25 on behalf of Kim and Kiwi. eyes, DOSE, reduction ea

Thank you so much for getting this started, Kim. I've had an extra difficult couple of days myself... and Kiwi's drop had made it quite a bit more strenuous (and stressful). His AMPS is 159. But, of course, just to make things difficult, Kiwi won't eat his breakfast (pre-shot meal). Maybe I over-fed him last night when I saw that 36. He's eaten less than half, and its now about 30 mins past his usual shot time. any suggestions?
 
Re: 3/25 on behalf of Kim and Kiwi. eyes, DOSE, reduction ea

Remember -- Lantus takes an hour or two before onset begins. As long as Kiwi will graze at his food, you'll be fine.
 
Re: 3/25 on behalf of Kim and Kiwi. eyes, DOSE, reduction ea

Hi Kim, congrats on the dose reduction! Kiwi is looking really good! I'm sorry you have been having a rough time. I know the greens can be stressful, but try to remember that this is what you want to see....others are probably drooling over Kiwi's SS! :mrgreen:

Can you heat up the food? Sometimes it helps to make it smellier. You could try sprinkling some freeze dried chicken on the top, parmesan cheese, or some tuna water. Maybe try a different food?

I would love to see you get some insulin into Kiwi and keep the momentum going!
 
Re: 3/25 on behalf of Kim and Kiwi. eyes, DOSE, reduction ea

He still hasn't eaten. We never wait this long to give his shot. Can we still give it? How long do we have? How do we give him .1u? Can we give it and keep trying to get him to eat? Or should we skip dose altogether?
 
Re: 3/25 on behalf of Kim and Kiwi. eyes, DOSE, reduction ea

0.1 units looks like this.

It's ok to shoot Lantus if they are not eating, as long as you are sure you can get some food in within the next couple of hours. Can you do that?
 
Re: 3/25 on behalf of Kim and Kiwi. eyes, DOSE, reduction ea

Glad you got the advice you needed! I have trouble getting Simon to eat most things, especially when it has been in the refrigerator. He always likes the freshly opened can best:) at least my calico Molly will eat anything; she is the vacuum kitty!
You might pick up some Fancy Feast classic chicken for these occasions. Most picky eaters like it! it's not as high quality as wellness (which I think you feed) but it is superior to other grocery brands. Simey lubs it! I did not know about it at first because it's on binky's OLD list. The classic varieties are all supposed to be LC, but some feel the Turkey and Giblets acts more like a MC or HC. Maybe the formula was changed? Anyway, chicken is a good bet--just make sure it says "classic."
 
Re: 3/25 on behalf of Kim and Kiwi. eyes, DOSE, reduction ea

hi kim(s)!

i just want to say that if kiwi is down to 0.1 - you better not just disappear and not let us all celebrate with you! what great news!

kiwi needs to flatten out more overall before you stop the insulin, fyi. we want to see more green!
 
Thanks for all your advice. We did go ahead and gave him the .1u (or as close as we could get). He did eventually eat.... Thanks to Laurie and Mr Tinkles for suggesting we sprinkle freeze dried chicken on the food... it did the trick. Everyone else's suggestions were good, but we had already tried most of them.

I guess I'll have to keep a close eye on him today... I'll keep up his ss the best I can, and update when I'm able.

Do you have any suggestions as for how often to check his bg today? He didn't have any symptoms last night when he got so low, and that worries me a lot. I'd hate for him to be in trouble, and not know anything is wrong.

Thanks for your help,
Kim and Kiwi
 
Nice shooting! I'm glad you got him to eat, ECID and sometimes it's trial and error to find something that works. Fortiflora is another idea to sprinkle on food if you haven't tried that yet...I keep that in the house because it's great to encourage eating, plus it's also great for diarrhea.

How late was his shot? I would put a note in the comments about what + hour you gave it, and remember that you will want to shoot 12 hours from whatever time that was for PMPS tonight. You can gradually move the shot time back by 15 minutes each shot, or 30 minutes once per day to get back on schedule.

I see you already got a +3...that would have been my suggestion to get an idea of where he's heading. If he were my cat, I would try to get a mid cycle number if possible (+6-+7?) next. If you are worried, you can always check him more often, I was a testaholic so I never discourage more testing. ;-)

Go Kiwi! You're doing great, Kim. :smile:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top