3/25 Cinco AMPS 238 +2.5 177 +4.25 111 +7 160 PMPS 241 +3 189 +5 141

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tricia Cinco(GA) & Harvey

Member Since 2011
3/24 Recap:
1.0 units bid
AMPS: 202
AM+2.5: 248
AM+4.25: 210
AM+6: 192
PMPS: 226
PM+3: 102
PM+4: 82
PM+5.75: 91
PM+7: 117

Most Recent Condo

Ultra Late Condo Queen here. I figured I'd better post something before the hounds were released to search for us! What, you didn't notice we were AWOL? Awww. :(

This is just a super busy week for me. I have/had appointments in Sacramento Tuesday, Wednesday and Thursday. That leaves me little time to get anything else done, and sitting down at the computer is really low on the list when I get home. Sorry! Cinco has been most cooperative while I've been running around (anti-jinx), but fortunately, my DH was working from home yesterday and today and could check on him. Tomorrow I will not be so lucky, so it'll be Otto and prayer watching over Cinco!

Today was Minko's chemo. It was the fourth treatment in this series, so they did a complete blood panel, urinalysis and ultrasound. I'll quote from the report they gave me:

"The good news today is that Minka's cancer is in a stable, strong, partial remission. However, unfortunately her kidney disease has worsened, which may be due to her urinary tract infection that we will go ahead and start treating". So the CBC showed her creatinine is up to 2.8. Her anemia is better. The uriinalysis showed bacteria and her white cell count indicated an active infection. They are doing a culture to determine the correct AB. She's back on Clavamox until they get the results. Her weight is down again. Her "abdominal ultrasound showed static changes, still abnormalities within her left kidney, but they appear the same as in January and everything else is stable."

Oh! She just fell off the back of the sofa again! She hasn't learned that she can't roll over there! :facepalm::confused:

The oncologist wants her fluids increased to 150 mls a day. They don't want us to give them all at once, as they say that puts a strain on the heart. We are to do 100 mls in the morning and 50 at night. I explained that Minka has refused to eat anything but Fancy Feast recently, and the high phosphorous content concerns the Oncologist. She asked me to keep trying to get her back on the foods we were feeding before chemo (low Phos stuff), and sent home a sample of Purina NF for us to try. Much to my amazement, Minka likes it! Of course, since I just ordered a case, she will probably refuse it tomorrow. :rolleyes: Minka is scheduled for four more chemo sessions, and then she will be monitored for a return of the disease.

Sasha's allergies are still bothering her a lot (and me more). I'm giving her Atarax twice a day. We'll see if that helps. Meanwhile, her appy is decent. She came down twice yesterday, looking for affection. I just don't have enough time to give her the love she craves. :(

Harvey has been amazingly cooperative about his pills. He still tries to stay out of reach, but when I do catch him, his struggles are almost half hearted, and he settles down into the cat sack with little fuss. He's still great at holding his jaw closed, but we're getting the job done a lot easier lately. I make sure to love on him and pet and hug him both before and after pilling, and I think that helps a lot. Day before yesterday,he actually jumped up in my lap right about the time I usually pill him! It's like shooting fish in a barrel! :woot:

Speaking of shooting, DH leaves on a hunting trip Friday morning. He'll be back Monday afternoon. So not not only do I have to do Cinco's shots on my own, but I have to give Minka fluids twice a day without Daddybean's lap! You might give the men in the white coats a heads up that I may need them by Monday. I know lots of you have been doing this stuff on your own all along, but I haven't had to and I'm a wimp.

Tomorrow is Minka's acupuncture appointment. Should be interesting. I hope it helps.

Sorry I haven't done much visiting lately. I'll try to make up for it this weekend.

Sending healing vines to all in need, especially DoLou and Doodle, and hugs to all their beans, especially Lisa and Jennifer. :bighug: Prayers continue for Amy's DF, Lyresa's DF, DH and DGD, Lisa's DF, Marje's DM and Elise's DM.

 
I noticed (as I'm sure did others) Such good news on Minka's cancer :) I'm going to have an adult beverage to celebrate!
 
Yay for a good report on Minka's cancer. I'm sorry the kidney disease is worse. I hope the extra fluids help and she'll keep eating the new food. I'm glad Cinco is being a good boy and surfing safely while you're so busy.
 
Overall a great report from Cinco's household! I'm glad Minka likes her new fuds...sendng appy vines that the trend continues!! I am positive you will do fine without DH...it will be busy and hectic, but fine!!
 
My head is swimming thinking about all you need to do but you do it so well and will on your own as well.. Vines and hugs that all goes well with Minka's new food. Tons more that a complete remission will be there by the next check. They will stop chemo in 4 treatments even if full remission isn't achieved? That is a different protocol than I've seen. Vines that the UTI goes away and takes the higher creatinine with it! I hope they all eat well and Cinco continues to be the good girl and eat her fuds from otto.
 
I hope everything that causes Minka pain goes away today especially the UTI.
I can relate to buying the case of food and then they won't eat it! The good news for me is I am sure to find one that will if not more. lol
I am also praying Cinco does well as you figure today out. Like you my head is spinning with 5 cats who need meds. I found a spreadsheet with the cats name and meds and days helps me. I just check them off as I do them. I have a kitchen counter that I give all my meds on with a cat bed on it and the chart is inside the upper cabinet door. Makes it easy. Also an alarm.

I hope your day is simple!
 
Darn on the UTI. Hope the a/b and fluiding can get a handle on kicking it.

All and all, pretty good news on the Minka front. And she liked the food!!! (Shhhh, we shouldn't let her know how happy that makes us.)

'Tis the season for allergies. Nasty. Suppose hoping for a freeze isn't much of a suggestion. Maybe some rain? Damp down that pollen.

And, of course, I still absolutely adore Harvey. What a loveable lunk. Seems it's more a game than a necessity that he resists his meds with such a "vengeance." Funny boy.

Cinco. You know, we're counting on your to be the perfect child this weekend. Mamabean's going to need your help!

Sending octopus vines...lots of arms and hands...for your weekend.

Marilyn and Polly
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top