3/24 Jazzy AMPS 254, PMPS 267

Status
Not open for further replies.

Libby and Lucy

Member Since 2009
Jazzy hasn’t had a condo in a while, mostly because there usually isn’t much to say. She spoils me with her consistency. :smile:

Comments are welcome, from everybody. High dose experience, no high dose experience, no Lev experience, everybody. I’m opening myself up even though I know some people disagree with how I’m dosing Jazzy. The goal is to get some conversations started about HD dosing, in a place other than an overwhelmed newbie’s condo.

Jazzy has acromegaly and is currently on Levemir, 10.5 units BID.

My long-term goal for Jazzy is to have a spreadsheet like these:
Porscha - I covet this spreadsheet!
Mouf

For now, my health doesn’t always permit me to monitor very well in the evenings, so I’m letting her run a little higher. My goal right now is all blue, all the time. Jazzy feels better and has a better personality when she is under 200.

WCR: we went to the vet on Monday because Jazzy was limping a little, and also because her outside-the-litter-box episodes have ramped up recently. The out-of-box experiences are not new for her, they happen sporadically and so far there never seems to be a medical reason for it. She’s just a diva. Poor thing, the limp turned out to be because she had some ingrown claws thanks to an old botched declaw job. Apparently deformed little claws can grow back if the declaw isn’t done well. I never even thought to trim her front claws, since she wasn’t supposed to have any. Also her anal glands were impacted and infected. Those were cleared out and the *()$# vet (not my usual vet) gave her a Convenia shot without asking me! My regular vet would never give anything without asking… There was an “insignificant” amount of bacteria in her urine, no a/b prescribed since she has had Convenia. Sent the urine for a culture at my request, but it’s not back yet. Otherwise her bloodwork and urine came back great! Everything is about the same as last year so she’s in good shape. She has lost ½ pound since last year and now weighs 11.8 pounds. She is about 11 years old.

So, we now have Convenia on board, liquipoo thanks to that (started FortiFlora tonight), and still have pee problems. She just squatted on the carpet right in front of me. :roll: I'm at the point of trying to figure out a way to temporarily confine her just to the kitchen, which is the only non-carpeted area in my house. I reduced her dose a little yesterday just in case the numbers were inflated due to infection. I’ll have to watch the numbers for the next few weeks since I don’t have a clue what Convenia (plus infection being cleared) will do. I also started a new vial tonight. I don’t love today’s numbers, but overall I’m pretty happy with where she is so I’ll just go with it for another day or two. Probably I’ll increase on Saturday unless I see some changes.

Thoughts?

edited to fix truncated links
 
no useful input from me...but sending jazzy tons of healing vines, Libby
and energy vines to you!

celi & binks
 
Hi Libby!
I have no experience in what you're dealing with.
But it's a nice surprise to see a condo for Jazzy. :-D
And I'm sorry about the big "C" shot, that sucks and it's unfortunate. Hoping for no setbacks as a result.
Wishing you all the best with your decisions, you're still an awesome kitty mom! :YMHUG:
 
It's good to see a condo for you and Jazzy. She's dealing with a lot huh. Awww.

Is D-Manose used with cats? It's been recommended for us on the dog kidney forum for a stubborn UTI/bladder infection for my dog. I have a friend who's cat has bladder issues - I don't know the exact diagnosis but she is trying out adequan injections. Throwing this out there for you to look up in case its helpful.

Hope she is all back to normal soon and heals quickly. Sending hugs.

Sorry about the shot : (
 
no advice unless you want to try behavior meds since so many times elavil or prozac can help with urinating like this once everything is ruled out healthwise, I have used proxac from time to time here over the years and with the right dose it can do wonders. Feliway sometimes can work the plug ins :?: sending her some healing vines tonight :-D :YMHUG: :YMHUG: with DL being IAA I have to admit even though shooting for green is what I know I need to do I myself also prefer low blue since I am like a zombie at nights with my current health issues and meds I am on so I find night testing almost impossible so I can sure relate to that Libby
 
Hi Libby,
It sounds like you have a lot on your plate right now and I do hope that Jazzy will start feeling better and begin to get back to her normal litterbox behavior. Too bad about the Convenia shot. Do they call it Convenia because it is convenient for the vet? I hope that you can get the conversation about high dose, etc. going. We will all benefit from it, even though many (most?) of us won't be able to contribute.
Anyway, healing vines for Jazzy, and for you, too. You do so much here (and for Jazzy and Lucy) and deserve to feel well!

Have a good evening,

Ella & Rusty

p.s. I read in "Opera News" that the Met Lulu video from the 1980s has been released on DVD as part of the James Levine DVD celebratory set. It is also available as a stand-alone DVD. I'm going to check it out next week when we're in NYC. It is a wonderful production. We've seen it several times and it remains riveting.
 
oooh, thanks Lisa, I keep forgetting I have a Feliway plug-in. I'll plug that in right now. I just spent $400 on her in the last two days so I'll try that before more drugs. That might be next, though. My kitchen is too open to easily block her in there, but this weekend I might have to work on a way to do that.

Ella, I think they went with Convenia because Jazzy was a screaming banshee when they touched her butt. :lol: They probably thought I couldn't get medicine into her. Also, this relief vet does actually know a little bit about acromegaly, and she knew that you are not supposed to pill acros. Still, Jazzy is actually pretty easy to handle as long as you stick with handling the front half of her body, so I think I could have gotten liquid antibiotic into her fairly easily.
 
Hi Libby - I can't really help with the questions on board either... kinda out of my realm. but it is good to see a Jazzy condo! :-D

sounds like you have alot on your plate at the moment. alot to handle. I'm glad that Jazzy's vet report came back well. wow on the claw thing - I would not have thought. makes me want to check Mannie - he had one yanked out during a tree climbing episode... and the convenia - omg. been that route too with my vet: twice. once with Mannie - he had no problems with it, though there are now instructions all over his chart: never again!

and good luck with the LB issue.
 
Great to see a Jazzy condo. Can't help with the IAA but I have had quite a few that had chronic UT problems. I used vitamin c. It seemed to help.

I hope you and Jazzy feel better soon. Keeping you both in my thoughts and prayers.
 
i appreciate you doing this, Libby! thanks!

as a newbie i pick up little snippets but don't know whole stories. I don't know what the thing is about Convenia, although I gather it's something to stay away from. I don't know what it is (an antibiotic, maybe?) or why it's bad for cats (or just diabetic cats?)

i also have wondered about the higher dose - i realize that punkin is on a higher dose from the mistake about switching needle sizes when we went from ProZinc u-40 to Lantus u-100. But I don't get what the mechanism is that would let a cat function on insulin that's too much if it's too much. as though that made any sense. But why wouldn't it make a cat's BG plummet if it's really too much.

as far as Jazzy goes, i'd love to hear her story, especially about how she got to this dose.

no ideas on the peeing outside the box - punkin has always had a bladder infection when he did that (and his favorite spot thankyouverymuch, was on our bed) except this last time when he was diagnosed with the diabetes. Is her box always cleaned out, convenient to get to, a kind of litter she likes?

one more question - what's the connection between the dentals and diabetes? is it that if they have a dental infection, or some other infection their BG is high, or it measures falsely high? I don't quite get the connection.
 
Great to see a Jazzy condo and hear how she's doing. It does sound like you have your hands full and you are always helping all of us, too!!! Don't know how you do it. I just wanted to stop in and send Jazzy healing vines. Yuckus on the convenia...I think Ella's right...it's because it's "conveniaent" for vets :lol:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top