3/24 Gumung Amps 498 @+3 370

Hi and welcome Erin :). Hoping that numbers continue to improve, you just haven't gotten to the right dose yet. Let's see if you are able to get some yellows again tomorrow. I'd hold the current dose for 6 cycles before considering an increase.
 
I’d give the current dose two more cycles as well and if not under 300 go up another .50. If under 200 it would be a .25/increase.
 
Sometimes cats will wait until the 5th or 6th cycles before showing you what a dose can do. Maybe tomorrow.

When comparing to other cats, remember that the AT usually shows higher numbers, so it won’t look as good as people using human meters. Plus some cats just need more insulin, mine was one of those.
 
Hang in there. It will happen. Some cats take a little longer.


I would go up another 0.5U tomorrow.

@tiffmaxee

Thank you, Bhooma, I did raise the dose to 5 yesterday, but also another flat day. As suggested by wendy&neko, tiffamaxee, Christie& maverick I will hold this 5 unit cycle bit longer. Maybe at least 6 cycle. He seems like he needs time. And also he had urine test result came in yesterday. Infection was positive so hopefully with his medication, baytril, will bring his BG level down.
So sorry that I couldn’t reply soon yesterday. I was so stress from morning, wasn’t able to test amps 5 times!! :nailbiting:
He is getting lower number today though!
 
Hi and welcome Erin :). Hoping that numbers continue to improve, you just haven't gotten to the right dose yet. Let's see if you are able to get some yellows again tomorrow. I'd hold the current dose for 6 cycles before considering an increase.

Hello! Thank you for your suggestions on holding 6 cycle with 4.5 unit. But yesterday, I had no time to even looked at other post other than Bhooma’s suggestion. Since I raised to 5 unit, I will try to hold for longer.
Thank you again :)
 
I’d give the current dose two more cycles as well and if not under 300 go up another .50. If under 200 it would be a .25/increase.

Thank you Tiffamax for your suggestions. I will try to hold on to current (raised to 5 already, I had no time to even look at other posts other than Bhooma’s) few more cycle. I am not sure if anything changed but his BG lowered to 200 today,3/26 , he also needs infection medicine to take so, hopefully with that it comes down.
Thank you again :)
 
Sometimes cats will wait until the 5th or 6th cycles before showing you what a dose can do. Maybe tomorrow.

When comparing to other cats, remember that the AT usually shows higher numbers, so it won’t look as good as people using human meters. Plus some cats just need more insulin, mine was one of those.

Thank you, I feel like he does need some tome to get adjusted to dose increase. Yesterday, I had no time to even look at other posts other than Bhooma’s suggestion, so I did raised to 5. Even increasing to 5, had no lowered BG yesterday, but today I saw some 200s. I might have to stick to this unit to 6 cycle at least?
Thank you again
:bighug:
 
Why were you't you able to get the AMPS even after 5 attempts? No blood? Do you warm his ear? Sorry if I asking these questions again and again. Here are some tips for home testing:
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/9-9-bailey-amps-117-5-62.252712/#post-2851043

Hello Bhooma! His ear was bit swollen and also every time I pocked him he was crying and running from me,, After each tests, he would scratch his ears. With someone in this forum suggested to use Boiron Ledum Palustre 30c, with melted in the water, kept cold, after test, I would soak cotton pad and hold in few sec with his ear. But I guess I am still not a master. He does feel pain, couldn’t bare that cry yesterday morning. :arghh:

Hopefully tomorrow I see lower than 200 soon. I will hold it till tomorrow (6 cycle).
And yes, I am not sure when the infection developed in his body. With vet, we did Urinalysis on 2/12. Even at home urine test, it started show infection around last week.
He was prescribed for 2 weeks 1/2 pills of 68g a day.
 
Hi! Yes, I have been increasing the dose, but I am not sure why it’s not working like other cats! :arghh:

It's taking my Leo longer! The following helped me 'see' reality.... and of course, ECID (every cat is different). PLUS, your kitty transitioned to another insulin type.

"Try to find a way to dose as consistently as possible, time-wise and dose-wise: sliding scales don't work. Don't skip shots. Fluctuations are very common in this phase before BGs start to stabilize under consistent dosing: a typical curve of cat over the first 1.5 months on Lantus can be seen here."
Also, Leo's ears were showing some 'poking,' as I call it. @Bandit's Mom shared with me some ideas, but what spoke to me was the use of Ledum 30C. I'll go look for her input and update here.

ETA: I see now you already received advice. Bhooma is great!
 
It's taking my Leo longer! The following helped me 'see' reality.... and of course, ECID (every cat is different). PLUS, your kitty transitioned to another insulin type.

"Try to find a way to dose as consistently as possible, time-wise and dose-wise: sliding scales don't work. Don't skip shots. Fluctuations are very common in this phase before BGs start to stabilize under consistent dosing: a typical curve of cat over the first 1.5 months on Lantus can be seen here."
Also, Leo's ears were showing some 'poking,' as I call it. @Bandit's Mom shared with me some ideas, but what spoke to me was the use of Ledum 30C. I'll go look for her input and update here.

ETA: I see now you already received advice. Bhooma is great!


Thank you! Yes Bhooma is so knowledgeable! So helpful with me going through first diabetes family (not even human family!)
I do agree with you that every cat is different. I just hope he doesn’t have any other problem thats causing him to need high insulin doses.
Oh! It was Bhooma who gave you a tip for Ledum 30C? I am using it. He hates that cold water but well, his ears need some cat friendly medicine.
 
Thank you! Yes Bhooma is so knowledgeable! So helpful with me going through first diabetes family (not even human family!)
I do agree with you that every cat is different. I just hope he doesn’t have any other problem thats causing him to need high insulin doses.
Oh! It was Bhooma who gave you a tip for Ledum 30C? I am using it. He hates that cold water but well, his ears need some cat friendly medicine.

So does Leo!!

I hope there's nothing else for Gumung.
:cat:
 
Back
Top