Glad to see you made it over to the Lantus forum Erin
I hope the new dose starts to do the trick!

Improvement from yesterday!
Hang in there. It will happen. Some cats take a little longer.Hi! Yes, I have been increasing the dose, but I am not sure why it’s not working like other cats!![]()
I would go up another 0.5U tomorrow.@+5 292
@+8 481
@+11 442
PMPS 479
Hang in there. It will happen. Some cats take a little longer.
I would go up another 0.5U tomorrow.
@tiffmaxee

Hi and welcome Erin. Hoping that numbers continue to improve, you just haven't gotten to the right dose yet. Let's see if you are able to get some yellows again tomorrow. I'd hold the current dose for 6 cycles before considering an increase.
I’d give the current dose two more cycles as well and if not under 300 go up another .50. If under 200 it would be a .25/increase.
Sometimes cats will wait until the 5th or 6th cycles before showing you what a dose can do. Maybe tomorrow.
When comparing to other cats, remember that the AT usually shows higher numbers, so it won’t look as good as people using human meters. Plus some cats just need more insulin, mine was one of those.

Why were you't you able to get the AMPS even after 5 attempts? No blood? Do you warm his ear? Sorry if I asking these questions again and again. Here are some tips for home testing:
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/9-9-bailey-amps-117-5-62.252712/#post-2851043

Hi! Yes, I have been increasing the dose, but I am not sure why it’s not working like other cats!![]()
It's taking my Leo longer! The following helped me 'see' reality.... and of course, ECID (every cat is different). PLUS, your kitty transitioned to another insulin type.
"Try to find a way to dose as consistently as possible, time-wise and dose-wise: sliding scales don't work. Don't skip shots. Fluctuations are very common in this phase before BGs start to stabilize under consistent dosing: a typical curve of cat over the first 1.5 months on Lantus can be seen here."Also, Leo's ears were showing some 'poking,' as I call it. @Bandit's Mom shared with me some ideas, but what spoke to me was the use of Ledum 30C. I'll go look for her input and update here.
ETA: I see now you already received advice. Bhooma is great!
Thank you! Yes Bhooma is so knowledgeable! So helpful with me going through first diabetes family (not even human family!)
I do agree with you that every cat is different. I just hope he doesn’t have any other problem thats causing him to need high insulin doses.
Oh! It was Bhooma who gave you a tip for Ledum 30C? I am using it. He hates that cold water but well, his ears need some cat friendly medicine.
