3/24 Checkers PMPS 471 +2/387

Status
Not open for further replies.

Barb & Checkers (GA)

Member Since 2009
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=66934

Checkers started off well yesterday but became very subdued, and miserable looking, as the day wore on. At one point,he had drool, that I won't explain, to be kind to queasy folks. I was shaking so badly, I could barely dial the vet.

The vet tech involved in the dental explained what was going on.
She even described in gory detail, the smell, so I knew she knew what she was talking about. I was not to panic.

She said his gums were stitched up pretty well (my words). I ended up giving bupe again after 12 hours, and an hour later, he came out to eat and use LB.
I was scared silly, having never given it twice in one day. 0.1 is the dose in each syringe.
Today he seems okay. He ate fine and is camped out on the sink now.

Susan reminded me, that I got Dr Dave's permission to stop this AB a couple of days early, last Decl, after a dental.
She thinks it was because it has sugar in it. I have to look that up now, altho I don't know what to do if it does.

He absolutely needs the AB. He had a rougher time with the extractions this time.
It's clindamycin hydrochloride liq.
 
Re: 3/24 Checkers amps 291+2/350

{{{hugs}}} Barb. he'll be okay. He's probably just sore and achey like anyone would be after being at the dentist. I'm sure Rupert will send him some psychic healing vines for his 'tooty pegs' to feel better. Poor Checkers. Now if he was a human you'd say 'rinse your mouth with Scotch - frequently!'. Maybe that might work for you though??

Hurry up and feel better Checks, Rupie needs his party buddy to lead him into mischief! Hang in there Barb...kitties are so darned resilient.
 
Re: 3/24 Checkers amps 291+2/350

(((Barb)))
I'm sorry (((Checkers))) isn't feeling great yet. He went through a lot, it'll take a bit of time for full recovery, but he'll get there.
 
Re: 3/24 Checkers amps 291+2/350

Hi guys .. I'm sorry checks had such a rough day yesterday .. and you too barb! Not sure if the AB's have sugar in them or not .. others might be able to answer that for you .. I hope today is a better day for the both of you ..
 
Re: 3/24 Checkers amps 291+2/350

Poor Checkers!! Sounds like he had an icky day with the dental! Fingers and paws crossed that he is feeling better today!! Hugs from us!!
 
Re: 3/24 Checkers amps 291+2/350

(((Barb)) - many hugs to you. am sorry - I can only imagine your panic... i know on the bupe, and he may need it for a while, same with AB's. I'm not sure on what it will do to the BG's, but do know once all is said and done, checks is healed, the numbers will adjust, come down. Lots of hugs and scritches for Checks, you too, to get through the next few days. It does sounds like you are on top of it. Hang in there.

Checks! The KTSS is on its way - we gots chicken soup so you'll feel better, and massages for you and we will bring something for your bean too. See you soon buddy.... feel better, OK? ~~ Mannie
 
Re: 3/24 Checkers amps 291+2/350

:YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG: ....I'm so sorry Checks ended up having a rough day yesterday. I'm glad, though, you were able to get some help from the vet's office. I'm sure the icky feeling will subside soon...poor little guy, and poor you. We've got you in our thoughts and prayers.

Rest up and feel better ASAP, Checkers!!!
 
Re: 3/24 Checkers amps 291+2/350

Gah poor Checkers, they are just like humans i guess, tooth aches and after the dentist you feel pretty miserable then a few days later you wake up and feel great! I hope Checkers feels better soon, i know our vetty had me giving Leo bupe every 8 hours after Leo had his dental. Rest up and take it easy Checkers.

Checkers we are on our way to help you feel better! Leo
 
Re: 3/24 Checkers amps 291+2/350

Hi ((((Barb & Checkers))))
Extractions are never pain-free and often the pain is worse the second day. Just let him sleep as much as he can and you relax, too. He needs the medications, so you should give the full course so that super bacteria don't develop--the ones that are resistant to antibiotics. Thinking of you today and sending lots of healing vines to your boy.

Hugs,
Ella & Rusty

Hey Checks, I'm on my way with the KTSS. The soup smells yummy. It's just what you need today.
Rusty
 
Re: 3/24 Checkers amps 291+2/350 +4/293 +6/337

Thank you for kind , consoling words. We all know how it feels, when our babies are hurting.
He is being so cooperative about meds, and is being very affectionate and cuddly....so I know he doesn't feel well.
He does eat, thank goodness...I make his meals on the soupy side.

I know that high numbers isn't unusual for him lately, and I had been thinking about increasing. I had to decrease after 3/11's drop to 33. Unfortunately, it didn't seem to be sticking. He can't be permanently bouncing.

So here's the question:
Whether it's from the clindamycin, or he needed dosecrease anyway, should I now increase, to .5u,
or wait until he's finished with AB? That's not for another 9 days.

thank you
 
Re: 3/24 Checkers amps 291+2/350 +4/293 +6/337

Barb, Wellness Turkey is kind of on the borderline of being low phos being 200mg per 100 Kcal. I think Ann would like to see less than 100, but that's hard to find with low carbs also, and something Tess will eat. Ann will be home Monday afternoon, if you want more info.

Tess was on Ab's for a UTI a couple of weeks ago, and had diarea, vomiting, and we even syringe fed her for a day or two. So she is a little finicky about food now. Her numbers were a little high then, but are good now. Too good last night ohmygod_smile She is eating well since we stopped the AB, and UTI is cleared up.

Checkers should be fine after he recovers from the dental in a few days. Hope this info helps.

John
 
Re: 3/24 Checkers amps 291+2/350 +4/293 +6/337

Barb:

Sending Checkers healing vines. I"m so sorry he feels bad from the dental. The bupe will help. I'd give it as prescribed even if it makes him sleepy.

And yes...please keep giving the clindamycin as Ella suggested. Any reason why they couldn't give the pill form? Will Checkers eat the duck/pea pill pockets? I'm not sure
if this time around the liquid they gave you has sugar in it? And I know it's Saturday so you are probably stuck with the liquid for the weekend.

We're talking about the dose with Checkers. I've got to run out but hopefully one of us can get back to you on the dose for this evening. He may still be
bouncing from the blue he had and he's been low on this dose but with everything in the mix, I think it's best we discuss it and get back to you.

Hugs for you both.
 
Re: 3/24 Checkers amps 291+2/350 +4/293 +6/337

Marje, I was given liquid, because Checks is hard to pill. He takes the liquid well. Dr Dave asked me.
It's very bitter, so I follow it with a little tuna liquid.
Checks doesn't like the duck PP, but loves the regular, sugary ones. :roll:

I would not stop the AB! I'll deal with higher numbers with a dosecrease....if it's okay.
I'll give the usual dose of .25 tonight, and hope for advice for morning shot.
 
Re: 3/24 Checkers amps 291+2/350 +4/293 +6/337

He is being so cooperative about meds, and is being very affectionate and cuddly....so I know he doesn't feel well.

:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

I love that you keep your sense of humor, even when you're feeling down about your sweetie!

sending vines for poor lil Chex, and Binks says the KTSS is on the way as well...

and a big ol' huggie from me to you!

americaschoice.jpg


(hoping that made you smile)
 
Re: 3/24 Checkers PMPS 471 dose advice needed please

Thanks Celi, I needed that, when I saw his preshot tonite.
I know we don't dose according to ps, but I'm asking anyway.....should I increase a little tonite? Sheesh, this is high.

eta: I added a drop to tonight's. Will consider what to do in the morning.
 
Re: 3/24 Checkers PMPS 471

Barb --

Could you ask your vet if there's a compounding pharmacy in your area. They may be able to compound the AB as a liquid without sugar syrup. Maybe they can use something else to cover the taste of the AB. It's worth a try. Was there any reason the vet just didn't give a shot? Gabby had 5 extractions last time and my vet only gave a shot of clindamycin.

I don't know what to tell you about the numbers and whether to raise Checkers' dose. You may need to if you're giving something with sugar in it but you'll need to be very careful once the AB is finished.
 
Re: 3/24 Checkers PMPS 471

Sienne, I planned on calling the clinic on Monday. I doubt there is a compounding pharm in this rural town. I've never heard, but i can ask anyway.
I can't seem to find out if there is sugar in the the AB, but I'm pretty sure that's the reason I asked Dr Dave if I could stop 2 days early in the treatment, last time.
I don't know why he would give Checkers something with sugar in it, he knows that Checks is diabetic.
I have to wait until Monday now.....and Dave may not even be working and I have to ask a different vet. :sad:

He never mentioned a shot for AB and i didn't know any better.
 
Re: 3/24 Checkers PMPS 471

Sorry I'm too late for tonight's shot, but I would go ahead and increase if things aren't better by tomorrow. Even if the AB does have sugar, he needs it and you can adjust the dose for it.
 
Re: 3/24 Checkers PMPS 471

Barb...

Are you chasing with human or kitty tuna liquid? If its human, please check the can and make sure on the Ingredients that it is just tuna and spring water. Most of the companies have been adding vegetable broth and soy....not good for cats. The front of the can says "in water" but if you read the ingredients, it may list the vegetable broth and soy. If that's what you have, I would switch chasers to cat tuna liquid or just water. But better yet are Sienne's suggestions.

Sorry I missed your condos that said he is hard to pill.
 
Re: 3/24 Checkers PMPS 471

Can this day get any worse?
Marje, I've been buying tuna with just water, for forever.
Just to put my mind at ease, I checked after reading your reply, and BOTH brands that I have,now have vegetable broth and soy. I always avoid soy in cat food, and have been giving it inadvertently in the tuna broth.

Plus, the clindamycin does indeed have sorbitol and sucrose, as well as alcohol.

I'll have to raise his dose until I get this straightened out with the vet.

Thank you and thank you Libby.

Oh, and Susan uses compounded med for her cat's thyroid med, and it has to be mail ordered. Don't know if she does it, or the vet . It takes a couple of days.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top