3/24 Bagheera AMPS 404, +7 378, PMPS 414

Status
Not open for further replies.

bagheerathediabeticcat

Member Since 2013
Le sigh. We're seeing no movement, and I'm eating mostly wet food now.

Suggestions? We've got the depot for three days at 5.5 units, and we are not seeing any movement at all. My human was excited, and ready to say you guys were right when he saw that green number on the evening of the 21st. But now, after building the depot up for three days, and seeing nothing but high readings no matter when we tested, it's frustrating.

Oh, and my human went and bought a different meter. He doesn't like Walmart so he went and ordered the Arkray GlucoCard Mini, which he read is the same thing as the Relion Mini. So he gets the cheaper strips and he doesn't have to go to Walmart.
 
Unfortunately, I don't have any advice for you, but if you put the little ? icon on your main post and add something like "dose advice?" on your title it will help catch the expert's eyes. I hope you can get some good answers soon!
 
Tell your human good job on the meter! It may seem simple and generic compared to the AlphaTrack. But reliable, affordable, and easy to use. :thumbup

The spreadsheet seems to be revealing more and more. @-)

Looking to me now like 5.5U may be too much. Causing untested lows, resulting bouncing to high numbers.

About how much dry food are you still eating?
 
Given that you didn't give Bagheera a shot on the evening of the 21st, your cycle count starts over. Any time a dose is reduced or a shot is skipped or delayed, the cycle count starts over since you need to look at consecutive doses. Please see this pose on counting cycles for more information.

Given the 86 on 3/21, it looks like Bagheera's numbers bounced back up. Coupled with the skipped shot, it can take roughly 72 hours for the bounce to clear.

It would be very helpful if you could do a curve in order to deterimin when Lantus onset and nadir fall as well as how much duration your getting. These data are important for your understanding your cat's response to Lantus.
 
In other words the 6th cycle of consecutive 5.5U is in progress.

Try to get some spot checks tonight to see if he clears the bounce.

And since Levemir may have a later nadir, perhaps get one after +6.
 
it was the 5 unit dose that brought him to the 86, so that might have turned out to be a good dose had you shot something at some point in that cycle rather than skipping (shoot low to stay low). Now you have to wait for the bounce to clear and wait for the depot to refill before making any more changes. Incidentally, while we tend to say it takes about 6 cycles to fill the depot, it can take longer on higher doses. The only way to know is to keep testing to see when Bagheera's numbers start to come back down.

What I'm saying is that I would not increase the dose yet. You're doing better at getting data and that's great! Now we just have to start putting the pieces together.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top