3/24 Alfred +3/73 +10/107 Dosing Help for Pet Sitter?

Status
Not open for further replies.

KJ & Alfred

Member Since 2013
Happy Sunday, all.
Yesterday

We had a fur shot (or partial fur shot) yesterday AM but despite it, Alfred's numbers thankfully stayed good. I'm a little confused by the PM+10 - 193, followed by the AMPS of 107. Maybe I botched that test? It was at 5am and I can't say I was 100% awake.

We're struggling to get used to the new syringes...the difference from the 5/16" needle to the 3/8" is the challenge and both of us have made Alfred jump at each injection. Maybe we need to be more conscious of the angle? With the old syringes, he wouldn't even notice the injection. We may swing into a pharmacy when we're back in town tomorrow and look for another kind with 5/16" needle and the half-unit markings.

Other than that, we're doing okay. We're still struggling with the antihistamine and plan to call the vet tomorrow. In addition to the sneezing and weepy eye, I noticed some moisture from his nose as well. I hope he just has a cold, but will follow up with the vet.

ETA: Would anyone like to look at his SS and help us come up with a protocol for dosing for our caregiver? She will be testing, but also working and gone for 9-10 hours during the day. Should we say something like don't shoot if his BG is <100? He's not great about eating his whole meal at one sitting, and our other cat takes advantage of that. I'm thinking of telling her to leave extra food out when she goes to work anyway. Thoughts????

Also, I'm taking the cats to her house (in another town) on Tuesday and will stay over Tuesday night so we can go through the dosing cycles Tues. night and Wednesday morning. I will be gone 2.5 weeks and will be able to be in touch if she has any questions. Also will get her dialed on how to log in here, just in case she can't reach me.
 
Re: 3/24 Alfred AMPS/107 +2/65

Honey would have a double-dip with lantus - Marje wrote that it does happen.
I could test Honey at ++7/8 and then at pre-shot it would be lower.

You're doing a great job managing his numbers - looking good :mrgreen:
 
Re: 3/24 Alfred AMPS/107 +2/65 Help with Caregiver Instructi

KJ&Alfred said:
...We had a fur shot (or partial fur shot) yesterday AM but despite it, Alfred's numbers thankfully stayed good. I'm a little confused by the PM+10 - 193, followed by the AMPS of 107. Maybe I botched that test? It was at 5am and I can't say I was 100% awake.

We're struggling to get used to the new syringes...the difference from the 5/16" needle to the 3/8" is the challenge and both of us have made Alfred jump at each injection. Maybe we need to be more conscious of the angle? With the old syringes, he wouldn't even notice the injection. We may swing into a pharmacy when we're back in town tomorrow and look for another kind with 5/16" needle and the half-unit markings.
I suspect I gave Chip a partial fur shot this morning, happens to everyone.

The Terumo syringes take some getting used to. But they can't be beat for the accuracy of the dose with Calipers. For just eyeballing you lose some of that advantage. If you can find some Relions (3/10cc 31 Gauge 5/16th") at Walmart, those have half units and might be easier to shoot and still good enough to eyeball doses for Alfred.

I'll have to let Marje or someone answer about the temporary petsitter dose.
 
Re: 3/24 Alfred AMPS/107 +2/65 Help with Caregiver Instructi

Thanks, Dale. I will be up in Anchorage tomorrow and have decided to break my multi-year ban on Wal-Mart to try out the ReliOn syringes. I might give the Terumos another try when I get home, but want to make everything as easy/simple as I can for my friend. She's already doing me such a huge favor by watching both cats and dealing with both of their medical issues.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top