3/23 Ming update

Crista & Ming

Member Since 2018
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/2-23-ming-pmps-167-2-254.226114/#post-2532697

Wowee! It's been a full month since I last updated. Ming's SS is NOT up to date. I'm too tired right now to update it, plus we've been using multiple readers of the same brand to take BGs so it's a pain for me right now to gather than all up and update the sheet. I'll get around to it this weekend probably.

But Ming's been okay. Clinically okay but his numbers have been in the yellows for the majority of a week and half with some dips to green after the reduction from 2 units.

My sister also got a dog :eek: which might be contributing to the high BGs. The decrease happened the same day the dog arrived home. Her name is Soda and she is a duck toller.

IMG_7420-1.jpg


Ming and I feel the same about her: apprehensive and prefer our distance from her LOL! (Of course, I'm warming up to her faster than Ming is). The first few days he hissed and swatted at her and would disappear into a room. Then he started standing his ground and even stalking her. These few days, he's been okay with walking past her and just keeping a safe distance. We joke Ming is practicing social distancing.

Update on the human:
I'm still working. The vet hospital I work at is client-free which means only employees in the building. And we pick up pets from the parking lot and we do all the talking over the phone.

Some of the staff is quarantined and those who have any sick symptoms are sent home to quarantine too. We're running on a skeleton staff and surprisingly, not as many pet owners are cancelling appointments as we thought they would.

It's been tough. I'm extremely stressed out and scared and I should probably stop working. But I don't know how to stop until somebody gets sick with covid 19, the country/city goes on lockdown, or I get sick myself. I've worked with a headache for 11 hours everyday this weekend.

But please don't feel bad for me. I understand the risk. Some days I think, this is important: pets need to be treated. And the emergency hospitals can't possibly take in EVERY case. So we're helping with the load. And other days, I think this is stupid that we're still open and trimming nails and doing annual health exams. The bosses are having a meeting tonight about scaling back on those types of non-essential appts.

Sorry for being a Debbie downer. I'm not sure how others are doing on the forum. I haven't read through any condos but I wish everyone safety, health, and any form of happiness during this trying time. The world is very different right now and everyone is feeling a bit off. So I hope we can be there for each other, even if it's through words on an internet forum. :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:

Here's Ming today, chillin in his box:
IMG_7481-1.jpg
 

Attachments

  • IMG_7420-1.jpg
    IMG_7420-1.jpg
    95.5 KB · Views: 168
  • IMG_7481-1.jpg
    IMG_7481-1.jpg
    41.2 KB · Views: 168
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/2-23-ming-pmps-167-2-254.226114/#post-2532697

Wowee! It's been a full month since I last updated. Ming's SS is NOT up to date. I'm too tired right now to update it, plus we've been using multiple readers of the same brand to take BGs so it's a pain for me right now to gather than all up and update the sheet. I'll get around to it this weekend probably.

But Ming's been okay. Clinically okay but his numbers have been in the yellows for the majority of a week and half with some dips to green after the reduction from 2 units.

My sister also got a dog :eek: which might be contributing to the high BGs. The decrease happened the same day the dog arrived home. Her name is Soda and she is a duck toller.

View attachment 52136

Ming and I feel the same about her: apprehensive and prefer our distance from her LOL! (Of course, I'm warming up to her faster than Ming is). The first few days he hissed and swatted at her and would disappear into a room. Then he started standing his ground and even stalking her. These few days, he's been okay with walking past her and just keeping a safe distance. We joke Ming is practicing social distancing.

Update on the human:
I'm still working. The vet hospital I work at is client-free which means only employees in the building. And we pick up pets from the parking lot and we do all the talking over the phone.

Some of the staff is quarantined and those who have any sick symptoms are sent home to quarantine too. We're running on a skeleton staff and surprisingly, not as many pet owners are cancelling appointments as we thought they would.

It's been tough. I'm extremely stressed out and scared and I should probably stop working. But I don't know how to stop until somebody gets sick with covid 19, the country/city goes on lockdown, or I get sick myself. I've worked with a headache for 11 hours everyday this weekend.

But please don't feel bad for me. I understand the risk. Some days I think, this is important: pets need to be treated. And the emergency hospitals can't possibly take in EVERY case. So we're helping with the load. And other days, I think this is stupid that we're still open and trimming nails and doing annual health exams. The bosses are having a meeting tonight about scaling back on those types of non-essential appts.

Sorry for being a Debbie downer. I'm not sure how others are doing on the forum. I haven't read through any condos but I wish everyone safety, health, and any form of happiness during this trying time. The world is very different right now and everyone is feeling a bit off. So I hope we can be there for each other, even if it's through words on an internet forum. :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:

Here's Ming today, chillin in his box:
View attachment 52137
You are a front liner for our critters. Nurses, doctors and other medical staff are getting recognition and the animal medical staff certainly deserve it too. On behalf of all of the critters you are helping, THANKS for going the extra mile... no make that a marathon! Remember to "put your own oxygen mask on first before you help others" though!

Take care and stay safe!! (and get some sleep!)
 
You are a front liner for our critters. Nurses, doctors and other medical staff are getting recognition and the animal medical staff certainly deserve it too. On behalf of all of the critters you are helping, THANKS for going the extra mile... no make that a marathon! Remember to "put your own oxygen mask on first before you help others" though!

Take care and stay safe!! (and get some sleep!)
Thank you!!!!! I very appreciate it!

I saw a hilarious post today and this reminded me of it:
FB6C7A75-CB35-4F33-8785-ACE6E2E50201.jpeg
 

Attachments

  • FB6C7A75-CB35-4F33-8785-ACE6E2E50201.jpeg
    FB6C7A75-CB35-4F33-8785-ACE6E2E50201.jpeg
    56.9 KB · Views: 110
2 units? compared to a year ago, that's amazing. Ming looks like he's on dog watch in that photo. He's got a lot of work ahead of him keeping a duck toller puppy in line. :p

Definitely take care of you Crista. :bighug: All of our health care workers need a way to relieve stress. You included. Humour is a good start.
 
Please take care of yourself...It sounds like you're overdoing it...try to get some balance Crista...

Ming is looking large and in charge! Cute puppy...but oh my...he's gonna be a big doggy...

Good to hear from you. Please be well...
 
So happy to have news from you !!:joyful: All our little furry ones are thanking you for being there.:cat: I hope your clinic will reduce the hours and maybe focus on urgent cases only like so many are doing now!

Very nice to see our always so gorgeous Ming with his new "futur" friend!! Try to take care of yourself, we don't want you to be sick!! :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:

OT: You asked a few times if I was gonna have Ti tested; it's done! IGF1= 114, IAA= normal!
 
Please take care of yourself...It sounds like you're overdoing it...try to get some balance Crista...
Will do! Today was one of the good days at work and I'm taking 5 days off next week, IN A ROW :O Haha! I'm really looking forward to that. Cancelled plans allowed for some paid days off :)
 
I hope your vets did what all the rest of them seem to be doing...closing to patients that are scheduled for "routine" stuff like spay/neuters, nails, etc.

Around here (and most other places I've heard about) are only seeing patients that are sick or injured.
 
Back
Top