3/23 Max AMPS 122~+~6 61~PMPS 106~+4 66

Status
Not open for further replies.

Randi & Max (GA)

Member Since 2009
Yesterday's Condo

I'd like to say good morning everyone but it is dark, nasty and freezing rain here.
The sound on the windows is unbearable.

Other then the gloom outside, Max is still hanging out in his comfortable numbers.
2 books ends of blue and nice green surfs in the middle.

This morning he was so cute waiting for his breakfast to be served on his throne.
Meowing at me to hurry up and puts his paws on the armrest to stand up and watch
till I get there. I could just eat that boy up but at 18.5 pounds, too many calories.

Of course after he was done his breffis, which he was not totally finished, he squeezed
into his tiny catbed to relax.
I really need to get this boy to be more active, We played with a toy for a few
minutes the other day, he lifted a paw to swat at it and then gave me a look, Ma, are we
done yet? It''s no wonder I can't get the weight off him.

I have to write this in my condo cuz I do not know where else to post this.
Kelly & Logan have not posted since last week. I know she must probably be busy but
I am worried for some news on Logan. If anyone knows anything...I pm'd her but no reply.
Thanks and have a great day.

ETA: Kelly & Logan are back!! Just saw their post after mine. :-D
 
Re: 3/23 Max AMPS 122

Hi Randi & Max. Stu says: "Max, you need to get your bean to buy you a "Big Bug" toy! You'll love playing with one of those and she'll be happy that you're getting exercise." I forget what the real name of this toy is, but I can describe it: It is 4 small rolls of cardboard, each one about an inch long, threaded horizontally on the end of a bent wire. You control the other end of the wire and make the cardboard rolls ("Big Bug") dance and leap, scuttle over the floor, etc. And Max is intrigued and chases, getting in lots of jumps and leaps. I'll do some research and see if I can find out the real name of this "exercise" toy.
Made my trip to Plattsburgh yesterday. Not too impressed with the Petsmart, but found another pet-food store about a mile further west on Rt. 3 in the Air Port Shopping Mall: "Tails of the Adirondacks." They carry all the EVO and Wellness foods. Thought you might be interested. I did get the freeze-dried chicken treats in Petsmart and Stu loves them!
Have a good day in this awful weather!!
Ella
P.S. The toy is called Cat Dancer complete exerciser. You can see it in PetFoodDirect.com
 
Re: 3/23 Max AMPS 122

Randi,

I haven't dropped in for a while but I am amazed at Max's progress :mrgreen: He suddenly got serious about this stuff. I suspect a little insulin resistance was happening and it finally broke. Regardless of what it was he's on his way to a very nice place...keep up the good work!

You playing CW too? ;-)
 
Re: 3/23 Max AMPS 122

Great WCR and wonderful number this am! We are having our own feeding issues here--We have access to all foods, but will Moonie eat them??
No-Just do the best you can with Max-OK? HUGS & have a nice day! :mrgreen:
 
Re: 3/23 Max AMPS 122

Two words:
Kitty Treadmill.

Put his food in a bowl at the end of it and set the speed really low haha_smiley
Put up sides so that he can't cheat by getting off and going around.
Or, you could start/stop the speed on him.
I don't know if such a thing exists, but it is a great idea.
 
Re: 3/23 Max AMPS 122

Gayle, DH keeps saying treadmill too and I think he is serious. lol.
That is my next project. We have such lousy pet stores here
so I try tinfoil balls, a wind up mouse which he looks at me like I'm nuts.
When I have some spare time I will think of something.
I found some spray catnip so maybe I will refresh some of his toys and get him excited.

Monique, yeah, kind of but not like others I know. lol!!!
 
Re: 3/23 Max AMPS 122~+4 68

OMG thanks D.
Those cats did better than I would do on a treadmill. :lol: :lol:
I wish I had one in the house, that would be hysterical.

I had my good laugh today, so needed that!!!
 
Re: 3/23 Max AMPS 122~+4 68

you could also get those steps for animals to get up onto high places.
Put the food at the top and make sure he has to climb up every time he wants some food.

\it's hard to exercise an indoor cat, and spending $100s on a treadmill for you cat is pricy.
Unless,of course, that you intend to share it with Max, or even better, you two can go for 'walks' together and he can be in a cat harness so he doesn't decide to cut your jaunt short!
 
Re: 3/23 Max AMPS 122~+~6 61~PMPS 106

I need a kitty treadmill too. I'm ashamed to admit it, but I have a 24 lb kitty. Ours range from 8 lb to 24 lb. If you find the trick, let me know! I thought going on LC would do the trick, but now the 24lb guy thinks leaving all this extra food around for Six is FAB-U-LOUS. Maybe I could send pictures of Hugo (24 lb...we call him HUGE-O sometimes and it hurts his feelings) to Max and try to scare him into losing weight...you know, sorta like hanging a picture of me in a bikini on my fridge would stop me from eating, well, maybe).

Max is doing so well on his seriously decreased dose. I tell ya', you need to write the Max Manual. Granted, no other kitty could follow that wild ride, but it would be fun to read about again! :lol:

You have got to get a picture of him in his tiny bed. I laugh just thinking about it, but would love to see a photo.
 
Re: 3/23 Max AMPS 122~+~6 61~PMPS 106

The Mad Max Manual of Insulin Dosing, now that is that could be interesting.
We could all collaborate with our crazy stories of this boy and then at the end,
throw it out cuz who could ever follow it.

Got such nice surprise when I came home today.
Rather than lying in his chair, snoozing, he was in the kitchen.
I was told he was hungry but no luck there.
Then he needed to inspect my big grocery bags (emptied of course)

When I saw at +9 he was only at 73 I was so excited that we might shoot green tonight.
Almost, almost.

K, so I'm going to go downoad some pics and posrt one of Max in his catbed, so everyone can smile tonight.
 
Re: 3/23 Max AMPS 122~+~6 61~PMPS 106

Max is continuing to amaze us! I love peeking at his SS.

And OMG, Diahann, I'm still laughing at the kitty treadmill video! Hahahaha!
 
Re: 3/23 Max AMPS 122~+~6 61~PMPS 106

Thanks CD, I love looking at it too.

Oh, I totally forgot to tell everyone that I called original vet #1 to tell her what
dose Max was on now. Figuring she would be so proud and impressed with me. Ya right.
What was I thinking. Guess I don't need the kudos from there.
She told me don;t be surprised if you get him off insulin, he might be back on it.
Oh well, her loss, my gain with my beautiful boy.

Here are some pics I had to share.
 

Attachments

  • IMG_0637.jpg
    IMG_0637.jpg
    43.8 KB · Views: 907
  • IMG_0631.jpg
    IMG_0631.jpg
    44.3 KB · Views: 903
Re: 3/23 Max AMPS 122~+~6 61~PMPS 106

Awww Max.. you are adorable!

Looks like he has it just as "rough" as my cats do.. does he tell all your family/friends how horrible his living conditions are too?

I think it should be a rule that every condo has a new cat picture!
 
Re: 3/23 Max AMPS 122~+~6 61~PMPS 106

I love the photos. I just finished feeding Bear his bedtime snack in bed. I see that Max has all the conveniences as well. Why should a kitty have to get out of bed to eat?
 
He is soooooo sweet!! My kinda cat!! Love the treadmill video Diahann!!
Maybe Moonie could strengthen her legs on that there thingy cat(2)_steam Oh she's like Max, she'd rather lay down!
Great numbers Randi tonite--Whoo Hoo!! :mrgreen:
 
Why that bed looks "just right" as Goldilocks would say! Husky boys like it a little snug! :lol: Thanks for posting the photos!!!!

I love the fact that it's his eating throne too! As Linda said, why should he have to get out of bed to eat.

I still love that treadmill clip from D.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top