3/23 Ivy Amps 256, +3.5 142, +6 243, +9 234, Pmps 219, +3 192 Libre

Staci & Ivy

Member Since 2022
3/22/25
Amps 256 Libre

Began today with a small increase up to 2.75 U Fat dose.
We need to shake out of the yellow range.

Eating and pooping well (whew).
Hope everyone has a calm day and safe surf :cat:
upload_2025-3-23_11-35-47.jpeg

Ivy looks annoyed that I’m bothering her again :smuggrin:
 

Attachments

  • upload_2025-3-23_11-35-47.jpeg
    upload_2025-3-23_11-35-47.jpeg
    152 KB · Views: 176
Hi Staci! She's lovely and looking like a decorative flourish against that beautiful fabric :cat:
I'm curious: what's the rationale behind the fat dose vs. a .25 dose increase. Is it to ease her into lower numbers--or to ease her up to a .25 dose increase?? What have you seen with the fat dosing effort in the long run--how long does it take before you go back down? And you're using calipers, right?

(Also, I know you're following custom dosing--so no one should copy your dosing method.)
 
Hi Staci, It looks like she's giving you the stink eye in that pic :p Sending positive vibes she will slide down to some low blues and safe greens .
I'm glad the poop report is still good and she's eating well :bighug::bighug::bighug::cat:
 
Hi Staci! She's lovely and looking like a decorative flourish against that beautiful fabric :cat:
I'm curious: what's the rationale behind the fat dose vs. a .25 dose increase. Is it to ease her into lower numbers--or to ease her up to a .25 dose increase?? What have you seen with the fat dosing effort in the long run--how long does it take before you go back down? And you're using calipers, right?

(Also, I know you're following custom dosing--so no one should copy your dosing method.)
Hi Mary, thanks so much. Ivy coordinates with all backgrounds :smuggrin:

I do find that sometimes when her system is a bit off kilter, that I try to be a little more conservative with increasing or decreasing doses.
She’s been known to react very strongly, so sometimes it seems to work out better to ease her into an increase.
Since she is still somewhat precarious after the pancreatitis and I had to reduce her dose, I feel like we’re still recovering from that and slowly going back up in dosing.

Yes, I do use calipers and I really like how precise the dose can be by using them.

And definitely don’t want to follow what I’m doing. It’s definitely custom.

Hope you and Jude are having a calm day :bighug:
 
Hi Staci, It looks like she's giving you the stink eye in that pic :p Sending positive vibes she will slide down to some low blues and safe greens .
I'm glad the poop report is still good and she's eating well :bighug::bighug::bighug::cat:
Hi Diane, I’m glad she’s doing well too. I hold my breath every time I go near the litter box with worry after what we went through a few weeks ago. I’m so stressed about her poops these days.
She probably was giving me the stink eye in that picture, cause I was bugging her for a change.
Hope you’re having a relaxing weekend:bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Hi Mary, thanks so much. Ivy coordinates with all backgrounds :smuggrin:

I do find that sometimes when her system is a bit off kilter, that I try to be a little more conservative with increasing or decreasing doses.
She’s been known to react very strongly, so sometimes it seems to work out better to ease her into an increase.
Since she is still somewhat precarious after the pancreatitis and I had to reduce her dose, I feel like we’re still recovering from that and slowly going back up in dosing.

Yes, I do use calipers and I really like how precise the dose can be by using them.

And definitely don’t want to follow what I’m doing. It’s definitely custom.

Hope you and Jude are having a calm day :bighug:

Thanks for explaining that, Staci. Makes perfect sense--you're being careful given what you know about how her body responds.

I'm thinking of getting calipers. I have a hard time seeing those .25 doses on the syringe, and I'd like something that is a bit more precise.
 
Hi Diane, I’m glad she’s doing well too. I hold my breath every time I go near the litter box with worry after what we went through a few weeks ago. I’m so stressed about her poops these days.
She probably was giving me the stink eye in that picture, cause I was bugging her for a change.
Hope you’re having a relaxing weekend:bighug::bighug::bighug:
I would feel the same way about checking the litter box. They make us worry so much don't they. Always wishing nice firm logs for Ivy :p
Have a nice day Staci , and you too Miss Ivy :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Thanks for explaining that, Staci. Makes perfect sense--you're being careful given what you know about how her body responds.

I'm thinking of getting calipers. I have a hard time seeing those .25 doses on the syringe, and I'd like something that is a bit more precise.
Get the calipers, Mary. You won’t be sorry.
It makes me feel much more secure that my dose is more accurate each time. Especially since she’s very sensitive to small changes.
:)
 
Hello Staci,
How dare you disturb queen Ivy while she's resting on her giant bed haha:p:cat::kiss:

She's adorable of course.
Good luck with the fat dose. Hopefully gets rid off those yellows for you.
Have a safe and calm and boring Sunday :cat::cat:
 
Hello Staci,
How dare you disturb queen Ivy while she's resting on her giant bed haha:p:cat::kiss:

She's adorable of course.
Good luck with the fat dose. Hopefully gets rid off those yellows for you.
Have a safe and calm and boring Sunday :cat::cat:
Thanks, Karolina, she is the queen, isn’t she?

Hoping we get rid of yellow already. Sick of it.
I’m so glad Nestle is doing sooo well! You’re dosing is just perfect for him.
Hope you are enjoying time with Nestle and Peanut. Smooches to your boys :bighug::kiss::bighug:
 
I love that all of her pictures are just your beautiful comfy queen across every luxurious surface in the house. :D She deserves it.

What constitutes a fat dose? Is it 0.125 rather than 0.25 or is it even less than that? I'm just curious and am also aware not to follow your dosing! :) I've also been considering getting some calipers because it seems like every syringe even within the same bag can be different and it's frustrating to try to accommodate for it.
 
I love that all of her pictures are just your beautiful comfy queen across every luxurious surface in the house. :D She deserves it.

What constitutes a fat dose? Is it 0.125 rather than 0.25 or is it even less than that? I'm just curious and am also aware not to follow your dosing! :) I've also been considering getting some calipers because it seems like every syringe even within the same bag can be different and it's frustrating to try to accommodate for it.
Hi Brianna, thank you, she is a comfy queen :p

I really recommend the calipers for that reason. They’re actually much easier to use than I initially thought. (I was very confused when I first read about them). I’ve been using them for about a year now and I really love using them. The learning curve is very fast, as long as you understand what to do and it’s just by multiplying the dose by the factor for your particular brand. Easy.

A fat dose using my particular brand of syringes (Relion) turns out to be .016 mm, Which is exactly half way between a .25 dose. (You use the multiplier based on the syringe in millimeters). But yes, conceptually it’s half of a .25 unit dose.
I hope this makes sense if it doesn’t feel free to ask for more clarification if I can do that. :bighug:
 
Hi Brianna, thank you, she is a comfy queen :p

I really recommend the calipers for that reason. They’re actually much easier to use than I initially thought. (I was very confused when I first read about them). I’ve been using them for about a year now and I really love using them. The learning curve is very fast, as long as you understand what to do and it’s just by multiplying the dose by the factor for your particular brand. Easy.

A fat dose using my particular brand of syringes (Relion) turns out to be .016 mm, Which is exactly half way between a .25 dose. (You use the multiplier based on the syringe in millimeters). But yes, conceptually it’s half of a .25 unit dose.
I hope this makes sense if it doesn’t feel free to ask for more clarification if I can do that. :bighug:
Staci, did you get your calipers from Harbor Freight? Does the brand matter? Would I be okay ordering from Amazon?
 
Hi Brianna, thank you, she is a comfy queen :p

I really recommend the calipers for that reason. They’re actually much easier to use than I initially thought. (I was very confused when I first read about them). I’ve been using them for about a year now and I really love using them. The learning curve is very fast, as long as you understand what to do and it’s just by multiplying the dose by the factor for your particular brand. Easy.

A fat dose using my particular brand of syringes (Relion) turns out to be .016 mm, Which is exactly half way between a .25 dose. (You use the multiplier based on the syringe in millimeters). But yes, conceptually it’s half of a .25 unit dose.
I hope this makes sense if it doesn’t feel free to ask for more clarification if I can do that. :bighug:

Incredibly helpful and interesting! Thanks, Staci! :bighug:
 
Back
Top