3/23 Hank- AMPS- 98 PMBG- 75, +12- 69 Advice

Status
Not open for further replies.

bettyandhank

Member Since 2010
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=9900 yesterday


amps- 98 (still using alternate meter- see yesterdays condo) same make/model- new (our other got eaten by the house yesterday- yet to re-appear)
YAY



moved up maybe 6-7 min. this AM.

Shot +/- .2. I am never sure on these microdoses.

trying new vet today. Wished I would have made appt. for later in the week but made it over a week ago and took the first we could get as he was homeless.
I have been gone mostly the last several days and am not organized for it yet.

I have the standard printed questions from the lists online from when we first were diagnosed. (the ones no one really answered)

But now a little ways in, it seems every day is different and my questions as well.

can someone give me the abbreviated must remember to ask questions?

hank is doing great right now. he is obviously really responding.

if we'd stuck w/ what the other vet said he would still be on 1U & i would have od' hime potentially.

I don't think any of them appreciate my making independent decisions about dosing or in collaboration w/ an internet community vs them.

I am short on time, have to jump in the shower. Will check back for any quick ideas of 'musts' to ask???????

i feel like we have punted and mostly done this on our own w/ help of all of you.

There is still MUCh I do not understand. (one of which is shooting low #'s as being a GOOD thing and somehow outweighing the risks)
I was told better to be too high than too low. i can't see them blessing shooting 'normal' numbers


anyway, will be short on time so may not be able to rpely til late today, but will check before we leave for ideas.

off to the shower now.


HAPPY TUESDAY!
 
Re: 3/23 Hank- AMPS- 98

Hi Betty
Do you remember what your questions were that you did not get answers for?
I am not sure what your reason is for going to the vet so I am not sure what information you need. I am assuming since you do not have a regular vet this is why you are going.
I have a vet that I use when Putty is sick or needs his annual check-up but as far as his diabetic needs.....they have been met right here on this board. My vet is wonderful but to her own admission I am more educated in Feline Diabetes than she is. She is always willing to learn and I bring her articles that I print out from the stickies at the top of the page.

As far as the vet not appreciating you making your own decisions well that happens with a lot of vets but in the end Hank is your cat and you need to do what is best. I am not saying you should not take the advice of your vet but I can say that the people on this board have a lot of knowledge with FD and dosing because they have been doing it for a very long time.
You may want to ask your vet how many diabetic cats he treats. Has he ever read anything from this board.
 
Re: 3/23 Hank- AMPS- 98 PMPS- 75- advice

Hank- PMBG 75

Again, lowest PS ever.

Shot token doses on 96 & 98 recently.


Saw a new vet today, who supposed that Hank may have had a transient type Diabetes... possibly caused by pancreatitis?
It was all supposed as she had not seen him before, lab now over a month old, etc..

She would have not had him on insulin at this point looking at his current numbers. I am not there yet, it was only just over a week ago he had a Pink & yellow. I planned to continue at low doses for the moment. I will ask ya'll more questions about that transition another time.
Anyway, more details on that tomorrow.
She sounded ok but somewhat skeptical about this protocol.


We are trying to catch back up form all our lateness and rolled back schduling. need to shoot in < 5 minutes if we are going to in order to get our 15 minutes incremental shift back tonight.

should i: a) give another token drop dose?

b) skip? I do not want to lose momentum or jinx our progress.

this is a very low number to shoot.

thanks
 
Re: 3/23 Hank- AMPS- 98 PMPS- 75- advice

PS: I am usin a backup/alternate meter today and last night.same make/model as the other


And just opened new vial of strips with this test.
 
Re: 3/23 Hank- AMPS- 98 PMPS- 75- advice

There were no replies & we needed to do something so I'd decided to do a drop...

By the time of my earlier posts and waiting for repsonse, 25 minutes had gone by, so decided to do a re-test first..

So glad I did. He was going down still. 69 it's roughly the same number, but heading down.

So I changed my mind and decided to skip tonight's dose.

I need to clarify the new rules for these numbers he is giving me. What had been said to me was i could shoot 120 or higher safely at our dose (.25)

This is way lower than that.

We will skip tonight. It is late, and we can then get back to our schedule tomorrow rather than in small increments which will take so much longer.

i hope I made the right decision. He has been doing so incredibly well.. I am not going to be ok if I do anything to mess that up.

I have got to figure out better how this all is supposed to work and not continue by the seat of our pants.



Would ya'll have shot the .75 going down number?

What are my rules for now?
When to shoot/ no lower than X?
We are on such a microdose as it is, and he is still coming up low.



Can you clarify also..is it 14 days of solid green before you consider OTJ?

This is what I've gathered, and tried to confirm via reading other's spreadsheets, but still not 100% sure.


Maybe the vet was right and it was transient??

Is Hankie ready to go OTJ? What do we need to do?


B & H
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top