3/23 Alfred AMPS 137 FurShot :( +4/112

Status
Not open for further replies.

KJ & Alfred

Member Since 2013
Happy Saturday, cat people. ;-)

We had our first confirmed fur shot this morning. He may have got some, but Dave saw a bead of insulin still on the skin. Hoping it doesn't mess with him too much. Wanna get back into those healthy greens!!

He is still sneezing and the eye is weepy and giving him the antihistamines was a TOTAL FAILURE. I think I managed to get 1/16th of the pill into him yesterday. We will try to find pill pockets in our town today. I'm also going to speak to the vet today since the weepy eye is new since I was there on Thursday. I was really hoping to feel more confident at this point about my upcoming 2.5 week trip. I have total confidence in my friend who will be watching the cats, but I hate to have potential other things coming up. With seizures, phenobarb, testing, injections...she's got enough on her hands.

But on the "up side" - Clyde had a seizure last night, so hopefully this means he's far less likely to have one while we're away.
 
Thanks for your reply, Dyana. I'll keep an eye on Alfred's numbers today...would I consider an increased dose tonight if they go high, or stick with the .5 and try to get back on track tomorrow?
 
If it's really a furshot, then I wouldn't increase the dose. A bead of insulin could be from a drop that was still on the syringe so it's important to see what happens with this cycle. So far, the cycle is looking pretty good. (Usually with a fur shot, your cycle count starts over.)
 
If that's all the worse he got today, that fur shot didn't slow him much.

Hope you had some luck with the antihistamine and pill pockets today.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top