3/22 Sabian (PZI 1u) AMPS-225 +2-129 +3-68

Status
Not open for further replies.

patrick_777

Member Since 2011
Wow, another hard dive into the 60s. Used the U100 syringe and measured a shy 1u.

I'm holding off intervening until another 30m to 1h test.
 
Just a thought so don't shoot the poster :roll: She wasn't doing that bad on .50 and then you went to .80 and skipped .60. She's dropping too hard and too fast and not getting the duration. Now, maybe .60 won't give any longer duration, who knows.... afterall she is a cat.....but you could try giving her .60 in the a.m. and see what she does and if needed, than you could end up giving her another .60 mid-cycle which may lead you into t.i.d. dosing. Not easy on the body to go down like that and shoot back up. When using the conversion chart and a U100 syringe it makes it very easy to do increases of just .20......sometimes, as little as it is, that is all that is needed.
 
The change from .5 to .8 was due to getting some U100 needles. I was eyeballing the .5 on the U40 needles, so the accuracy wasn't quite what it should have been.

With t.i.d. dosing, should we still be shooting for a >200 BG in the mid-cycle dose?
 
From the Tillydiabetes site that uses Lantus and what the ISG folks pattern their protocol upon:

"The longer a cat has had diabetes, the less likely it will go into remission. Many long-term diabetics get stuck in Phase 3 or 4. Yet there is a benefit of using this method for such a cat as well: keeping the cat's BG levels as normal as possible is much healthier for it long term. Insulin requirements will often decrease to very low levels too."

http://www.tillydiabetes.net/en_6_protocol2.htm

Sabian just isn't staying in the normal bg range long enough. You might as well be using N insulin with all the ups and downs she's doing. She's getting some good preshots, granted, but just not getting the duration she needs to get her to go into remission. IMHO you really need to change insulins. Just MHO.
 
PMPS is 276. I'm going to lower the dose to .8u and see what her curve looks like over the next day or so.

Dale, I'm probably going to make the switch to Lantus so I'll be getting with you soon if the offer is still available for some extra.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top