3/22 Munchie- Levemir started today! PMPS 174!

Status
Not open for further replies.

ewest

Member Since 2011
Hi All- We started Levemir this morning! I mixed things up and started at 1 unit this morning (my vet was recommending I do 1unit once a day) and I know it's recommended here to start with .5u BID. I guess my brain mixed the 2 up and got 1 unit this morning but .5 for tonight. The .5u BID is the dose I intend to hold for several days. I wasn't sure until last night that I'd be able to switch today so had started an increase on Lantus- poor sweetie having alot of dose changes over last fews days which I feel bad about. Was trying to see if I could make it smoother but anyway, hopefully it will smooth out now so her body can adjust.

Her first cycle on Levemir seems to be showing a late nadir (which seems like Lev can have later nadir than Lantus). I feel like I'm starting over because not sure how she will respond to it. But certainly 'tis good to see a blue...and as a pre-shot! I debated after seeing that if maybe the start at 1unit would be okay BID---but I really sensed from her that less was more so going back to the intent of .5u BID to start. The 1u I guess helped get her out of the 500's and now hopefully she can maybe surf a little. She did have a bile throw-up today but still ate okay for me.

Hope everyone's having great day! Sending pats and purrs to all the furry ones...
 
Oh, hooray! Welcome to lev, Munchie!

I think the .5u bid is a good plan. Let it settle, get a curve, then make small, slow increases. And it does seem to work better to start below the optimal dose. Nadir time will differ by cat/dose. We've seen it all here: early, middle late... and sometime next week :roll:

Paws crossed that she feels better and settles nicely on lev.
 
Sheila & Beau & Jeddie said:
Oh, hooray! Welcome to lev, Munchie!

I think the .5u bid is a good plan. Let it settle, get a curve, then make small, slow increases. And it does seem to work better to start below the optimal dose. Nadir time will differ by cat/dose. We've seen it all here: early, middle late... and sometime next week :roll:

Paws crossed that she feels better and settles nicely on lev.

:lol: :lol: :lol:

I second the welcome to levemir! Munchie is going to love it. That is so awesome that she had a 174 off 1U, but you are right to stay with .5U BID for a while to start. Good job!!!!
 
She did keep rising throughout the night- AMPS 467. Ideally, of course, I'd like to get her out of the higher numbers and fine tune from there. What I don't want is to keep her at .5u and have that mean that she's in the 400's and above the entire time. And if I do very small increases .6, .7, etc (not sure I can microdose that well) and it turns out 1u is her dose- it would take about 2 weeks to get there---not so great if she's sitting in higher numbers the whole time. In any case, I'll see what her numbers are tomorrow during the day. She just had another bile throw-up too so I think that may be throwing things off too. I did feel like she was telling me "less is more"...
 
I would let .5u settle for 3-5 days, do a curve, and then dose increases would be based on the numbers. To clarify what I meant yesterday (because it was a little vague): If she looks near the right number, then yes I would say .1u increases, but if she is in the 300s (without a low nadir) .25u would be ok.

Lev seems to work better with percentage increases. If you go from .5u to 1u that's a 100% increase.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top