3/22 Mike's Buddy PMPS#71 +1 72 +2 73 +4 94 +11 198

Status
Not open for further replies.

Mike&Buddy

Member Since 2011
What is this about? High numbers when home (I think its the food left out while at work), and then low in the mornings when I get up (about 12 noon), most of the food is gone by then.

Well no AMPS (noon for us) this time ether. I would shoot a little tiny fraction just to help the curve but I am not home during the weekdays, but this weekend I am working all the way threw so no checks till I get home for a long while.
 
Re: 3/19 Mike's Buddy AMBG#81 ~ no shoot again

Hey, Buddy...while the bean's away...the cats must play!!
full moon party tonight...we'll pick you up!
Binks
 
Re: 3/19 Mike's Buddy AMBG#81 +11 293

All I can figure out is that the lows are due to limited access to food by mid-morning till around shoot time. The highs are due to food being laid out for all of them till I get home. His liver stays calm most of the mid to late mornings till later into the evenings I guess. I would like to shoot him a little bit and see where it goes but I can't because of the long work period I am on right now and I would be gone during the time that little bit would be given, so its both a safety issue for him and not also being able to see the results to get data.
 
Re: 3/19 Mike's Buddy AMBG#81 +11 293

I know it is frustrating, Mike. I wonder if it would be better to drop Buddy to a lower dose so that you could shoot more consistently... maybe his lows wouldn't be as low, which would allow you to feel more confident about shooting more cycles? Hopefully others will weigh in with ideas.

I hope all is going well for you and this long work week doesn't have you too exhausted!
 
Re: 3/19 Mike's Buddy AMBG#81 +1.5 87 +11 293

Hi, I was thinking that but I am not sure what would be a good lower dose. That is, what is low enough that its not something that the liver is trying to do on its own to interfere. And its not to trigger his numbers to dive on me before leaving for work as well as not being to low to cause a curve imbalance. Did that make any sense!? :shock: @-)
 
Re: 3/20 Mike's Buddy PMPS#288

OK, its 288. Not much of a drop but then the rest of the night will tell come 5:30 am.

1.50u given, he is always so good about taking his shoots. And he hears the meter beep saying its ready and he then lays down sitting up a little as if to say "OK, lets do this!" I love this boy!
 
Re: 3/20 Mike's Buddy PMPS#288

awwwww....... Wish Willie was as cooperative! Though, he is getting to where if I've been gone for awhile, he'll yell at me that it is time to test him. I think that's just because he wants his purebites though....
 
Re: 3/20 Mike's Buddy PMPS#288

Hmmmm, yes sometimes treats are wroth the inconvenience of putting up with us humons. ;-)

OK off to bed. May all of you and your furkids be safe and well.

What, it's 5:30 already, lol! oh, not yet......... :lol:
 
Re: 3/20 Mike's Buddy AMGB#100

An even 100, yay Buddy! :mrgreen:

But, since I have yet been able to determine if a low or smidgen dose is in order we will go no shoot again today till later tonight.
 
Re: 3/19 Mike's Buddy AMBG#81 +11 293

"Mike&Buddy"All I can figure out is that the lows are due to limited access to food by mid-morning till around shoot time.
Hi, Mike.. I certainly can appreciate & understand not wanting to shoot a "low" # that you will not be around to monitor. Safety is always first to all of us.
With that being said, the #s are going to continue to be higher for PM cycle if you continue to skip shots. It will be (in my opinion) absolutely necessary to follow the 12/12 shooting protocol to successfully treat Buddy's diabetes. I hope you can find the right dose for your comfort level & Buddy's safety, have you seen these:

Dealing with Low Preshots

Don't Panic! or How to Handle Low Numbers
 
Re: 3/20 Mike's Buddy AMGB#100

I agree. But I am in hopes that the more experienced and wiser here can help give me some ideas on what to do.

I may have to work all the way threw next weekend. I am in serious need of the green stuff being on a fixed income so I am taking all the OT I can get away.

Being said if there is a magic number of a low dose that can be safe for him while I am away for about 9 hours I guess the no shoots will have to do till then.

Thanks!

Mike and the gang
 
Re: 3/20 Mike's Buddy AMGB#100

I will bump your condo, if you have that question - please put "question" in your subject line - it will draw eyes ;-)
With that being said, there no way to predict what Buddy will do on a given dose - data is an excellent indicator - but there are no guarantees in dealing with a live body @-) each cat is different & there are really only "predictable" patterns.. only best guesses.. then the kitties switch it up on us :lol:
Good Luck & happy to hear you have OT!

**ETA what is the duration of your scheduled shift? Can you get home & get a spot check?
 
Re: 3/20 Mike's Buddy AMGB#100

Mike&Buddy said:
I agree. But I am in hopes that the more experienced and wiser here can help give me some ideas on what to do.

I may have to work all the way threw next weekend. I am in serious need of the green stuff being on a fixed income so I am taking all the OT I can get away.

Being said if there is a magic number of a low dose that can be safe for him while I am away for about 9 hours I guess the no shoots will have to do till then.

Thanks!

Mike and the gang

hey hi

well, my thinking is, not really, cuz each dose will need time to settle in, build and rebuild the shed, data will tell you over time what each dose does.
unfortunately, skipping shots is going to set him back. If you can't bear to shoot, then go with a BCS(reduced dose) leave plenty of foods out, ...at least something going in, so he gets some insulin.
we leave our kitty for the weekday to work, and finally got ourselves a timed feeder which works ok, and I dont worry so much about leaving him, then again, know thy cat, right?
I hope you can work out a solution for both you and Buddy, gonna give you a bump for others to weigh in too, if they can.
 
Re: 3/20 Mike's Buddy AMGB#100 ~question, high PMs

mike, if you think it's food related, what about the timed feeders I've seen people on here mention? would that help you?

Also, one of the posts this morning (sorry, i don't know which one) mentioned mixing canned food with water, freezing it into cubes, and setting the cubes out so they would melt and be ready to eat later.

ah, here it is - take a look at Sienne's post:
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=39413
 
Re: 3/20 Mike's Buddy AMGB#100 ~question, high PMs

I could of sworn I read once in your condo that there was a GF, wife? sorry to be so personal, lol, is there anyone else at home that can help out with testing?
 
Re: 3/20 Mike's Buddy AMGB#100 ~question, high PMs

I've been giving Danny BCS doses and giving him extra wet foods to graze on if he's low when I leave and he's been doing fine with that. Though he's a bit too high the next day. He never goes so low when I'm actually there to watch him *rolls eyes* But you do what you feel is best for Buddy, to keep him safe.

I just half the regular dose for my BCS's. But you could go lower if it makes you comfortable. I'm no dosing expert though. I wonder if Sienne is around?
 
Re: 3/20 Mike's Buddy AMGB#100 ~question, high PMs

julie1220 said:
mike, if you think it's food related, what about the timed feeders I've seen people on here mention? would that help you?

Also, one of the posts this morning (sorry, i don't know which one) mentioned mixing canned food with water, freezing it into cubes, and setting the cubes out so they would melt and be ready to eat later.

ah, here it is - take a look at Sienne's post:
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=39413

Timed feeders, its possible if the budget can swing it and of course the gang will cooperate.

As for frozen ice cubed food, they hate soggy food but it was a good idea. Now if I just froze them as is maybe it will work. Maybe.
 
Re: 3/20 Mike's Buddy AMGB#100 ~question, high PMs

Ronnie & Luna said:
I could of sworn I read once in your condo that there was a GF, wife? sorry to be so personal, lol, is there anyone else at home that can help out with testing?

Nope, not even a neighbor around (that we can trust). We are pretty much it. :razz:
 
Re: 3/21 Mike's Buddy PMPS#327

OK, yep I see a pattern of increase here I think. :?

I may have to trust in a reduced CS shot come AMPS, but I still can't help being a worry furdad. nailbite_smile
 
Re: 3/21 Mike's Buddy PMPS#327 +4 238 +11 305

I have spoken to the VHC place, I hope..hope to have Buddy in this week to have these sores investigated but work is not cooperating. :-|

I see the BG is now climbing at all areas, guess we have to start this all over again. Darn. :sad:

280, 1.50u shot. Umm, under those 300's.
 
Re: 3/21 Mike's Buddy AMPS#280

I hope you can get him in, too, Mike. Sorry that the situation is so difficult with needing the OT but needing to shoot him consistently, too. Extra prayers coming your way.
 
Re: 3/21 Mike's Buddy AMPS#280 +11.5 58

Holly cat cat man, it's 58! :shock:

He seems OK, wants attention and yeah, food! But, maybe we should wait till zero hour for PSPS before any din-din? It's just below 60, no to low I think.
 
Re: 3/21 Mike's Buddy AMPS#280 +11 58 ~go with CS dose?

If it is still in the this range I may give him a smidgen and that is all. >insert sleepy face here<

I will be home (sleeping I hope) but will check him every few hours. @-)
 
Re: 3/21 Mike's Buddy AMPS#280 +11 58 ~go with CS dose?

If he's that low at PMPS and you give him a smidgen, you may have to test a little more often, at least in the beginning.
I'm sorry about your sleepiness, but if he's in the 50s, I think you should test every half hour. Hopefully, more beans will come along to help you, soon.
 
Re: 3/21 Mike's Buddy AMPS#280 +11 58 +.30 78 ~go with CS do

Its to 78 now, but then he is moving about and being feisty. ;-)

Wait, how do you do a smidge whats in the needle? :smile:
 
Re: 3/21 Mike's Buddy AMPS#280 +11 58 +.30 78 ~go with CS do

He is rising. That's good. Can you stall for 15 mnutes, just to make sure? Maybe, get one more rising number?
 
Re: 3/21 Mike's Buddy AMPS#280 +11 58 +.30 78 ~go with CS do

Sure, we have 10 minute till shoot time; I think it should be OK to go for 15.
 
Re: 3/21 Mike's Buddy AMPS#280 +11 58 +.30 78 +12 71 ~CS sho

It went down to 71, I think we may go with a little tiny smidgen.
 
Re: 3/22 Mike's Buddy PMPS#71 ~going with a CS shot

Are you going to be able to test for awhile?
 
Re: 3/22 Mike's Buddy PMPS#71 ~going with a CS shot

Yes, we will go shower then test. Sit and relax before bed then test, then just before bed test. Argg!!! :lol:
 
Re: 3/22 Mike's Buddy PMPS#71 ~going with a CS shot

His dinner should bring up his numbers. But, if you're going to shoot, I would feel better, if you can get a test at +1, and then again at +2, and see how it goes from there.

I need to go to sleep soon, and will be setting my alarm to wake up and test probably every hour for the 3 more hours I get to sleep tonight.

It is just my opinion, that maybe Buddy should be getting a little less insulin, so that you can shoot a consistant dose every 12 hours. Like maybe try 1.25? Your currently on 1.5, if my short term memory works :roll:

For tonight, what are you thinking of shooting 0.5? or 0.75?
 
Re: 3/22 Mike's Buddy PMPS#71 ~CS shoot

I see you shot .10. That's right up next to the zero line.
I'm glad you shot something. Good job.

Have a good night.
 
Re: 3/22 Mike's Buddy PMPS#71 ~CS shoot

It was about .05 or It was just about on the zero line when I shot.

Not quite a .05 but definably a 0.10.

I am new to this CS shot so I may even have given even less.

I may drop to 1.25 this next curve.

Thanks, we will check till bed time but yes will check as much as we can possibly do by alarm....
 
Re: 3/22 Mike's Buddy PMPS#71 ~CS shoot

36_2_25.gif

Good Job. You'll get the hang of it.
 
Re: 3/22 Mike's Buddy PMPS#71 ~CS shoot

Thanks, I hope you and your furkid(s) do well and have a great night. Buddy says thank you!
 
I guess a little dab will do it! ;-)

Just wished the 198 stay away! :smile:

Yea, yea I'm happy with this too! And I bet Buddy is as well!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top