3/22 Jupiter PMPS 354

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jamie & Jupiter

Member Since 2013
here is the link to yesterdays post: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=91477

Thank you to all who replied and are helping me thru this - you guys are great! Thanks Dian - I feel so lucky to have YOU watching out for me and Jupiter - I feel like I have come so far in the past week - thanks to your help. I have learned so much from you and still keep learning.


I am still trying to get Jupiter switched over to the Pate. A few days ago I was doing a mixture of 25% pate and 75% shreds. I just keep adding a dab more of the pate every time I feed the cats. Today I did a 50/50 mixture - Jupiter wouldnt even lick it (even though he ate some of the 50/50 mixture last night). Not a good start to the day. I know I am trying to transition him from the shreds to the pate quickly - I am worried about his numbers and want to get them down ASAP. Ended up giving Jupiter a FF appetizer w/ chicken so he would eat something - he did eat a little bit of that. Going to stay positive and try not to get discouraged - I will try again with the pate later.
 
Re: 3/22 Jupiter AMPS 314

Hi guys .. not too bad of a start, it's a low pink! Good luck with the food transition .. it can be very hard for some kitties to make the change .. try not to get discouraged, he IS eating some of it, right? have a great weekend guys!
 
Re: 3/22 Jupiter AMPS 314

slow and steady wins the race. this is not a marathon... is that what they say?...
anywhoooooo... glad I can be of some help.

the guys on this forum know a hell of a lot more than I do.. that is why I asked them to take you under their wings and help keep an eye on you.

we are ALL learning something everyday.
maybe cut back on the mixture and hold it there for a few days then add even less back. even maybe a1/4 tsp. at a time. gotta sneak this in on him :shock:
 
Re: 3/22 Jupiter AMPS 314

Hi Jamie,
I did call Nutro this morning... so I tho't I'd come tell it here since we were discussing it yesterday.

Nutro has changed their formula's.....

they are going to grain free...
I explained to the representative that grain free didn't necessarily mean low carb.

She wouldn't give me the specific as fed % numbers but was doing the calculations for me...

they claim:

that the new formula's Minced chicken and salmon is 1% carb
The Minced cod and tuna is 1.5% carb
and the soft loaf chicken is 0.5% carb
and the soft loaf cod... I didn't get... my phone died.
And I didn't call back...


I am headed to the post office...
so you can determine quickly whether or not to grab a case or two before the one we talked about is gone forever.
It would probably be a good transition blender for you as you work on getting Jupiter to more pate's.
 
Thank you for letting me know about the nutro. I will have to check that all out. The kind that you said about getting is 6% carbs. They had other kinds at petco today but they were 9% & 10%. I will have to look into the ones that they told you about on the phone. Im just worried about them giving the wrong numbers for the carbs.

Thank you so much though for letting me know about this food - I really hope Jupiter will like it!
 
Hey katie, Just cant seem to get Jupiters numbers down. I wanna get them down so bad so I am really trying to transition him to the pate quickly - probably too quickly - because he didnt seem to want to eat the 50/50 mixture of pate and shreds today. Ended up having to add a little more shreds to the mixture to get him to eat it.

Really hoping he will like this other food that Rhiannon suggested. I wasnt able to get the exact stuff - but a different flavor that is 10% carbs. Still better for him then the Friskies shredded kind though.
 
There is one other chunk, almost the same texture that you might give a try to see if Jupiter likes it....

8% Avoderm Chicken Chunks/gravy (??) 234

It isn't a real gravy either.... i guess the food companies like that word.

Shadow turns her nose up at Avoderm now.... but when she first tried it... she loved it... I may have over used it...
I should have sent you a can of that too... since I have it in my cabinet and shadow says no thanks....

shadow also prefers turkey ... hands down.... she won't eat freeze dried chicken but loves turkey. My DH says it's probably the higher fat content in turkey
that gets her attention....
 
Hi Jamie, welcome to LantusLand! Are you following the Tight Regulation protocol (not the Start Low Go Slow)? The good thing is Jupiter is pretty flat. You could probably increase his dose to 1.25u but should check with a dosing expert to be sure.
Liz
ETA: When you get a chance, could you create a profile?
 
I think I would increase also to 1.25. should take a few days to see what this does. post in tomorrows condo if it would be ok to increase now. personally, I would
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top