3/22 Billy +6 355 +8 342 +10 344 PMPS 355 +3 347

Status
Not open for further replies.

Manouk & Billy

Member Since 2011
Good morning, everyone!
Yesterday's condo

AMPS 391
+2 405
+4 356
+6 355
+8 342
+10 344
PMPS 355
+3 347

I'll be around the apartment today, working. I'll be able to test more than yesterday, which is good. I'm eager to start to understand Billy's numbers. :)

I also have a question about water. I recently purchased one of the little fountains that keeps the water clean and flowing for cats to drink. Billy really liked it when he was on dry food, but now I never see him drink anymore. I know cats don't have that much of a thirst drive and that he's probably getting the water he was drinking through his wet food now, but I'm wondering -- is that enough? Should I encourage him to drink more, should I mix his meals with a little water?

A nice day to all sugar kitties and to their parents!
 
Re: 3/22 Billy AMPS 391

How much wet food does Billy eat in a day? I think its mostly water. Did Billy's blood work have any flags with his kidneys?

Glad you are home today and can do a curve - every two hours. Have you seen this before? Write down when you feed and how much.

Example of a typical curve:
+0 - PreShot number.
+1 - Usually higher than PreShot number because of the last shot wearing off. May see a food spike in this number.
+2 - Often similar to the PreShot number.
+3 - Lower than the PreShot number, onset has started.
+4 - Lower.
+5 - Lower.
+6 - Nadir/Peak (the lowest number of cycle).
+7 - Surf (hang around the nadir number).
+8 - Slight rise.
+9 - Slight rise.
+10 - Rising.
+11 - Rising (may dip around +10 or +11).
+12 - PreShot number.
 
Re: 3/22 Billy AMPS 391

I've looked at it before. The last curves I did I just wrote down the information on his SS as usual, nothing special.

As for food, he's eating 3/4 of a Friskies can twice a day, at 8 in the morning and 8 in the evening. I see we're in the same time zone. :-D
 
Re: 3/22 Billy AMPS 391

Switching to a canned food diet will reduce a cat's need for water since there is a good quantity of moisture in the canned food, especially compared to dry. It will not hurt and, in fact, it's good for Billy's kidneys, if you add extra water to his food. Gabby doesn't drink much from my fountain and I add a fair quantity of water to both cats' food. Gizmo likes the fountain. Both cats will drink from there occasionally.

If you're doing a curve, you can test every 2 or 3 hours.

And thanks for your note about Gabby. I was worried, too!
 
Re: 3/22 Billy AMPS 391

Good morning guys .. Billy, I hope you come down from that pink floor today .. I think all the kitties are hanging out on the lower levels .. they hope to see you there! I also add in water to mochas food .. she likes it sloppy .. :-D Have a great day guys!
 
Re: 3/22 Billy AMPS 391

He's in the reds now, silly Billy. I guess I'll blame the food spike.

As always, thanks for the input, guys. From now on, I'll add water to his food. I see it doesn't hurt.

I'll be testing every two hours. I really enjoy the sight of my supplies of test strips going down, you see. Or do I? :lol: Nah, seriously, I think it'll help me understand him more. It has been a while sine I last tested him every two hours. At least my pricking skills are improving! I used to be so afraid of needles, now I catch myself asking him to bleed more... ohmygod_smile
 
Re: 3/22 Billy AMPS 391 +2 405

Don't forget to look on ebay for strips. I just drive over the border to walmart and get 100 strips for $38 for the relion confirm. I love it.

Ahhh for some reason I thought you were doing your first curve ohmygod_smile My bad.
 
Re: 3/22 Billy AMPS 391 +2 405 +4 356

Maybe I really should change my glucometer. I love mine, but strips are pricey.
My girlfriend's aunt has access to a warehouse in the U.S. for work, so I was able to order boxes of 50 strips for 25$ at amazon.com. The package then travels from there to Montreal, and then I get it from her. A bit of a hassle, but I am so grateful of her doing that for me. That's half price of what I usually pay here.
 
Re: 3/22 Billy AMPS 391 +2 405 +4 356

Very cool!!!! I wonder why our prices are so high compared to the US. Shipping in from the US is such a pain.
 
Re: 3/22 Billy AMPS 391 +2 405 +4 356

:lol: Silly Billy...

Binks has 3 fountains, but he mainly just lets the water run over his face...not so much drinking...
he's a water baby...
 
Re: 3/22 Billy +2 405 +4 356 +6 355 +8 342 +10 344 PMPS 355

Billy is so stable today I'm starting to wonder if I shot him correctly this morning... Well, dinner is ready! I put so much water in it by accident, the poor little guy looked at his plate and looked at me. Am I really supposed to it that? But then he tried it and realized it was food nonetheless, so he's happy.

Note to future self : be careful with my faucet's flow.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top