3/22/12 Racci-AMPS-232,+3-328,+6-291,+10.5-244,PMPS-276

Status
Not open for further replies.

MelanieAndRacci

Member Since 2010
Yesterday:
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=66838 3/21/12 Amps-311,+6-69,PMPS-187FurShot,+4-274,1U

Racci had a fur shot at her pmps last night. I smelled it and was left with just long fur in my hand after she moved unexpectedly with the dose gone. I had no way to know if any had got in though. I waited up till +4 to see if she had any reaction and when she didn't I gave 1U. So far that seems to have been the right thing because at her amps and +7 from the 1U she is 232 this morning. No ketones and eating. Will have to watch very carefully and have company tomorrow so lots to do but no choice. So that was my excitement for the night and today. :lol:

Melanie & Racci
 
Re: 3/22/12 Racci-AMPS-232

the difficulty isn't with the extra shot, although we generally say if you think you gave a fur shot just to skip it, but what you will need to watch for is the convergence of nadirs. if 2 shots are given and the first one's nadir is already going on by the time the next one is onsetting, you could be looking at a problem.

do you know about when racci's nadir is?

just file away the info for future consideration.

re the arthritis that you mentioned yesterday. i saw something that said a high percentage of cats over the age of 7 have arthritis. a lot of people give cosequin to their cats and it can really help. it's the cat equivalent of glucosamine chondritin that people take. if a month on it doesn't help with the arthritis, there are 2 steps up - dausequin and adequan. i don't have experience with those, but i do think the cosequin helps punkin. you can buy it at petco and also order it online.
 
Re: 3/22/12 Racci-AMPS-232

Thanks Randa! That's sweet of you to say. I enjoy yours too. Would you believe I'm taking down a xmas tree at the end of March? :lol: We had 3. I outside, 1 upstairs & 1 downstairs. So this one upstairs was too pretty and saved for last. I know, I'm nuts1 :mrgreen:

Melanie & Racci
 
Re: 3/22/12 Racci-AMPS-232

hi melanie - i was editing while you were posting. if you were going to have had a problem with the extra shot, it would've shown up by now.

hope you have a great day!!
 
Re: 3/22/12 Racci-AMPS-232

Hi Julie,

Racci's +6 is always her nadir and she gradually starts going up at+3. +4,5, I see action, +6 is nadir, +7 is usually the same as 6 or close, 8&9 are like 4&5 only opposite & 1& 2 &9,10 are going up or down like the shot never happened. If I give that shot at +4 it would really screw my schedule so I have to get her back on the normal schedule. That would have me giving all her meds at 4am and it takes a good hour to do it all with food and such. She gets 4 meds & needs to be coaxed to eat, so if I make that a regular, I'd have to kiss sleep goodbye. :lol:

I think she'll be ok but I'll just stay up again tonight to double check on her. It was only 1u which is a drop in the bucket to her. Don't forget she's used to a 3.75u dose.
 
Re: 3/22/12 Racci-AMPS-232

yes, i saw that. i think if you shot on time this morning, you're back good to go. i was only mentioning it for future reference.

yay that you know her cycle! a lot of people don't! :-D
 
Re: 3/22/12 Racci-AMPS-232

I can usually set my clock by her. That's why I was so sure something was wrong the other day. :smile: Racci does everything like that, a total creature of habit. God forbid I try to change anythng in her routine of which med comes first or when she eats or any thing else. :lol: When she was first dx'd I tested constantly until I learned her routine & have done spot checks throughout and it rarely changes. I think she will be ok also. She's acting just fine. I'm going to take a +3 soon since I gave it to her at +4 and see how she's doing and give her some lunch if she'll eat. It was her + 5 for the AMPS so pretty close to nadir for the 1u and she was eating at the +6.

I tried condroitin before and saw no improvement from it. I'm going to speak to my vet about giviing the Adequan injections myself. I never gave a muscle injection. Have you?

Melanie & Racci
 
Re: 3/22/12 Racci-AMPS-232

no, but there are people here who do and could help you with that. i'm not sure if dausequin is an injection or pill. it's the other option of the 3.

i also get punkin acupuncture for pain - we started the cosequin and the acupuncture about the same time, so unfortunately i'm not sure which one helps the most. i did see a return to jumping up on tables after he started, which i had not seen in years.
 
Re: 3/22/12 Racci-AMPS-232

I thought about acupuncture and dausequin also. I think the acupuncture would be too stressful for her. She really hates car rides and cries the entire time. If she has to have regular treatments I'd really like them to be something I can do for her.
She's a horrible pill taker so anything I give her has to be liquid. I didn't look up the Dausequin yet but the Adequan seems to have very few side effects, which is my concern. I'm scared of nsaids for her. I know the last time I spoke with my vet she had said other than the injectables and opiates, there are really no options that don't have side effects for a cat her age.

Melanie
 
Re: 3/22/12 Racci-AMPS-232,+3-328,+6-291

Racci is certainly feeling the effects of that missing insulin. She's high today and jumped off the ottoman and now she's limping again! I'm kind of sorry I didn't just shoot again at her regular time. I probably should have. Her +6 is so high again -291, of course this is the Relion Ultima and not the Bayer so I sould keep that in mind. It might read lower on that one. I just hate to see her hurting. I'm going to call her vet about the adequan

Melanie & Racci
 
Racci hasn't been eating well today and her numbers are all thrown off because of her food. She's higher when she should be lower & lower when she should be higher but it's because she's being so picky about eating and going low because she's not eating at those times she usually does. I have to go try to feed her again now since she ate a little at 10:30 but not enough to hold her for her shot. I'm going to try to feed again in a few minutes.

Julie, I looked up Dasuquin and it looks good. I know that medication, it's msm and has a great reputation. I'm going to order some and give it a try. They make a capsule that's fish & chicken flavored that you sprinkle on their food. Thanks!

Melanie & Racci
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top