3/21 SCRABBLE PMPS 116 +11 109

Status
Not open for further replies.

Michelle & Scrabble (GA)

Very Active Member
YESTERDAY'S CONDO
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=9689
Well what an interesting night! I had a feeling Scrabble was going to go low tonight just by his pmps. So of course I had to be in work early tonight and was only able to get a +1 so I begged my DH to get a test at +5 or so. So he called me at work @ +5 and said he was 56. I though oh God since he hadn't reached his nadir yet. I told him to get the hc food out and feed him a little which he did and then told him to feed him again in an hour and leave the food out. There was still food out when I got home so they did not eat all of it. Not sure when he last ate so I don't know if the current # is a food spike. We will see what his amps is. I just don't know how low Scrabble has gotten tonight. Boy is this cat throwing me for a loop. Wonder if we will be dosecreasing again soon? Let me know your thoughts for tonights shot???
 
Re: 3/21 SCRABBLE AMPS 132 fur shot?

I may have given Scrabble a fur shot(a first!), I am trying to shoot his shoulder now and I did smell some lantus on his fur after so not sure if it was a fur shot or not? Will I know right away if it is or not? Will this mess up his great progress????
 
Re: 3/21 SCRABBLE AMPS 132

Hi Michelle,
I guess everyone is still sleeping. I hope Scrabble will be okay today and allow you some sleep. I'm just now getting up and having some coffee. See you a bit later. How's your weather up north? It was beautiful yesterday.
 
Re: 3/21 SCRABBLE AMPS 132 fur shot?

Hi Michelle,
I've done that same thing before with thinking I gave a fur shot. The advice I got was not to give another shot, which you already know. You may have gotten some Lantus in Scrabble. The last time I thought I gave Maggie a fur shot, some actually went in, so don't be surprised. Did Scrabble move when you injected? Maggie is doing good. I'm just about to post her AMPS of 147!
 
Re: 3/21 SCRABBLE AMPS 132 fur shot?

fur shots happen, michelle. don't worry about it. scrabble is doing great and will be fine.
i wouldn't do a decrease off a 56 at +5. don't see a bounce here so i wouldn't feel i had enuf evidence he went too low. if he did get a partial fur shot, it's a way of emptying the shed a tiny bit so it would be as if he had a decrease anyway, at least for a few shots til the shed filled back up.
 
Re: 3/21 SCRABBLE AMPS 132 fur shot?

No Scrabble didn't move at all but I am trying new spots on him around his shoulder and I don't think I got enough skin and I could smell lantus on his fur. I thought the needle went in but I am not sure, hope some got in!!!! Will I be able to tell right away if he didn't get any insulin and am I going to ruin his progress?
 
Re: 3/21 SCRABBLE AMPS 132 fur shot?

you won't ruin his progress. it's just one shot, michelle.
do some spot checks this cycle if you want to see how he's doing on this shot. you may discover he got the full dose anyway
 
Re: 3/21 SCRABBLE AMPS 132 fur shot?

I'll catch up with you later, Michelle. Going to hop in the shower. Scrabble's doing good. He is a beautiful kitty. Is he Siamese?
 
Re: 3/21 SCRABBLE AMPS 132 fur shot?

Thanks Chris, will I be able to tell right away that he didn't get his shot? He has so much fur so since I am trying a new spot where he is not shaved I am not sure. My clue was the smell of lantus on his fur, that usually is an indication of a fur shot right? Sorry you probably think I am being crazy just want this great progress to continue!!! No Ann he is Maine Coone!
 
Re: 3/21 SCRABBLE AMPS 132 fur shot?

Oh it's a beautiful Main Coone boy! They are so smart! I had a boy Siamese that crossed the Rainbow Bridge, and he was such a talker. I still miss him so much.

That's good advice from Chriscleo, and the same advice I had when I thought I did a fur shot, so don't worry! I know, easier said than done! Scrabble is doing so well. Here's a hug from Maggie to Scrabble :YMHUG:
 
Re: 3/21 SCRABBLE AMPS 132 fur shot?

Good morning Michelle

u pretty much will have to wait and see how the numbers go thru this morning. I do know sometimes, as I pulled the syringe out I smelles it, possibly a little wee drop left at the tip dropping on the fur, you know what I mean?

The first couple of hours you may not see it in the numbers, cuz of food being in there, just see how the test go, don't work yourself up over it.
Like others said, it happens, and you move on, so take it easy ok?
chill - it's sunday! :lol:
 
Re: 3/21 SCRABBLE AMPS 132 fur shot?

Tess is saying Hi to Scrabble right now. If it was a furshot you won't see any immediate signs. Nice thing about Lantus is that with the shed built up it will carry them over without too much of a jump in BG. Nothing you can do anyway, so relax, get a little sleep and see what happens.((((Michelle))))
 
Re: 3/21 SCRABBLE AMPS 132 fur shot?

Just another voice in the chorus: Don't worry about a possible fur shot, Michelle. There's nothing you can do about it anyway. Scrabble will be fine and a fur shot won't impede his progress. Carry on as usual.

Ella & Stu
 
Re: 3/21 SCRABBLE AMPS 132 fur shot?

I just knew while reading this that Scrabble's shot went in--Sometimes when we shoot out the bubbles in the syringe, residue of the lantus remains on the needle, so when you shoot, you smell that residue on the fur...You would know if you missed the whole shot, as fur would be wet & stink, as only lantus does--So Michelle, you are still doing a great job!!! and great numbers for Scrabble--Besides he would still have enough in the shed to get through to the next shot, without a big deal..
Oh I always worry about Moonie, most days, all days when I go out & she's low...Just an FDMB momma bean I guess ohmygod_smile ohmygod_smile :lol: :lol: --Have a great Sunday!!
 
Re: 3/21 SCRABBLE AMPS 132 fur shot?

+ 5 90 :mrgreen: , thanks Roni, his fur did stink of lantus this morning, I don't know, hope he got the shot??? Quite possible it was what you said, who knows, guess I need to just relax!!! Have a good Sunday, off to Walmart later today to get supplies, been going through them fast with all the action this week!!
 
Re: 3/21 SCRABBLE AMPS 132 +6 97

+6 97, good day for Scrabble, don't know if he didn't vary too much today because of a fur shot or because of low numbers last night but otherwise we'll take it, pretty day for Scrabble!
 
Re: 3/21 SCRABBLE AMPS 132 +11 129

+11 129, maybe I didn't give a fur shot this morning? oh well can't worry about it, wonder what Mr Scrabble has in store for tonight? I am off the next two nights.
 
Re: 3/21 SCRABBLE AMPS 132 +11 129

Hey Michelle.
The worst to start the day is wondering if it was a fur shot and then you go crazy
wondering about the numbers.
Happened to me when I tried long syringes, went right through and felt the
wet on the fingers of my other hand.
But Max's numbers were good that day so you just never now.
Great that you're off for the next couple of days and you can relax before
some action happens again or recouperate from the past week. :-D
 
Re: 3/21 SCRABBLE PMPS 116

I know I get so worked up over Scrabble!!!

So glad I'm not the only one!! Thanks for visiting my worked-up condo today.

I hope your evening is exactly as exciting as you want it to be. These are such good numbers! :-D
 
Re: 3/21 SCRABBLE PMPS 116

Thanks Kathy! I have a feeling Sienne that it will be exciting, wonder if Scrabble will push for another dosecrease?? Well just got back from dinner and +2 is 89!!! Glad I am home tonight lol!
 
Re: 3/21 SCRABBLE PMPS 116 +2 89 +3 55

Yup Michelle we are neck and neck.
You feed Scrabble yet?
You plan on testing a +4??
(BTW, Randi is the bean, Max is the cat :-D )

A very nice night for Scrabble. With your 2 days off you might get a dosecrease (again)
Great job. You see how easy this gets, (not).
 
Re: 3/21 SCRABBLE PMPS 116 +2 89 +3 55 +3.5 54 +4 47

looks like a dosecrease to me!

You can give him a couple tsp of HC food to bring him back to the 50's. Test again in 20 minutes to be sure it gave him a good bump.
 
Re: 3/21 SCRABBLE PMPS 116 +2 89 +3 55 +3.5 54 +4 47

I'd feed some LC and re-test in 15 to see if the numbers bump up. Only feed a teaspoon or two (I give 1/8 can of FF). If they keep dropping, then a bit of MC (HC + LC). And yes, numbers below 50 in a newly diagnosed kitty earn a decrease.
 
Re: 3/21 SCRABBLE PMPS 116 +2 89 +3 55 +3.5 54 +4 47 hc food?

Yay! I am sooooo excited that he is doing so well!!!! Another dosecrease, YES!!! Just gave him some hc, he practically ate the plate, lol!
 
Re: 3/21 SCRABBLE PMPS 116 +3 55 +3.5 54 +4 47 +4.5 56

+4.5 56 looks like hc did the trick! Will see what he is at for +5, if he drops again should I feed a little more hc?
 
Re: 3/21 SCRABBLE PMPS 116 +3 55 +3.5 54 +4 47 +4.5 56

Yup. You've got the plan. You might want to give a bit of LC now to keep Scrabble surfing.
 
Re: 3/21 SCRABBLE PMPS 116 +3 55 +3.5 54 +4 47 +4.5 56

+5 77 that is weird huh? must be a food spike, seems a lot to jump in a half an hour, should I test again in half an hour or an hour?
 
Re: 3/21 SCRABBLE PMPS 116 +4 47 +4.5 56 +5 77

it's probably the food kicking in, but he might be starting to rise naturally too. How much longer will you be up? If you're ready for bed, you can test in 1/2 hour to be sure he's still up there. Otherwise you can wait an hour.
 
Re: 3/21 SCRABBLE PMPS 116 +4 47 +4.5 56 +5 77

I will be up for a while, I am a night owl since I work nights so I will test again @ 10pm, so down to 1 unit in the am???
 
Re: 3/21 SCRABBLE PMPS 116 +4 47 +4.5 56 +5 77 +6 63

+6 63 should I feed a little hc? just gave him some chicken treats, he will probably go up from here right? I will be up to get a +7
 
Re: 3/21 SCRABBLE PMPS 116 +4 47 +4.5 56 +5 77 +6 63

Nope. I don't think you need HC. Just feed a bite or two of LC. This is a very safe range for surfing and Scrabble is probably at or close to when numbers will head back up. I'm not sure how long you are up for but if you're awake, grab a test in an hour. If Scrabble is on the way up, you're good. If numbers head back down, feed some MC and re-test. I'm probably not going to be on-line for much longer so if I've left anything out, let me know.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top