3/21 punkin +6/95 +9/123 PMPS 176 +3/226

Status
Not open for further replies.

julie & punkin (ga)

Member Since 2011
So how do I know if this decrease just needs more time to settle down or if it's a failed decrease and i should go back up to 7.0u? Punkin's last few days:

3/18 am 7.0u dropped to +4/48,
decreased dose pm to 6.75

3/19 amps 235 6.75u
+3/204
+6/71
pmps/305 6.75u
+3/241
+5/192

3/20 amps 276 6.75u (minus 2 drops - one on his fur, one on me)
+3/248
+5/235
pmps/299; 6.75u
+3/258

3/21 amps 283 planning on giving 6.75
+3/211
+6/95
+9/123
PMPS 176
 
Re: 3/21 punkin amps 283 decrease failure?

I'd go with the 6.75u this AM. Sometimes those flat yellow cycles mean you're going to see some action and it may be a matter of the bounce from 3/19 clearing. (It can take up to 72 hours for a bounce to clear.) Let's see where Punkin is at this evening.
 
Re: 3/21 punkin amps 283 decrease failure?

Good morning guys .. No dosing advice here .. but I hope that this flat yellow is a sign of some action waiting to happen! Have a great day guys!
 
Re: 3/21 punkin amps 283 decrease failure?

I was reading your post yesterday. The nanner pictures are hilarious. Maverick played with his two minutes and now hates it. He won't even go in his cube if its in there. Its stored in the freezer. Wish Maverick had a brother or a sister to steal nanners from :lol:

Can't help with the dosing. Have you decided on switching to Lev or not? Hope you have a good Monday.
 
Re: 3/21 punkin amps 283 decrease failure?

done, thank you!

have a great day!

ah, just saw the last 2 posts - i just think he's doing so well on the lantus that i want to hang in there a bit longer. because of the way he's been the last couple of days, i'm thinking he might be reactive even if it didn't sting. we're managing for the moment.

the nanners - i guess they are ok - i feel like punkin's semi-stoned with it. they are fighting over them. it's like having little kids "play nicely or i'm taking the nanners away." :lol: :lol: one mini-squall this morning and now everyone's off to the litter box or bird-feeder watching.

i'm going to schedule him in for a dental cleaning today. I got his cleaned probably 5 years ago because his breath was so terrible, but it was bad within a couple of weeks again. after reading people's comments about dentals, i'm thinking we need to do that.
 
Re: 3/21 punkin amps 283 +3/211

i tend to agree with Ella on the "Pavlov's cat" theory...binks has been tested so often that he waits about 3 seconds after the gauze touches his ear, then jerks and gives a tiny yip...once that's over, i actually use the lancet :lol:

i think it's probably likely at shot time, as well...

good to see you're headed the right way, Punk!
 
Re: 3/21 punkin amps 283 +3/211

:lol: :lol: silly kitter!

he's now scheduled for a dental cleaning next Tuesday. They said feed & insulin as usual, although as early as possible and they would keep track of his BG and clean his last. i assume that's so his stomach will empty some & hopefully he won't vomit during the procedure.

are there specific things i need to ask about the cleaning?
 
Re: 3/21 punkin amps 283 +3/211 +6/95

Make sure he gets fluids via an IV during the dental procedure. Your vet should offer this as a matter of course. The IV can also be used for emergency medication if something goes wrong during the procedure. Not using fluids places stress on the kidneys and can trigger chronic renal failure (CRF).

Ask if they're expecting to do extractions and if yes, what they'll be prescribing for pain afterward. Bupriopron is the preferred painkiller after the procedure. Metacam has a black box warning, so avoid.

Some vets want 10 days of an antibiotic before and after. Some only want it after. Some don't use it at all, preferring to avoid unnecessary antibiotics. Leo got clinimycin (sp?) before and after, but his mouth was an absolute mess, 5 extractions, stunk like something died in there.

I believe that sterioids like cortisone should be avoided as they can aggravate diabetes. By the same token, they can be best for some cats despite the diabetes. I'll let others fill in the blanks on that one.

Some members here are really up on things like gas vs. drug induction of anesthesia and which anesthesias they prefer. I hope some of them join in.

I'm working from memory of three months ago for all of this so I might have some of the drug names wrong or misspelled.
 
Re: 3/21 punkin amps 283 +3/211 +6/95 +9/123 dose?

so . . . is the dose decrease working? should i wait another day and see what happens? or bump back up to 7.0?
 
Re: 3/21 punkin amps 283 +3/211 +6/95 +9/123 dose ok?

sorry, I don't have any dose advice but good luck with the toofie cleanings :smile:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top