? 3/21: Nova--amps 116; reduced to 2u; +2=199; +4=158; +6=77!!(tested 2x); +7=96-thoughts for tonight?

I'm sorry no one responded yesterday. I saw your post. I was a work and it's been more than mayhem there these days.

One of my rules of thumb is if I tested and got a number that seemed completely out of sync, I would retest. It's entirely possible to get a reading from your meter but you had a bad strip, not quite enough blood, or it was a glitch.

It also possible that when number drop into a range your cat is no longer used to spending time in, they "bounce" back to a higher range. This happens if numbers drop low, drop fast, or as I said, your kitty isn't used to being in a lower range. We refer to this as a bounce when the numbers spike back up. This results from the liver and pancreas releasing a stored form of glucose along with counterregulatory hormones. It can take 3 days for a bounce to clear.

One thing that doesn't work is to reduce the dose. Bounces are normal -- then annoy the heck out of us but are a normal, protective mechanism.

If you are following SLGS, you want to hold the dose for 7 days. At that point, you should run a curve (i.e., test every 2 hours for a cycle) and if numbers are above 90, increase the dose.

I'm not sure how you measured a dose of 2.58u. With SLGS, dose changes are made in 0.25u increments. You can microcode but Nova's numbers aren't at a place yet where fine adjustments are needed.

Likewise, Lantus doesn't do well with abrupt changes. Lantus likes consistency. This is due to the depot. Any time you do anything that influences the dose, it disrupts the depot. o

Let's see what the cycle looks like today. If needed, ti would probably make sense to put the dose back to 2.5u.
 
thanks. I didn't measure 2.58 it was skinnied, "s"...and the 2.0 today was a bit 'fat'

She's been showing me blues more often than not in the amps lately, and then does whatever she wants.

and I will test today.... i do curves every week...it seems always during or at the start of a bounce....
 
her lunch has not hit yet.....OMG.....:)

gave a bit of gravy food (dm 10%) just now...:nailbiting: JIC
 
Last edited:
The 2.5 or 2.5s depot was running the show today and she definitely earned a reduction from that! Not sure if you want to do 2.25 or 2.25s? I'd guess 2.25 units.

Lovely cycle today. :D:cool: Good job with the lower numbers. Keep good notes on your spreadsheet on how much of what and when you fed extra food. That'll help you next time she's swimming the greens. You are OK with LC now.
 
Thank you SO much. Depending on her pmps, I would Prob do 2.25s if mid/high blue, prob stick with 2 if lower. maybe 2fat. Better some, than too much. Now is not the time to go hypo, but I would like to NOT see a total bounce either.....I guess its a fine line. {{sigh}}

:DI am just SO amazed!:cool:
 
Back
Top