3/21 Noogi - PMPS 144, +2 95, +3 58, +4 65, +5 63, +6 95

Helen + Noogi

Member Since 2025
Yesterday's post
and earlier today: AMPS 193, +3 81, +4 56, +5 74, +7 79, +8 76, +9 85

Good morning

Last night's dip into lime earned Noogi a reduction :cat:

I thought I might see a bounce into yellow or pink today but looks like he's having another active cycle. Glad I can be home some of the day to keep an eye on him.

He is thoroughly sick and tired of being tested though! Started a new thing where he moves his head as I go in towards the droplet of blood. So many wasted strips !! :facepalm:
 
Last edited:
You will see the effects of the higher depot for the first 3-4 cycles after a reduction. Did he get a little MC at +3? Quite a dive!

He did. He only ate a little so I added some chicken now and he's finishing the rest :D
He didn't eat much between shot and +3 - we were both sleeping - so hopefully this flattens him out a little.

Thanks for the tip about the fingernail, I'll try it.
 
Congrats on the reduction! My guy does the head thing too, after a couple times I was able to recognize a pattern, he’ll do one big head move then I’ve got like a 3 second window. Maybe you’ll find something like this :)
 
Congrats on the reduction! My guy does the head thing too, after a couple times I was able to recognize a pattern, he’ll do one big head move then I’ve got like a 3 second window. Maybe you’ll find something like this :)
Yes, this feels familiar. Sometimes it is just me being impatient and if I wait for him to settle down he's fine. He likes to circle and head-butt me and get stricthes while purring before he lies down. Today he has been so good though I shouldn't complain.
 
Hi Helen, congratulations on the reduction for Noogi.
Hoping he quickly acclimate to the new cycle and And then we can see where this dose will take him. Hope it’s a great dose for him. Stay safe Noogi, no lime dives, please :p
Have a great day, Helen and Noogi:bighug::bighug:
 
Thanks @Marielle and @Staci & Ivy
So far so good on the new dose (phew) :cool:
I've checked him rather obsessively today, making sure he didn't dip too low after that 56 at +4. But he cruised along nicely in the greens. I'm beginning to see their appeal. He usually goes lower in the evenings so we will see what tonight brings.

Here he is chilling outside. The rain we were expecting has failed to arrive.

20250321_100542.jpg
 

Attachments

  • 20250321_100542.jpg
    20250321_100542.jpg
    175.7 KB · Views: 122
Last edited:
Thanks @Marielle and @Staci & Ivy
So far so good on the new dose (phew) :cool:
I've checked him rather obsessively today, making sure he didn't dip too low after that 56 at +4. But he cruised along nicely in the greens. I'm beginning to see their appeal. He usually goes lower in the evenings so we will see what tonight brings.

Here he is chilling outside. The rain we were expecting have failed to arrive.

View attachment 73188
What a perfect picture: a beautiful cat enjoying the garden! I hope he has a good, safe surf tonight.
 
Last edited:
Thanks @Marielle and @Staci & Ivy
So far so good on the new dose (phew) :cool:
I've checked him rather obsessively today, making sure he didn't dip too low after that 56 at +4. But he cruised along nicely in the greens. I'm beginning to see their appeal. He usually goes lower in the evenings so we will see what tonight brings.

Here he is chilling outside. The rain we were expecting has failed to arrive.

View attachment 73188
Happy kitty in his garden:D:D :bighug::bighug:
 
Here we go again... big drop at +3.
I really don't like him going to low this early in the cycle :nailbiting:

I gave him some MC at +2. Now I've given him a teaspoon of HC at +3 to slow him down again. But I'm going to have to watch him again to make sure he surfs safe tonight.

@Bandit's Mom What do you think? presume he's still feeling the effect of the previous dose's depot?
I feel like I am having to use food a lot to keep him from going low. That's okay when I am here to watch him but I can't do that all the time. I'm already worried about work next week as there are going to be three days when I won't be able to check on him mid-cycle.
Do you think another dose decrease is in his near future - when/under what conditions would I consider that?
 
Last edited:
I understand your concerns, Helen. I went through this with Jude, including the whole work aspect and being away from him and being concerned that he would go low when I was at work. Bhooma will know.
 
I understand your concerns, Helen. I went through this with Jude, including the whole work aspect and being away from him and being concerned that he would go low when I was at work. Bhooma will know.
Yes Mary, it is such a worry :nailbiting:
Especially as I know without my intervention the last few nights may well have seen Noogi drop into real danger.

I've been rereading this sticky, it's so interesting: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/how-low-is-too-low.142105/
We don't need to flirt with the 50s and 40s!

I feel like I have whiplash as within a week I've gone from being stuck in the pink and worrying if he's ever going to come down, to worrying about hypos all the time.
I also keep wondering if the insulin in the old pen was bad, as its been such a big change from the 15th when I started the new. If I am correct then this dose might be too much for him. It's so complicated!
 
What do you think? presume he's still feeling the effect of the previous dose's depot?
Yes, the higher depot is still at work here.
'm already worried about work next week as there are going to be three days when I won't be able to check on him mid-cycle.
Lets see where he is after the depot restabilizes in the next couple of cycles :cat:
Now I've given him a teaspoon of HC at +3 to slow him down again.
Great Job! Let's see where he is at +4 ish
 
Yes Mary, it is such a worry :nailbiting:
Especially as I know without my intervention the last few nights may well have seen Noogi drop into real danger.

I've been rereading this sticky, it's so interesting: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/how-low-is-too-low.142105/
We don't need to flirt with the 50s and 40s!

I feel like I have whiplash as within a week I've gone from being stuck in the pink and worrying if he's ever going to come down, to worrying about hypos all the time.
I also keep wondering if the insulin in the old pen was bad, as its been such a big change from the 15th when I started the new. If I am correct then this dose might be too much for him. It's so complicated!

I have not read that sticky before! Thanks for sharing it. Of course, I'm still learning, like many here, and Noogs' lower numbers could be the result of effective insulin in the new pen, but they could also be the result of him hitting the right dose. Once he hit it, his numbers began dropping. Now, I'm not saying that this is what is happening to Noogi, but Jude hit the "right dose" at 3U: no more blacks or reds from that point forward. But then he began racing down the dosing ladder (as Bhooma phrased it); I was carb manipulating him almost (literally almost) 24 hrs a day. It was super difficult for me as I worked, but I was able to sneak Jude into the office. Had I not been able to do that, I don't know what I would have done. Eventually, though, he began refusing to eat at work (stress). Right about that time, thankfully, we took some reductions that landed him at his current dose: 1.25. He had some bounces up to the yellows, but for the most part, he's remained below 200 since 3/1.

I hope that either Bhooma or perhaps Angela or anyone else with knowledge will jump in and discuss this with you. It's a delicate time for both you and Noogi right now as he's trying to find that place of being regulated. I know they've seen this multiple times, and they know.
 
Last edited:
Great Job! Let's see where he is at +4 ish
Good to hear from you Angela. Thank you! He's at 65 now at +4. Another teaspoon high carb just to keep him surfing safe?

Noogi started a new pen am of 3/15. Same day as a dose increase.
I had begun to think the insulin in the old pen has lost its efficacy. If you look at his spreadsheet you'll see that day is when his numbers changed.
Could be a coincidence? No way to know for sure. But if this new pen is 'better insulin" then maybe this dose is a but too high, which is why he has gone so low so fast?
Any thoughts?
 
Last edited:
I have not read that sticky before! Thanks for sharing it. Of course, I'm still learning, like many here, and Noogs' lower numbers could be the result of effective insulin in the new pen, but they could also be the result of him hitting the right dose. Once he hit it, his numbers began dropping. Now, I'm not saying that this is what is happening to Noogi, but Jude hit the "right dose" at 3U: no more blacks or reds from that point forward. But then he began racing down the dosing ladder (as Bhooma phrased it); I was carb manipulating him almost (literally almost) 24 hrs a day. It was super difficult for me as I worked, but I was able to sneak Jude into the office. Had I not been able to do that, I don't know what I would have done. Eventually, though, he began refusing to eat at work (stress). Right about that time, thankfully, we took some reductions that landed him at his current dose: 1.25. He had some bounces up to the yellows, but for the most part, he's remained below 200 since 3/1.

I hope that either Bhooma or perhaps Angela or anyone else with knowledge will jump in and discuss this with you. It's a delicate time for both you and Noogi right now as he's trying to find that place of being regulated. I know they've seen this multiple times, and they know.
So helpful to hear your experience with Jude, Mary. And grateful for all the support and advice in this place :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
It could be the new pen, it could be the new dose. It's not the first time that a cat has hit a breakthrough dose and then zooms down the dosing ladder to a much lower dose (giving the CG a few heart attacks and many sleepless nights on the way). Let us wait for some confirmation that he does want to go lower in dose. Today's numbers are still the effects of the 2.5U depot. You don't want to rush the reductions again and find yourself being stuck in higher numbers again. Like Angela said, let's see what he does tomorrow (22/3). The depot will be out of the picture in the 4th cycle on this dose.
 
It could be the new pen, it could be the new dose. It's not the first time that a cat has hit a breakthrough dose and then zooms down the dosing ladder to a much lower dose (giving the CG a few heart attacks and many sleepless nights on the way). Let us wait for some confirmation that he does want to go lower in dose. Today's numbers are still the effects of the 2.5U depot. You don't want to rush the reductions again and find yourself being stuck in higher numbers again. Like Angela said, let's see what he does tomorrow (22/3). The depot will be out of the picture in the 4th cycle on this dose.
Thanks for reassuring me all this is normal Bhooma :bighug:
As Diane would advise: I must put on my patience pants :D
I'm glad it's weekend. I will have to leave him for several hours from midday tomorrow, and a shorter time on Sunday but otherwise I can watch him.
 
Congratulations on the reduction! It is like a rollar coaster for sure and worrying about hypos is so scary!

I feel the appeal for greens even more now since we lost that momentum. I hope you find just the right amount to keep Noogi safe and healing and you resting easy. :bighug::bighug:
 
Yesterday's post
and earlier today: AMPS 193, +3 81, +4 56, +5 74, +7 79, +8 76, +9 85

Good morning

Last night's dip into lime earned Noogi a reduction :cat:

I thought I might see a bounce into yellow or pink today but looks like he's having another active cycle. Glad I can be home some of the day to keep an eye on him.

He is thoroughly sick and tired of being tested though! Started a new thing where he moves his head as I go in towards the droplet of blood. So many wasted strips !! :facepalm:
Congratulations on the reduction!
:bighug::cat::bighug:
 
Back
Top