Kathy and Kitty
Very Active Member
Yesterday: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=9722
...in which Kitty had three blue tests around 108, which he has not done since last November. And this morning, what I feared: AMPS of 129. I reverted to the last effective dose of .5.
So what is wrong? Even if he just didn't like the .25, he shouldn't have gone up to 129. Checking off possibilities:
- the insulin. We opened a new vial March 2. Even if the insulin bottle is compromised by bubbles from bad syringes -- a possibility -- would a cat with tests ranging frm 70's to 90's at .25 go this high in reaction?
- food: Fancy Feast is unreliable lately, he isn't eating as well, but he should go lower, not higher.
- Just not ready to go OTJ: this breaks my heart. He has been pointed this way for months, green as grass. If there's been dose 'drift,' it's my fault. I've been measuring everything since Wednesday. If I inadvertently gave him a .3 reduction instead of .25 -- would that cause this reaction?
- Pain. This morning, my bet is on pain. Kitty had a diagnosis of resorbed roots at his dental in February -- so advanced that there are no lesions, or even nerves anymore! But the local dentist didn't feel qualified to do the surgery. Our only choice was a board certified vet three hours away, and that's not really an option, for many reasons. Kitty was playing this week -- maybe he bit on a toy and disturbed the teeth? The teeth are still there.
What to do:
- I raised the dose.
- I can change the insulin bottle on Tuesday, though I'm not feeling that's the problem.
- Try a bupe trial? Does bupe affect BG?
- Vet: get some bloodwork?
I would really appreciate getting ideas on what might be wrong, and what to do. I admit, I'm very discouraged.
...in which Kitty had three blue tests around 108, which he has not done since last November. And this morning, what I feared: AMPS of 129. I reverted to the last effective dose of .5.
So what is wrong? Even if he just didn't like the .25, he shouldn't have gone up to 129. Checking off possibilities:
- the insulin. We opened a new vial March 2. Even if the insulin bottle is compromised by bubbles from bad syringes -- a possibility -- would a cat with tests ranging frm 70's to 90's at .25 go this high in reaction?
- food: Fancy Feast is unreliable lately, he isn't eating as well, but he should go lower, not higher.
- Just not ready to go OTJ: this breaks my heart. He has been pointed this way for months, green as grass. If there's been dose 'drift,' it's my fault. I've been measuring everything since Wednesday. If I inadvertently gave him a .3 reduction instead of .25 -- would that cause this reaction?
- Pain. This morning, my bet is on pain. Kitty had a diagnosis of resorbed roots at his dental in February -- so advanced that there are no lesions, or even nerves anymore! But the local dentist didn't feel qualified to do the surgery. Our only choice was a board certified vet three hours away, and that's not really an option, for many reasons. Kitty was playing this week -- maybe he bit on a toy and disturbed the teeth? The teeth are still there.
What to do:
- I raised the dose.
- I can change the insulin bottle on Tuesday, though I'm not feeling that's the problem.
- Try a bupe trial? Does bupe affect BG?
- Vet: get some bloodwork?
I would really appreciate getting ideas on what might be wrong, and what to do. I admit, I'm very discouraged.