3/21 Kismet PMPS 141, +2 120, +3 86,+4 79

Status
Not open for further replies.

Courtney and Kismet

Member Since 2012
Good Morning, LL!

After a horrid AM cycle yesterday, Kismet had a lovely green PM cycle and insisted on a PJ party. :mrgreen: Fortunately I don't go in until late on Thursdays, and was able to go BTB this morning. DH was trying to let me sleep in since I was up until 3:30 last night, but poor guy had trouble getting blood from K's ears so he brought him to me in bed. DH is still feeling a bit sick --- funky tummy and a bit of a cold, but is doing much better today. Thank you all for your vines, thoughts, and well wishes yesterday for both my boys. DH shot and fed, and then K came back to bed with me after Dan left for work. We got two more much needed hours of sleep! K is actually still in bed, LOL, and groaned when I got up :lol: I guess I was too loud or made too much movement. He's a bit high this morning, but I don't know if it's a bounce after all the weirdness from yesterday or if he is still feeling asthmatic.

Thank you Marje for visiting us last night, and to everyone who visits us today. I hope everyone has a wonderful day and sending vines out to everyone in need.

Yesterday/Recap
AMPS 147 (Asthma attack about 15 minutes prior)
+2--- 187 UGH :evil:
+5--- 105
PMPS 193
+2--- 118
+3--- 66
+4--- 61
+5--- 58

Today
AMPS 163
+2.5--186 @-)
+3--- 160
+5--- 115
PMPS 141
+2--- 120
+3--- 86
+4--- 79
 
Re: 3/21 Kismet AMPS 163, +2.5 186 thoughts?

What is up with this +2.5?

Just to recap all recent changes/variables:

3/16 Started Allerplex 1 capsule a day divided into 3 mini meals
3/18 Dosecrease from skinny 0.25 to 0.25u
3/20 First Asthma Attack in 9 Days
3/20 Increased Allerplex dose to 2 capsules a day, divided into 6 mini meals (3 AM and 3 PM)

Could the higher numbers be attributed to the dosecrease? The Asthma bounces usually clear pretty quickly. I'm thinking it might also be the Allerplex; he did get an extra capsule last night.

Here's what I'm thinking --- stick with the Allerplex bid until the weekend and see where he is. If he is still high, I will stop Allerplex for a couple of cycles and see if that brings him down any. If it does, then we'll be able to rule out other factors. I think it's still too early to tell if the Allerplex is working. He'd been on it for only 4 days when he had his asthma attack yesterday, so if it's not helping, I might consider ditching it and just sticking with his inhalers. If it doesn't have any affect on his BGs, maybe it's time to start thinking about another dosecrease? Thoughts?
 
Re: 3/21 Kismet AMPS 163, +2.5 186 thoughts?

How old is your insulin? I couldn't tell from your SS.

FWIW, I think Ella is wondering if the Allerplex is effecting Rusty's numbers.

Oh, my! The Other ingredients in Allerplex: gelatin, calcium lactate, magnesium citrate, potassium bicarbonate, water, calcium stearate, ascorbic acid, colors, arabic gum, starch, sucrose (beets), and vitamin A palmitate
 
Re: 3/21 Kismet AMPS 163, +2.5 186 thoughts?

Hi, Courtney, I don't have any dosing advice ~ but the plan to rule out if the Allerplex is causing higher bgs sounds like a good idea.

Also, thank you for visiting our condo last night ~ it's really appreciated :smile: .

I'm glad you were able to get extra sleep today!
 
Re: 3/21 Kismet AMPS 163, +2.5 186 thoughts?

Hi Sienne, We got a brand new vial for when we started him back on insulin on February 13th, so it's just over a month old... it's clear, still has its potent smell, etc. I'm fairly sure the insulin is fine; last night he went from PMPS 193 to the 50s.

I was worried about the ingredients in Allerplex. Ella noted that there have been reports that it might actually lower BG, but it doesn't seem to be the case with us.
 
Re: 3/21 Kismet AMPS 163, +2.5 186 thoughts?

Hi Josie, yes, the extra sleep today was much needed. I hope your headache is gone and that you're feeling much better today!
 
Re: 3/21 Kismet AMPS 163, +2.5 186,+3 160 thoughts?

I hope Kismet comes down for you. Good idea on investigating the Allerplex. You and Ella are in the same boat. Have a great day Courtney!
 
Re: 3/21 Kismet AMPS 163, +2.5 186,+3 160, +5 115 thoughts?

Hi Courtney. Nice to see that Kismet brought his numbers down some. Good luck with the dosage and meds.

Have a great evening.
 
Re: 3/21 Kismet AMPS 163, +2.5 186,+3 160, +5 115 thoughts?

Hi Courtney, good luck with experimenting on stopping the Allerplex to see if it is the cause of his higher numbers. I feel for you, as we sometimes find something that helps, whether it be med or food, and then it causes another problem. Just like medications with us can fix one problem, only to have a bad side effect from something that is meant to fix the problem. Hope that makes sense. Scritches to Kizzie!
 
Re: 3/21 Kismet AMPS 163, +2.5 186,+3 160, +5 115 thoughts?

Good luck on finding out if the Allerplex is causing the higher BGs. I'm glad Kismet came down for you today.
 
Re: 3/21 Kismet AMPS 163, +2.5 186,+3 160, +5 115 thoughts?

Hi Courtney,
Rusty was having atypical numbers (caused by stress: a vetty visit/tests and a trip to New York city) at least 3 weeks before we started Allerplex, so I don't think I can attribute his numbers to Allerplex. He lost regulation and hadn't gained it back when we began Allerplex. But his condition is so much improved with Allerplex, that I would not want to take him off it. ECID, however. I elaborated on this in commenting on your comments in Rusty's condo earlier today. By the way, Rusty has a GREEN PMPS this evening!!!

I hope Kismet can get back on track. I think that the real culprit in his case is the broken air conditioner. I hope you can get the system fixed soon.

My vet suggested the Allerplex dose as 1 capsule sid and that is what I am doing (I mix it into a teasp. of baby food and water and finger feed it about an hour after Rusty's breakfast). When we finish the 150 capsules in the bottle, the vet suggests upping the dose to 2 capsules (I believe that she consulted with the vet dept. at Standard Process; I will have to find out whether it is sid or bid). I know that when Marje was dosing her asthematic kitty she split the capsule in half and gave it bid.

Good luck, whatever you decide to do. I hope that Kismet is feeling lots better tonight.

Hugs & scritches,

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 3/21 Kismet AMPS 163, +2.5 186,+3 160, +5 115 thoughts?

Kismet, did you slide down today? Well drat on those carbs in the Allerplex. I wonder if Standard Process has another version without carbs. Any progress on the AC? I hope Dan fully recovers soon.
Liz
 
Re: 3/21 Kismet AMPS 163, +2.5 186,+3 160, +5 115 thoughts?

Kismet. How ya doing? Those long nights are no fun but BTB can be wonerful. I can just picture the attitude when you were 'disturbed' this morning. :lol: :lol: :lol: I hope the Allerplex is the cause of your higher numbers and mamabean can get you on something better.

Sorry to here DH is still not feeling well. Hopefully you can get some rest yourself.

Karen
 
Re: 3/21 Kismet PMPS 141

Hi Melissa, Thanks so much for stopping by! It's so hard to figure these guys out when there is often several variables. Kitties are so complicated, just when you think you have them figured out ohmygod_smile

Hi John, thanks for the well wishes. I hope so, too!

Hi Ann, so true. Just like in humans, when you take a med for one thing, the side effects might cause a whole slew of other problems. :?

Hi Carla, thanks! I hope we will have some more answers soon.

Hi Ella, Thanks for your thoughts. Even if it was just the outside air that triggered the attack, I'm still concerned that the Allerplex isn't having much of an affect on him. Maybe his asthma is just too far pronounced for an herbal treatment? I think it may be still too soon to tell if the Allerplex is working, but I'd like to know if it is causing higher numbers. I've noticed a trend in higher numbers since being on Allerplex even prior to the asthma attack yesterday, so I don't think the Asthma is solely to blame. I figure the best thing to do is try to determine if it is indeed causing higher BGs, and if it is, then I'm not sure it's worth us continuing with it. Kismet doesn't usually wheeze or have trouble breathing. He is pretty asymptomatic until an attack comes on, actually. We'll try a few days without and see how he goes, and maybe I will try a trial again later once these BGs come down some.

Hi Liz! Yes, we had a nice slide from those high blues, but no lagoon. Tonight is a new cycle, though :smile: Good question about the Allerplex, I will have to investigate! Thanks for the wishes for Dan.

Hi Karen! So nice to hear from you! BTB is wonderful. So glad he decided to dip low last night of all nights :) Thanks for the wishes for Dan, too. Hope all is well with you, Greg, and FB!
 
Re: 3/21 Kismet PMPS 141

I hope you can isolate the cause of Kismet's wonky numbers soon. Once you take away the cause I am sure the boy will be sliding into better numbers soon.
Wish you a nice weekend !
 
Re: 3/21 Kismet PMPS 141, +2 120, +3 86

We finally got to the lagoon :mrgreen: Kismet seems to be doing just fine today, breathing easy, even with the windows open. We're getting a new AC put in tomorrow morning (they say it takes between 8-10 hours :shock: ) I have a very early morning tomorrow, I will be up and out long before Kismet's AMPS and the repairman gets here, so DH is on Kismet duty and AC repairman duty. My Mom kindly offered to come sit at the house while the workers are here, but DH is taking the day off because he says he wants to stay home with Kismet to make sure he is feeling safe d'awwww. He hid under the bed all morning when the second opinion company came out... he is very afraid of strange men. Any strange woman can come in, and he will love all over her (such a flirt), but men...zoom!

So I won't be posting until later tomorrow afternoon when I get home from work. I'm going to give K is third meal and hit the hay. I'll stay up for the +4, just to make sure he's surfing safely. I hope everyone has a lovely night.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top