3/21 Eeyore+7=252+9=351 PMPS=416 +2=371

Status
Not open for further replies.

Michele and Esse

Very Active Member
Daily Digest
PMPS+6=172
AMPS=404
+3=271
+7=252
+9=351
PMPS=416. Shot 1.5 U (squirmed a whole lot tonight...), Friskies Spec. Diet Beef/Liver out for dinner
+2=371.
*************************************************
Yesterday's condo: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=9699

Morning, LL...

How nice that blue was in the middle of the night! YAY Eeyore! 'Course, Mr. Liver got scared and went to work. I did talk to Mr. Liver last night, but I suppose he ignored me. I explained that 172 was a good number, nothing to be scared about, but he just laughed and said "yeah, lady, you can't overrule Mr. Liver!" LOL.

Eeyore is still showing all clinical signs of FD - starving, peeing, thirsty, high sugars. But last night was a great number, and I have good hope that Mr. Liver will learn to relax a little bit, and not think that normal numbers are deadly. After all, it's only been one week on Lantus, and one week consistently without dry, and with good quality wet. So...hey, I'm seeing progress. And I'm likin' it!

Hope everyone has a great Sunday...

Best-
Michele
 
Re: 3/21 Eeyore PMPS+6=172 AMPS=404

Eeyore is doing just great for just having one week of exceptional care! I bet he didn't understand your blue dance yesterday! I have full confidence you are working on showing Mr. Liver who's boss! (Yes, I know, we are talking about a cat's liver... :lol: )
 
Re: 3/21 Eeyore PMPS+6=172 AMPS=404

Amy and Six said:
Eeyore is doing just great for just having one week of exceptional care! I bet he didn't understand your blue dance yesterday! I have full confidence you are working on showing Mr. Liver who's boss! (Yes, I know, we are talking about a cat's liver... :lol: )
If only I spoke liverese....he's yellow right now, and I have great hopes he'll be at blue again sometime today. I don't mind the reds as much, now that I know they're part of a panicky liver rather than insulin resistance, you know? It is only one week in...but I'm so happy to see him responding. He'll narrow down those boing-times, like Esse did...it's part of LTS. But boy, I was glad to see the blue. :mrgreen:

And my blue dance consisted of...scooping him up, kissing his nose, and stumbling off to bed. LOL.

Best-
Michele
 
Re: 3/21 Eeyore PMPS+6=172 AMPS=404 +3=271 +7=252 +9=351

Just a couple more shots and you can raise him again. Hang in there. those 300-400 numbers will begin to fade soon.
Patricia
 
Re: 3/21 Eeyore PMPS+6=172 AMPS=404 +3=271 +7=252 +9=351

Traci said: "OMG! Congrats on the blue! Looks like you've got the right dose.

It's great that you found a respectful vet. I like mine, she's very caring. I don't think it goes to the level of respect though - but I've not given her a try since I've got this board. He was diagnosed in November and I've done everything on my own since. At some point I'll have to go back because his teeth are nasty. I've mailed her my SS which I think was a BIG shock and I think it'll lead to her giving me some respect. We'll see!"
I don't know if it's the right dose, as the blue came in the middle of the night...and we only got to yellow today. But...that's all right, it's part of the process, and we did get blue early this morning...YAY Eeyore!

I think with my vet now, there is respect because I take such a huge interest in things, and because I understand this illness. As a (soon to graduate school) nurse, I also do a lot of teaching to patients about diabetes and about diet and insulin, and so am very well educated on the subject...including all the issues which come up. WIth my ss, she sees how seriously I am taking this, and understands that Esse means the world to me. Because of that, with Eeyore, she's basically letting me run the show; didn't change a thing about the treatment, and when she asked why, at 577, did I only give 1 unit, I told her his diet was changing dramatically, and that was going to have a great effect on his numbers (turns out it didn't), and that I was not going to OD him with higher dosing, a food change, and zero background data to shoot anything more. And then I said "and that's what Tilly Protocol says to do, anyway..." She laughed...

Dr. K is a dear one...totally cool. And we talk about how she's feeling - I was there one day, took a look at her face, and just reached out and gave her a hug...she was sort of surprised, but then said "thanks, I needed that. It's been a hard day." We trade tips on the best shoes to wear when on our feet all day, and I ran into her at Trader Joes one night. So yeah, she respects me, and I respect her; and we both like each other, too. She even hung a sign in her treatment room that says:
"All unattended children will be given a sweet double espresso, and a new puppy." I laugh each time I see that.

As for Eeyore, he's doing well. I'm not catching quite as much litter box action (although it's still a lot), and while he's still starving of the hunger (he claims he's Irish and recalling the potato famine...), he's not drinking quite as much, either. I think, as he spends more time in the lower numbers, he will show less and less sign of clinical diabetes...and that is when I can get the weight onto my linebacker.

Best-
Michele
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top