? 3/21-22 Pudge AMPS 162 +2 186 +3.5 131 +4 143 PMPS 182/200 +2 226 +3 196 +4 192

kitten68

Member Since 2024
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/3-16-pudge-amps-149-2-148-3-5-116.299201/

changed pen, seemed ok but last 3 cycles eh.. had to check on the pen. definite increase.. happy to go up and see. and was thinking to give full 5 days but yellowing tonite..

i’m a little discouraged its up like this, trying best and glad to check on the pen. needed to.. and needed to start at last good dose.. considering initial 60 am glad i did. hes acting ok thankfully but ugh..its been a little break i guess, but trying to get momentum back..

anyway since had 60s 4 cycles ago.. must still wait?? want to increase AM, but understand to wait 4-6 cycles.. but considering yellow, ok to just go up in AM??? 4 cycles enough? have done after 4 cycles in past.. (been ok but wanted to ask..)

or.. since had a 60s.. just wait the full 5 days (10 cycles..)?.. see? idk :bookworm:

pudge and me say hello, thanks for any advices.. ugh. :blackeye::coffee:
 
Last edited:
Looking at your SS you decreased from 3 units without earning the reduction. I read the remarks that you thought he was doing better on 2.5 and the issue was the pen. It helps to remember that insulin is a hormone and hormone needs change. A dose that worked well a week ago can be too much or too little a week or two later. We base dosing decisions on what we see in the SS.
Between reducing the dose by a 1/2unit (typically we dose in 0.25unit increments) combined with the NS AM 3/18, the depot has to restabilize. Now that it has, you only saw greens one out of the seven cycles at 2.5.
Pudge isn't new to greens. If it were my cat, I would increase the dose (probably at the next morning cycle cause I need my sleep) to 2.75 and hold it for at least 3-5 days. :cat:
 
Looking at your SS you decreased from 3 units without earning the reduction. I read the remarks that you thought he was doing better on 2.5 and the issue was the pen. It helps to remember that insulin is a hormone and hormone needs change. A dose that worked well a week ago can be too much or too little a week or two later. We base dosing decisions on what we see in the SS.
Between reducing the dose by a 1/2unit (typically we dose in 0.25unit increments) combined with the NS AM 3/18, the depot has to restabilize. Now that it has, you only saw greens one out of the seven cycles at 2.5.
Pudge isn't new to greens. If it were my cat, I would increase the dose (probably at the next morning cycle cause I need my sleep) to 2.75 and hold it for at least 3-5 days. :cat:
tysm!!! ❤️ right i had to check the pen and i made sure to wait also haha.. made sure to try seeing definitely.. :/ yeah i didn’t traditionally reduce. i decreased back down that much just in case it was the pen i did not want any events.. :/ cuz prior to new pen, 2.5 was doing ok.. i expected having to increase tho if needed. he got a 60 on 2.5 so def wanted to see.. i wanted to start at 2.75 but figured it was safest to be conservative.. exactly. it’s been a week or a bit more.. :( and he isnt right :cat: (greens..) its been concerning….. so thats why did that.. ugh i hated skipping but i couldnt be home; an emergency cropped up (car :/ )…. Sigh. Otherwise he would have got it.. (btw any suggestion on days when can’t be home/can monitor much?.. understand ppl will give a “token” dose or reduce a little, but the depot can carry.. idk what else there is except skipping in cases, cuz idk how his numbers will react.. :blackeye:..)

just glad to hear.. i figured and was thinking so definitely (in terms of time). i wanted to do this AM but wasn’t sure.. didnt want any booboos cuz it was a “testing the dose increase/decrease” period lol. But very glad to hear.. would doing it tonite be ok if up to doing so, tho tmw is better for sleep etc true :cat: ? tysm again..

(think we’ll be ok?.. im nervous we’ve fallen behind.. or wont get back.. all the hard work we done for naught.. haha.. *cries :blackeye: :arghh::coffee: Im not sure what happened but had to see on the pen.. will see more.. the last stinky pen and now the one currently using both have the same expiration date.. hm :bookworm: The lot #s are different tho. and man have i been picking them up.. to make sure theres pens to use.. then issues w syringes before.. just.. ugh :facepalm: i really dont know.. i just hope hes ok. acting ok tho..)
 
Last edited:
I've never had an instance when starting a new pen caused a dramatic drop in Gabby's numbers. I can appreciate the caution but unless you had a reason to suspect that the insulin in the old pen wasn't working, the effectiveness of one pen should be identical to the effectiveness of a new pen. If it wasn't, the drug company would get sued or it would never have been released to the public.
 
I've never had an instance when starting a new pen caused a dramatic drop in Gabby's numbers. I can appreciate the caution but unless you had a reason to suspect that the insulin in the old pen wasn't working, the effectiveness of one pen should be identical to the effectiveness of a new pen. If it wasn't, the drug company would get sued or it would never have been released to the public.
because it was so sudden i figured id try it.. increasing all the way up to 3 u after not needing to as well and things still a bit wonky i thought it couldnt hurt either.. im not sure or understand why things looking as they are; thats how its supposed to be (quality consistent across pens). ive been filling to keep up w the prescription and ive been concerned to say the least.. ive been keeping extra on hand. the shame!! if its like a new pattern, etc or if needs tweaking, ok but i felt i had to check because it coincided. and i dont have much faith in the business practices haha.. they get away with and cover up a lot. lol :/ BUT we’ve honestly appreciated this medicine so much.. since it was suddenly drastic, i wanted to see.. and who knows, maybe something happened, something interfered, i had to check. and thats the thing.. its been going well.. and pens just continued numbers. so idk. :cat:
 
The only time I had a pen (cartridge really, a pen refill) go off, is when it went on a week long road trip where temperatures were mostly 90's and above. Guess, the cooler wasn't quite up to it. It's usually not the pen, unless you did something you suspect might have caused it to go off (frozen, too warm for too long, etc.) If the pen was treated as normally, its probably the cat.

Nothing on 3 units said the dose was too much. A cat needs however much insulin they need at that point in time. Just follow what the numbers and dosing method tell you to do.
 
The only time I had a pen (cartridge really, a pen refill) go off, is when it went on a week long road trip where temperatures were mostly 90's and above. Guess, the cooler wasn't quite up to it. It's usually not the pen, unless you did something you suspect might have caused it to go off (frozen, too warm for too long, etc.) If the pen was treated as normally, its probably the cat.

Nothing on 3 units said the dose was too much. A cat needs however much insulin they need at that point in time. Just follow what the numbers and dosing method tell you to do.
:cat: it just seemed weird that numbers just dropped off like that right when then pen changed so i felt it was needed to just check.. i know it can happen and i fill pens to have them for the future so its hard to recall if there was something out of the ordinary at the time; maybe go left out too long idk etc.
 
Back
Top