3/20 Sweetie PMPS=71, +3=57, +3.75=46, +4=57, +4.7=63

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sweeties-Mom

Member Since 2013
Previous Condo

He's edging up into the higher blues this morning, but I'm happy that he's only been wearing blue and green for 7 cycles already.

Hope you are all having a nice start to your day; we are getting some needed rain here in California.
 
Re: 3/20 Sweetie AMPS=184, PMPS=71

Wow - 71 at PMPS. I wonder what he did during the day while I was at work? Could be an exciting evening! I feel so much calmer today than I did just 2 days ago. What a wonderful teaching and support group I have here! (((FDMB))) group hug :-D
 
Re: 3/20 Sweetie AMPS=184, PMPS=71

I fed him his dinner (3oz can of FF) with the shot so I thought I'd wait until +2 to test him; that will be in about 30 min from now (it is almost 8pm here).
 
Re: 3/20 Sweetie AMPS=184, PMPS=71, +2=56

At +2 tonight he was at 56 so I gave him 2tsp of LC food; will test again in 30.
 
Re: 3/20 Sweetie AMPS=184, PMPS=71, +2=56, +2.5=55

Don't know if it is the 2tsp of LC food that kept him flat, but I'm feeling in control and I LIKE IT :-D .

I gave him another 2tsp after the +2.5=55 and will test again shortly since it is almost +3.
 
Re: 3/20 Sweetie AMPS=184, PMPS=71, +2=56, +2.5=55, +3=57

Thanks Rich! I was checking out Rex's SS just before I did the +3 test - wow his bounces seem to last a long time. Hope that means he will have even longer surfs in the blues and greens, it is only fair after all :smile:

So maybe I need to look into an automatic feeder too - how well will it work with 2 cats and not knowing who is eating the food though? They both are hoovers so I don't have to worry about them not getting the food I serve directly to them, but what about a midday meal when I'm at work?

Anyway, thanks for visiting!
 
Re: 3/20 Sweetie AMPS=184, PMPS=71, +2=56, +2.5=55, +3=57

Hi Cathy,

The feeder if you have 2 kitties would be a challenge. Rex is also a hoover! He will eat anything (except Tiki Cat).

Oh, you might be able to ask Marje. She has all kinds of great ideas!

Rich :)
 
Re: 3/20 Sweetie AMPS=184, PMPS=71, +2=56, +2.5=55, +3=57

Hi Marje,

Yes I feel fine - I'm just following what I think you would advise me to do based on Monday night :smile: . I'm off to do another 30 min check - I didn't feed after that last test because I wanted to see what would happen while the insulin is still active, but I don't want to wait too long just in case. I'll update my numbers again very soon.
 
Re: 3/20 Sweetie PMPS=71, +2=56, +2.5=55, +3=57, +3.75=46

OK, now he dropped below 50 for the first time: @+3.75=46

I gave him 2tsp of HC FF gravy lovers right away - figured that while the LC was keeping him flat he should have a little more of boost this time. Marje, what would you have suggested??? [Edit: oops - just reread the low numbers and that 1tsp of HC is recommended.] This is his first taste of gravy lovers. I assume I'll test again shortly - in 20 min this time?

Also, do I reduce by .25u in the AM or wait another cycle or ??
 
Re: 3/20 Sweetie PMPS=71, +2=56, +2.5=55, +3=57, +3.75=46 Do

Hi Cathy, you got it right. Feed the gravy and test in 20-30 minutes and post again. That's about how long it takes the food to take effect.

For the new dose, it depends how he is in the morning. If he decides to bounce sky high, you can shoot the old dose for one more cycle to sort of help through the bounce. We call it shooting the bounce. Then the following cycle you'd shoot the new dose.

ETA: You can always take a +11 test tomorrow morning, post it and ask for advice. It's hard to tell right now where he's going to be.
 
Re: 3/20 Sweetie PMPS=71, +2=56, +2.5=55, +3=57, +3.75=46 Do

Thanks Wendy; boy, I just barely have time to read and write a little and it's already time for another test. Good thing I just bought the pkg of 100 test strips!
 
Re: 3/20 Sweetie PMPS=71, +2=56, +2.5=55, +3=57, +3.75=46 Do

Hi Cathy! Another pj party already? :mrgreen: Sweetie is on a mission! Hope you have a great night and are able to get some work done.
 
Re: 3/20 Sweetie PMPS=71, +2=56, +3=57, +3.75=46, +4=57

Yes I'll be testing into the night again but I'm not freaked out now that I know Sweetie is so responsive to food, especially the HC gravy lovers - up 10 points in 20 min from 2tsp.

I'm going to feed him his normal pm LC meal (3oz FF) now and test in an hour. Sound OK to my guides? Or should I check in 30 min instead?
 
Re: 3/20 Sweetie PMPS=71, +2=56, +3=57, +3.75=46, +4=57

Hi Cathy, the Testing and Shooting Low tips say 30 minutes for the 50's until you get him up to the 80's and then hourly. At this point you don't know how long the HC lasts in him and he may wobble back down when it wears off. Good plan on the LC, it would be great to get him to surf here.
 
Re: 3/20 Sweetie PMPS=71, +2=56, +3=57, +3.75=46, +4=57

Cathy

I'm sorry...I had to feed Gracie and Gus.

When they are early in the cycle and in the 50s, I continue to feed small amounts of LC. It's possible that even doing that, he might have dropped down because often when they are ready for a decrease, they let you know.

Sweetie does well with LC. I would have suggested you feed him a 2-3 tsp of it for the 46 to see how he did with it. You just want him to get on the surfboard. In a kitty that responds well to LC, there is no reason to use HC unless they get in the low 40s or 30s. I never use HC food/gravy with Grace. If she gets in the 30s, I might add a drop of karo depending on where she is in the cycle but 10% usually brings her up out of low numbers.

As you get these numbers and cycles, you are learning how he responds :-D one tsp of gravy gave him a pretty good boost.

As Wendy said, he earned a reduction. If he goes up into the high 200s or 300s, shoot through the bounce once with the current dose. If he is still cruising like he has been, take the .25u reduction in the morning.


Good job!
 
Re: 3/20 Sweetie PMPS=71, +2=56, +3=57, +3.75=46, +4=57

From your 3/18 condo:
However....I'd be watching him closely the next few because I wouldn't be surprised if he's going to earn one soon.

Love it when my crystal ball works :lol: :lol: :lol:
 
Re: 3/20 Sweetie PMPS=71, +2=56, +3=57, +3.75=46, +4=57

I so appreciate your advice Marje and everyone! I can see it will take a while before I will really get all of the nuances, and that I really need to learn just exactly how my cat responds to the different foods. Maybe Sweetie is like Gracie and responds too strongly to the HC; well I'll find out tonight for sure!

Man, 30 min sure goes by quickly. Need to put out the garbage, and test again already.
 
Re: 3/20 Sweetie PMPS=71, +2=56, +3=57, +3.75=46, +4=57

We always say here "every cat is different" and "know thy cat".

You are quickly learning both.

The other thing I will pass on is, in a case like tonight where Sweetie earned his reduction and you are tired, you "can" choose to feed a good bit of HC so you can sleep. We call this "aborting the cycle". It's a reasonable tool for new members who are exhausted and the cat has earned a reduction. Might as well get him up and get to bed is the thought.

But...it's up to you.
 
Re: 3/20 Sweetie PMPS=71, +2=56, +3=57, +3.75=46, +4=57, +4.

He's at 63 now. I can keep checking for a while still, and now that I've done the alarm setting one night I know it isn't so bad and I can do it again. I think the 2tsp HC I already fed is all I want to do tonight if I can help it.

I am a mother of 4 kids, and the last 2 were twins with their older sister just 18 months older - I even breast fed all kids so I'm no stranger to a lack of sleep :lol: :lol: :lol: The youngest are now 14 so they can take care of themselves at night while I take care of the cat.

Thanks!!!
 
Re: 3/20 Sweetie PMPS=71, +2=56, +3=57, +3.75=46, +4=57, +4.

I think you can get an hour of sleep. I'd leave some food out for him.

Good job. Ni Ni!

And twins ohmygod_smile with another that close in age! All those diapers :shock: :shock: :shock: :lol:
 
Re: 3/20 Sweetie PMPS=71, +2=56, +3=57, +3.75=46, +4=57, +4.

ooooohhhhh yeeeeeaaaaaaahhhhhh. And they weren't early toilet trainers either.
I don't miss that part at all!

~ Good night ~
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top