3/20 Scooter - AMPS 299, +4 59

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ry & Scooter

Member Since 2011
It's like Scooter heard me complaining about the insulin treatment not doing much and now he's throwing me these crazy low numbers! I don't know if I should be decreasing at this point or not.... he is bottoming out really early in the cycle and I've been having to give him a bit of carbs to help him surf. I know not to decrease if he doesnt go below 50 but my question is, do you decrease if you had to feed them carbs to get away from that less than 50 number?

He was probably dancing on Hypo last night, I was exhausted and Ben had to sleep for an exam today so I gave him some MC food until he was boosted a bit and went to bed... I really think that 299 AMPS was carb induced, maybe a small bounce.

I am going to talk to DCIN about Scooter's dental. He needs it badly and I think it is holding him back from regulation. :sad:
 
Sorry Ry

unless you catch him under 50... :sad:

Hope you can get the dental sorted - but then prepare for no sleep for a bit - check out what Vyktor's been doing lately :smile:

Serryn
 
Sorry I had to edit the first post there. I know now not to decrease unless under 50, but I dont know if that still applies if you feed carbs to bring them up

Vyks SS looks good!! But they keep us on our toes dont they :smile:
 
Generally it still applies, unless you've been having to work really hard at it over an extended period - add DOSE QU to your subject line so one of the wise ones will come past and check out his ss for you.
 
Its okay :) I figured as much, just wanted to make sure. Just sucks cause that means if he does this at night I have to stay up :-|
 
Well well, that 59 is such good number to see but that does drive us beans on our toes! Sometimes I dont know whether I love to see the blue & green or those suspicious purples :?
 
Maybe I should complain like that :lol:

Maybe, next time he does earn a dose reduction, you could ask if just shaving a little off would be better and go to a f2.50. Just a thought. Good luck with getting his dental done. And remember, all the staying up nights will be worth it as he gets healthier ;-) .

I would test again in 30 minutes from the last test.
 
Hes back up to 99 at +5... must have put a bit too much gravy in the Wellness but now I know for next time :) He got some Wellness without gravy just now. I probably should have tested him every 30 but I got sidetracked playing with him. He loves my homemade cat dancer toy!
 
Scooter!!! U gotz hoam mayd toys???
Ma bean so layzy she jus' mek me chayse Turdie Gurlz!
Binks


Binks was famous for not holding his reducies...so I went with the shave rather than full reduction method for him :-D

catshave2.jpg
 
Yeah last time I reduced his dose it didn't work out so well... went right back up lol

Haha that picture is cute. Scooter is scared half to death by Ben's electric razor :lol: he's generally pretty mellow but the only two things Ive found that scare him him are loud crinkling noises like plastic bags and cracking the ice cube tray... and motors like razors and the vacuum cleaner. I have to lock him in the bathroom when I vacuum :roll:
 
HAHAHA you guys are having too much fun in here!

sad face, ry - gotta see that 49 - but next time you could let him go without propping him up with carbs and see if he gets there.
 
I think I might try a different approach. I'd get a +2 and see where Ry is headed. If it looks like he might have an active cycle because the +2 is lower than PS, I'd start feeding higher carbs. So if you normally feed 4%, experiment with 6 or 8% and try to slow the drop before he gets too low.
 
I feed Special Kitty Select turk & giblets, chicken, and liver and chicken... turkey and chicken are 3% and liver 6% so I could try hanging onto the liver ones for these situations.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top