3/20 Java AMPS 113 Java is finally turning the corner

Status
Not open for further replies.

Steph and Java(GA)

Member Since 2011
last condo

well it has been a rough couple of days for my guy. in a nutshell, he had a dental thursday, came home ok, got some pain meds friday, kind of got wacked out, wouldn't eat, hated his bean, hid in a corner, didn't poop until saturday night, now getting back to normal.

I don't really know what happened. he was eating ok when he came home and the vet said his extractions weren't that bad because the tooth was already partial broken. he was crying out when I would go near his rear end, kind of like he did when he had the bladder obstruction only he was peeing really well. I thought he pooped thursday night but in hindsight it could have been before we left. I gave bupe friday morning as directed and things just went downhill. his blood sugar stayed around 70 which is not bad but he wasn't eating. I was hesitant to give his insulin so we skipped a shot, I just had a bad feeling. The next cycle he was up but he walked right past food so we skipped again. Went back to the vet checked ALT which was 243 on thursday, that came down to 98. She said she couldnt feel any hard stool and he let her palpate his belly without pain. I was completely dumbfounded, it was like an alien took over Java's body. Oh and saturday he also projectile puked again. that is why I had her recheck the ALT, it was very bile-ey. Well I just kept trying to stick food in front of him, we have food dishes all over the house and saturday night, POOP! I never thought I could get so excited about bodily functions. He was still hiding but this morning he came in and crawled up to me and gave me headbutts. My kitty is back.
 
Well so very happy to hear Java is getting back to normal sounds like you two had a rough couple of days very nice amps today :YMHUG: :YMHUG: cat_pet_icon
 
Lisa and Do Lou said:
Well so very happy to hear Java is getting back to normal sounds like you two had a rough couple of days very nice amps today :YMHUG: :YMHUG: cat_pet_icon


thanks lisa, we are very tired in this house. but very relieved...
 
You know -- I forgot that opiates can cause constipation (of course, your vet should have known that!). It's the same reason (slowed gastric/intestinal motility) that you don't want to give too much food after anesthesia. I'd make sure you add as much water as Java will tolerate to his food just to keep things moving!

I'm so glad he's back to himself.
 
I was going to say the same thing as Sienne, yep pain killers cause constipation, but you already got that--
So Happy Java is Back & better--Guess the Dental really DID make a difference in his numbers--WHOO HOOO! :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:
 
yay for both of you! you must be so relieved!

so getting his teeth cleaned can make their blood sugar go down? is that what you're saying?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top