3/20 Felix PMPS 300, +2 417; +4 344

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jenner & Felix

Member Since 2011
Good Morning everyone.

He got his .75units again today. He had quite a drop from the +11 to the AMPS which I'm guessing is hunger? He got a mini meal so he doesn't gorge himself and puck it back up. I'll split it in half hour feeding for him.

Hubby

viewtopic.php?f=9&t=39291
 
Re: 3/20 Felix +11 377 AMPS 280

Good morning guys, Choco and I just wanted to stop by and say hi and have a wonderful Sunday!!! :mrgreen:
 
Re: 3/20 Felix +11 377 AMPS 280

Just a thought... If you see that big of a drop this late in the cycle, I'd re-test to make sure I got an accurate meter reading. I don't think that's just from hunger. You need to know what you're getting into if you shoot a dropping number. I would get an early test or two.
 
Re: 3/20 Felix +11 377 AMPS 280 +2 337

Here's looking for a nice day of good numbers for Felix. You guys are doing fine, and Felix will settle into his dose soon.

Happy springtime!

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 3/20 Felix +11 377 AMPS 280 +2 337 +6 394

Looks like there will be now settling today. Hope to see his numbers come down a couple of colors here soon.

Hubby
 
Re: 3/20 Felix +11 377 AMPS 280 +2 337 +6 394

I hope so, too. That NDW is yuckus!!! Come on Felix...you know how much you like green.

How's Jenner???
 
Re: 3/20 Felix PMPS 300

Hi Everyone! Thanks to Hubby, Jasper & Felix were in good hands this weekend!

So....NDW, huh? We blew threw all those reductions last week, did not pass go, and didn't collect our $200...I know we have to try the .75u dose for 2 or so more days, but I have a feeling that a 1u dose may work better. Will wait & see. ( I have to give you all credit- these in-between doses really aren't fun to figure out)

Any hoo....good to be back & everyone have a great night!
 
Re: 3/20 Felix PMPS 300

Hi Everyone! Thanks to Hubby, Jasper & Felix were in good hands this weekend!

So....NDW, huh? We blew threw all those reductions last week, did not pass go, and didn't collect our $200...I know we have to try the .75u dose for 2 or so more days, but I have a feeling that a 1u dose may work better. Will wait & see. ( I have to give you all credit- these in-between doses really aren't fun to figure out)

Any hoo....good to be back & everyone have a great night!
 
Re: 3/20 Felix PMPS 300, +2 417

Felix's +2 reflects a reg. meal portion (9%) fed at +1. His numbers should come back down by his +4. We're down to one can wet food- so off to the grocery in the a.m. so I don't have to resort to 9%.

Felix use to be on Pred., on-again, off-again, for over a year- which led to his FD diagnosis. The pred. was for a skin irritation that our vet could not diagnose directly. It resembles psorisis and tends to flare up for unknown reasons. His skin has been clear for over four months and he's been off the pred since Dec. About nine days ago, his skin irritation started to present itself again.

I had hoped that changing his diet from dry to all wet would eliminate the skin problems. It hasn't. Does this sound familiar to anyone else?
 
Re: 3/20 Felix PMPS 300, +2 417

If it's a food allergy, just changing to canned food may not eliminate the problem. You would need to switch to a food that is a novel protein -- rabbit are duck are what's typically recommended. EVO makes a low carb variety of canned duck cat food.

Have you taken Felix to see a dermatologist or have they done any kind of biopsy or test to see what this is? I wish I could remember who recently had a cat with a skin problem. You might want to put something in your subject line asking for input on this issue.
 
Re: 3/20 Felix PMPS 300, +2 417

hi there

that mite of been me Sienne - my mom's kitty with the food allergen, but I have seen this come up often enough.

may I suggest a crosspost into the Health forum on your question, plus if you poke around, there are a few threads in there about skin issues.
type in the topic in the "search" box to do a thread search for that topic.

my mom has a kitty (non diabetic) that was on dry for a while, and back on wet food recently due to constant scratching (no fleas, thank goodness) but the food change to wet has helped.
I've heard it can be an environmental issue too, with skin problems. take a peek in health when you have a chance,
 
Re: 3/20 Felix PMPS 300, +2 417

Check with Christie....Willie had a skin problem and he's getting cyclosporine. Gracie gets an inflammation around her eyelids that they usually treat with steroids but she is also a steroid-induced FD so we put cyclosporine ointment in her eyes for her eyelids.

Yup....if he's still doing this after six cycles, I might think about taking him up a tad.
 
Ronnie: Good suggestion going to the Health Forum...I'll do some poking around. I'll also ask Christie about some skin stuff, too!

Sienne- no, we haven't taken him to a dermatologist...you mean a bean dermatologist? or a vet derma? Our vet did a smear on slides and it came back neg. for anything that smears and slides would show. That's when the pred. came into play and seemed to help. The other side affect of this skin thing is that he licks his belly raw- sometimes as an OCD thing, sometimes to soothe- again, OCD, and sometimes when his IBD flares (i think). The belly-licking is an on-going thing- which now presents no barriers for fur shots (small favors I guess)...will think about Evo.

Marjorie/ Sienne: I have two thoughts on Felix's numbers. ONE: Our insulin, the vial, is now on day 35. I know lots of you use beyond the 28 days. How far, I don't know. Its not cloudy & it has no floaties. TWO: we haven't found that perfect dose yet for him to settle into since all the reductions. I don't want to get new insulin AND increase the dose. So...I think I'll try to get a new script tomorrow for the solar star pens (new for us) and stay at the .75u. If I'm able to get new insulin for tomorrow night's dose, then I will keep him on that for another six cycles- unless his numbers are really high and experienced eyes suggest that I don't need to wait six more cycles with the new insulin.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top