3/20 Eeyore AMPS=451 +3=277 +6=267 +10=388 PMPS=427 +6=172

Status
Not open for further replies.

Michele and Esse

Very Active Member
Daily Digest:
AMPS= 451. Evo out for breakfast, 1.5U shot.
+3=277
+4 - +7: at the vet. No emergency...
+6=267
+10=388
PMPS=427
+6=172. WOW, Eeyore, just wow. YAY!!!
**************************************
Yesterday's condo: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=9597

Morning, LL!

Eeyore is a bit high this morning, but...I started the 1.5 last night, so it will take some time to fill the shed. WCR: at the moment, sitting in my lap, making biscuits on my arm, purring. Bless his sweet heart. We will be hitting the vet's at 2...so will have a more complete picture then. As for WCR, he's still showing all s/s of clinical diabetes, but I have great hope that we will see some better numbers with this new dose.

Hope everyone has a great day!

Best-
Michele
 
Re: 3/20 Eeyore AMPS=451 +3=277

Sienne, hopefully this weekend...I have some video footage, but haven't gotten around to loading it to pb...

Patricia, he's now at 277...I'm lovin' it! Got a huge giggle, as he's now lower than Esse ('cause of her wild ride yesterday). Sat there in the kitchen giggling. LOL.

Best-
Michele
 
Re: 3/20 Eeyore AMPS=451 +3=277 At the vet (no emergency)

Just wanted to post that Eeyore is at the vet; they wanted to do a urine culture...but...miracles of miracles, he's empty. LOL. So they gave him some subq's and will keep him there until we get some urine...this cat, who pees constantly, had no urine to give to them. ROFL.

Best-
Michele
 
Re: 3/20 Eeyore AMPS=451 +3=277 +6=267

Eeyore's home! He's such a dear kitty. Hates the carrier, hates the car, and thinks everything outside is evil. He told me so.

The exam itself went very well; at one point, he even laid over and let the vet rub his belly...purred and made biscuits on my chest while she poked and prodded him. He had blood work for frucosamine, thyroid, and general 'lyte panels. Fecal for other things (parasites and liver/digestion), and urine for general 'lytes as well. She thought it best to do thyroid because he has a grade 3-4 heart murmur, but that could be stress related since I didn't hear it last week. He does have a slightly enlarged liver, but that could be from the diabetes, so we're just ruling out some liver issues. FIV/L negative. Skin good, eyes clear, ears clear. neutered male (but we already knew that), and just "a really good example of a Maine Coon, although quite underweight." Weighed in at 8 lb 4 oz, and should be somewhere around 14-15 pounds according to his build (she agreed: he's a linebacker.).

When she asked me what I was doing for his diabetes, I told her "well, I put him on Lantus 1 u, and then brought it to 1.25 u. Feeding wellness/evo. And brought him to 1.5U last night." She laughed, said "why are you even here? That's exactly what I'd've done." So we are to go 1.5 units for 3-5 days, and if needed, bring him up to 1.75 or 2U at that time (she knows the protocol).

And, the best part...I brought in his Relion meter, and had her test it side by side with the Alpha Track. She had been continuing to push me to the AT, but I asked her to give a side by side, and see what that showed. Lo and behold...the AT ran lower...10-15 points (they repeated the test twice). So when I picked him up, I brought in Esse's meter (UOT), and they did it again - side by side, again, it came in within 10 points. She had nothing more to say. LOL. She was surprised, but now she has some data to look at, and understands that while there is a variance, it's too small to count. This bodes well for other owners, I think, that she teaches. I'm sure she'll still recommend the Alpha track, but...well...the door is open for other, less expensive meters.

And I got the records from the vetting last October. I haven't had a chance to read them yet, but it still gives us a good baseline to go from.

Everyone at my vet today decided that Eeyore was lucky to land in my lap. I say "I'm the lucky one...".

Best-
Michele
 
Re: 3/20 Eeyore AMPS=451 +3=277 +6=267

good for Eeyore. :smile: And he's giving you lots of yellow today too, good boy.
 
Re: 3/20 Eeyore AMPS=451 +3=277 +6=267 +10=388

He's well into the stinky pinks, but that's all right, he's had a rough day, you know?

And I can't help but be very, very angry at the earlier owners...he was not a stray that they found at death's door to take in and care for...no. He'd been theirs for 5 years. Got a horrible infection in October, sent him into DKA, and early kidney failure. At least they treated that. But it obviously became hard to do the day-to-day stuff, so they gave him up. And lied about things. I mean, fine, if you need to give him up, if the treatment is too hard for your lifestyle, fine. But don't lie and say you "found him like this"...

Sorry. I'm just pretty ticked off. The other vets did a wonderful job of getting him back to decent sugars and treating the kidney issues/liver issues/infection, but shoot. Don't lie. It wouldn't have changed me taking him, you know? It just wouldn't have.

Grrrrrrrrrrrrrr.

Sigh.

Best-
Michele
 
Re: 3/20 Eeyore AMPS=451 +3=277 +6=267 +10=388

cool stuff to learn about the side by side meter test and good to know the vet knows the protocol. Sounds like everyone is in the right hands here. Glad to hear it for Eeyore.
Patricia
 
Re: 3/20 Eeyore AMPS=451 +3=277 +6=267 +10=388

You are doing a fabulous job for the future linebacker. I can't wait to see his pics after you've beefed him up a bit. He's very pretty now and with a little more weight he's gonna be even better. Your vet seems really good - you're lucky!
 
Re: 3/20 Eeyore AMPS=451 +3=277 PMPS 427 +6=172

Traci and Boomer said:
You are doing a fabulous job for the future linebacker. I can't wait to see his pics after you've beefed him up a bit. He's very pretty now and with a little more weight he's gonna be even better. Your vet seems really good - you're lucky!
It's not just luck (although there is that element). She has "tested" me, and questioned me a lot about my understanding of diabetes and how I've set up the treatment plan at home. She is the third vet I've seen since Esse was diagnosed, and I nearly took the heads off the other two...but this one respects me, teaches me what I don't know, and listens when I do something...and since I've always had a reason to do it, and could back it up, she is content to let me work it how I can. And we can talk like colleagues, which is definitely a plus...

And she is also familiar with the Tilly Protocol, and knows I've got this board to come to.

So yes, there's luck...but there's also been some earning of respect (on both ends), and a lot of listening (again, both ends). And I can't wait until Monday to hear what she has to say about the AT being very close (and higher...ahem...) than my meters. ROFL...I probably won't get "you have to get the AT..." again, at least not for a while. LOLOL.

Tee hee, we've got blue tonight...we've got blue!! YAY Eeyore!!!
 
OMG! Congrats on the blue! Looks like you've got the right dose.

It's great that you found a respectful vet. I like mine, she's very caring. I don't think it goes to the level of respect though - but I've not given her a try since I've got this board. He was diagnosed in November and I've done everything on my own since. At some point I'll have to go back because his teeth are nasty. I've mailed her my SS which I think was a BIG shock and I think it'll lead to her giving me some respect. We'll see!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top