3/20 Disco AMPS 395/+3.25 270/+6 304/+11 204/PMPS 177/+2 183, Neuropathy?

Teri & Disco NoFurNo (GA)

Member Since 2019
Yesterday 3/19: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...-5-263-pmps-185-1-75-262.227243/#post-2545329

I recall reading somewhere, on a sticky maybe (found it http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/new-dose-wonkiness-ndw-and-failed-reductions.46012/) that in some cats, an dose increase will make the BG rise. ""Many cats will occasionally react to an increased dose with increased BGs - within the first 2 to 3 days after an increase, usually lasting for less than 24 hours. Nobody really knows what the reason for this phenomenon is (perhaps a "panicky liver"?) - hold the dose and ignore the fluctuations." Seems like that's where we are right now. Or, as someone else suggested, the inflammation from Disco's arthritis and current increased lameness could do that, too.

Disco had his vet visit yesterday, and as the clinic was following the AVMA COVID-19 protocol, I waited outside in my car while a tech took Disco inside, then his vet called me and we reviewed his history and what tests I wanted and the exam and blood draw and x-rays were done.

The vet will be out of the office until Monday, so I won't get the results til then, but one of the things she noticed on his exam was that he was exhibiting plantigrade stance with his hindquarters, something I had noticed recently also, but thought it might be due to the fact that he was painful on his forelimbs and trying to shift the weight to the hindquarters. She said he seems to be walking normally except for the limping but when he stops, he starts to sit in that plantigrade position and I noticed that mostly when he is drinking or eating.

I’ve attached some photos of him doing this, and have done some reading on diabetic neuropathy from FDMB links and read about Zobaline http://www.ilifelink.com/zobaline-for_diabetic_cats-3_mg_x_60_tablets.html and will consider trying that if Disco doesn't improve when/if his lameness improves.
 

Attachments

  • C618D07E-3786-41BD-830D-536D9D604C36.jpeg
    C618D07E-3786-41BD-830D-536D9D604C36.jpeg
    58 KB · Views: 58
  • 9507C39A-83B8-4F6C-BA9C-559CD354458D.jpeg
    9507C39A-83B8-4F6C-BA9C-559CD354458D.jpeg
    107 KB · Views: 64
  • 81A2C3E0-7502-4C3F-84DC-8212808AAC31.jpeg
    81A2C3E0-7502-4C3F-84DC-8212808AAC31.jpeg
    67.1 KB · Views: 67
  • DABF2206-DDAF-4420-8070-B97EB0132D97.jpeg
    DABF2206-DDAF-4420-8070-B97EB0132D97.jpeg
    52.9 KB · Views: 53
Last edited:
Looks like you are ditching the NDW, it usually happens within the first few cycles.

Cats pee out excess B12, should be fine to start him on the zobaline.
OK, what is NDW? It’s not in the glossary, LOL. And do you think the photos look like neuropathy? I was unable to upload a video of him walking, but to me he doesn’t really look like that when he’s walking, but the limp is affecting his movements, for sure.
 
Back
Top