3/20 Daniel AMPS 227 +2 298 Little advice needed.

Status
Not open for further replies.

Kurai & Daniel

Member Since 2011
Ok, I'm am very upset with myself, because I royally messed up yesterday. Since Saturday was the only day I had off I chose to stay up late to go out with my mom. Well I ended up being up for over 24 hours straight and got home maybe an 2 hours before PMPS. I fell asleep. Dead to the world asleep. Don't even know how I woke up at midnight, but knowing my schedule I could not make his shot times for that late, so I chose to simply skip it. I'm still beating myself up about it cause I know I totally messed up the shed, but at least now his shot time is at a more manageable 7.

So anyways, that's not what I need advice about... the shed will get refilled sooner or later. I want to know how often those of you who give multiple meals feed your babies. I want to do main meals at AMPS and PMPS, and a snack at around +2 and +4. A total of 3 fancy feast cans a day (or a mite more since D gets into Kass's food). PM they'd only get a snack at +2. I'm just curious how other people go about it.

Other than my total screw up yesterday, I did get to go get some more low carb treats, as my last bag disappeared. Probably already eaten by my sneaky kitties. Even though I kept it in my room where they aren't allowed. I must have left them out on accident. And I completely pierced Danny's ear on accident yesterday. He didn't flinch but I did, all the blood startled me so badly that I let go of his ear and he flung it. Scared the crap out of me, but he just demanded a treat and went about his business as normal. I don't think he even noticed XD Poor baby. Guess I ought to get him a stud earring before I do that again.

Hope ya'll are doing well today. I'm doing a 12 hour curve today in preparation for going to the vet tomorrow. Though I'm sure his numbers won't be at their best.
 
I feed 4 meals per cycle. There's no magic number of meals nor amounts. Much of the food schedule is based on the individual cat. Gabby tends to have early and big drops. The way I feed is an effort to soften and slow those dramatic plunges. I feed 1/4 of a 3 oz. can at pre-shot and +1 and 1/8th of a can at +2 and +3. That was the easiest way for me to divide up her total of 1.5 cans of food/day.

Basically, this is a process of trial and error. Go ahead and try what you have planned and keep a record on your SS. See how it works over about a 2-week period. If you need to tweek the feeding schedule, then do so and just repeat the process so you can compare your notes.
 
Don't worry , it happens. Just pretend it was a fur shot, the shed won't be completely drained and it should just take a few cycles to get back on track.


There are two reasons for the mini meals, one is to front load to soften the fast drops. The other is more general, small meals are easier on the healing pancreas than one big on. it spreads out the load. So as Sienne said, it depends on you cat and your schedule.
 
he'll get back on track...and Binks would like to suggest an emerald earring, green being the color of choice around here!

celi & binks
 
Thanks for the input guys! I appreciate it.

Alright then Binksy, I'll definately go for green. ;)

Hey, we got a bit lower tonight before I had to leave for work, not quite green but not bad either. Plus my mom actually managed to get a BG reading this time. Good going! I got a full curve done today :3
 
Hey, Daniel! I don't think I have posted on your condo before but I thought I would stop by and say hi. I feed Simon a total of about 2 cans of 5.5 oz food a day. The way I split it up is 1/2 can in the AM, 1/4 at +6, 1 Tbs. or so at +8 (I use an automatic feeder for the middle of the day), 1/2 can at PM, 1/4 at +4 (when I go to bed), and 1 Tbs. or so at +8 (in the automatic feeder). This is about 6 feedings a day which seems like alot, but since I use the automatic feeder, it is not so bad. Simon is 14.5 pounds.

I know the blood thing can be quite scary. Simon does the same thing when I hit a place that bleeds alot -- he slings his head and blood goes everywhere! Also, don't worry about skipping a dose. I beat myself up the first time I did that and Simon's numbers didn't even change because of the skipped shot.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top