3/20 Apache Amps358 ,+6 289,pmps343,+2 289,+4 306,

https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/3-19amps325-2-264-6-312-pmps335-2-310.275455/#post-3056997
Apache just got her shot. .5 ,, if I still see red this cycle. Do I go back to .75???
Good Morning Ric,
With the SLGS dosing method you HOLD this dose for 7 days unless the BG drops under 90. We all have been there seeing higher numbers :bighug: . The phrase 'patience pants' is used quite often here. Apache could be bouncing.
From the sticky:
Bouncing - Bouncing is simply a natural reaction to what the cat's system perceives as a BG value that is "too low". "Too low" is relative. If a cat is used to BGs in the 200's, 300's, or higher for a long time, then even a BG that drops to 150 can trigger a "bounce". Bouncing can also be triggered if the blood glucose drops too low and/or too fast.The pancreas, then the liver, release glucogon, glycogen and counter-regulatory hormones. The end result is a dumping of "sugar" into the bloodstream to save the cat from going hypoglycemic from a perceived low. The action is often referred to as "liver panic" or "panicky liver". *Usually*, a bounce will clear kitty's system within 3 days (6 cycles).
 
Hey Ric, I tried to catch up on previous posts, and perhaps I missed it, but you mentioned to me that Apache only eats the one canned food, so if there isn’t any dry food in the mix, you could follow TR. With TR you wouldn’t need to hold this reduced dose for 7 days like the SLGS dosing method would suggest.
 
Back
Top