? 3/2 Toulouse - AMPS 96 - sick, unsure what to do.

Good Morning!

We had a night in the greens that felt like it was a good thing. Toulouse seemed normal and content. Today when we went to get breakfast started for his insulin. His preshot was 96. Mid breakfast he threw it all up. He isn’t really a get sick kind of cat, so now I’m extra concerned.

We are monitoring and stalling insulin for now. Should I try to force him to get more food in him? Trying to remain calm.
 
I'm glad to read that Toulouse has eaten some more today. I hope he's keeping it down now. He's not used to normal green BG numbers, that often causes cats to feel off until they get used to those numbers again. Neko hid under the bed for her first greens.:rolleyes:

Here is the link to your last post here: https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/2-27-toulouse-pmps-86.298707/ We ask that you include those links so it's easy for people to go back and see what happened previously.

When I read back, I saw that you hadn't really decided on a dosing method yet. Your signature says 2.5U AM and 2U PM based on what the vet suggested, but that's obviously too much insulin. Your spreadsheet says you are following TR but hesitant follow U AM/PM due to lows. What does that mean? We don't customize TR. It is a more aggressive dosing method than SLGS, but it has safety mechanisms built in when followed as written.

You've not been consistent with AM/PM dosing and we find with our dosing methods it's much easier to figure out what to dose when you do give the same dose all the time (unless a reduction is earned or they need an increase). Lantus is a depot style insulin, which is why the dosing methods suggest giving the same dose AM and PM. We do use the nadirs to figure out what dose to give, not preshots.
 
I'm glad to read that Toulouse has eaten some more today. I hope he's keeping it down now. He's not used to normal green BG numbers, that often causes cats to feel off until they get used to those numbers again. Neko hid under the bed for her first greens.:rolleyes:

Here is the link to your last post here: https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/2-27-toulouse-pmps-86.298707/ We ask that you include those links so it's easy for people to go back and see what happened previously.

When I read back, I saw that you hadn't really decided on a dosing method yet. Your signature says 2.5U AM and 2U PM based on what the vet suggested, but that's obviously too much insulin. Your spreadsheet says you are following TR but hesitant follow U AM/PM due to lows. What does that mean? We don't customize TR. It is a more aggressive dosing method than SLGS, but it has safety mechanisms built in when followed as written.

You've not been consistent with AM/PM dosing and we find with our dosing methods it's much easier to figure out what to dose when you do give the same dose all the time (unless a reduction is earned or they need an increase). Lantus is a depot style insulin, which is why the dosing methods suggest giving the same dose AM and PM. We do use the nadirs to figure out what dose to give, not preshots.

hi there :cat:

I appreciate your help! I’m grateful to know that he might be feeling off because he’s in some normal range. That makes total sense. I’ll be sure to add links to previous posts next time!

We have just recently changed from the 2.5u/2u because yes it does seem like it is too much. However, we did slowly work our way to that amount and until we got there hadn’t been seeing positive results. Now I’m in the midst of figuring out how to adjust.

I say I was teetering on the SLGS/TR methods because ideally I’d like to do the TR but since we aren’t shooting the same amount AM/PM and still seeing those low numbers at night I’ve been hesitant to fully be TR. He eats more during his AM cycle than his PM cycle (mostly because he sleeps through the entire night and couldn’t be bothered for a meal at midnight when napping). So that’s part of the reason I think we’ve seen the lower numbers at the lower doses PM cycle.

We were consistent with the dosing amounts up until we got to the 2.5. (we have been sticking with those amounts because we are seeing more blue/green with those amounts and have stayed there due to his neuropathy getting increasingly worse with lower amounts and not seeing many results with the SLGS previously. His blood sugar was just too high for too long and we had to make a change.)

now we are hanging out in the greens which is awesome and also nerve wracking! Regardless we just want our buddy to feel his best. So ideally I’d love to get to the same dose AM/PM just trying to navigate the best way to do so without swinging us around high and low :cat:

Any and all advice welcomed and I cannot thank you enough for taking time to share your experience <3
 
Did you just make a change to the spreadsheet? It seems to have lost some of the colour coding.

If you want to keep shooting the same number AM and PM, you could try 1.5 units and see how that works. Then hold the dose long enough for the depot to build (unless he goes low) and we can then evaluate if he needs to go up in dose. It's always easier to go up in dose than find yourself fighting lower numbers.
 
Back
Top