3/2 Thai - 362 - Lantus timing question

Status
Not open for further replies.

analiese42

Member Since 2011
This is the second day of Lantus use. This mornings blood testing and lantus @ 7:00 am went ok. After reading the post about syringe measurements I believe I did it ok last night and this morning.
I planned on gettting him tonight done at 7:00, and did not make it home until 7:45. Blood testing was not easy tonight, he is not a bleeder nor does he have big veins in his ears to aim for. As I said in my syringe post - I am not too crazy of just giving him lantus without testing. Thus between the trying to get blood and getting frustrated (he was not too happy with me either :oops: :sad: ) I was unable to get a Bg reading and give him lantus until 8:10. His BG was 362. I gave him 1 unit.

Will this affect me being able to give him the lantus at 7:00 am tommorow before I leave for work? Will it be too soon?

Also any secret to handling the syringe before injection. I am afraid i will dispense it before it actually gets in his skin. :oops:
Thank you , I don't know what I would do without this forum to answer my questions and concerns. Thank you my friends!
 
You can safely move a shot time by either 30 min. once a day or 15 min. twice a day. If you move the time by more than that, it will effect the dose. An early shot acts like a dose increase and a late shot acts like a dose decrease.

I hold the syringe by the barrel close to the top. Once I stick, I swing my thumb over the plunger. Practicing on an orange will allow you to become more comfortable.

Also, regarding testing, you don't want to hit the vein. You want to poke between the vein and the edge of the ear. Take a look at this link for a picture of where to poke.
 
WOW thanks! for the reply Once again I felt stupid asking , but within a few minutes I have an answer for both questions, plus a bonus about the ear. All this time I have been trying to hit the veins. I will definately try this tommorow.
I so want to be a sucessful diabetic cat owner!!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top