3/2 Sweetie amps 314, +1 298, +3 231, +5 180: HC treat OK?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sweeties-Mom

Member Since 2013
(Previous Condo added later)
I'm glad that he is now in the blue, but to try to stave off a hard bounce I also gave him 4 HC treats (Pounce) when he tested at 180 @+5. I'll retest in an hour to get an idea about possible effects.

Let me know if any of you experienced folks see a problem with this strategy. I'd like to see him spend more time in the blue, and since I really can only get good curves on the weekend I might have speeded up his increase (yesterday I bumped up to 1.25u) by a day or so just so I can monitor the effect of the increase through this weekend.
 
Re: 3/2 Sweetie amps 314, +1 298, +3 231, +5 180: HC treat O

You did fine to do the increase so that you can see what it does on the weekend when you are home. I usually do the same.

The +5 of 180 was a very safe number, and I would have just given him some low carb regular cat food.

You're doing fine. I hope you see some more blue numbers tomorrow :mrgreen:
 
Re: 3/2 Sweetie amps 314, +1 298, +3 231, +5 180: HC treat O

The idea of doing the curve on the weekend or when you have days off is so that you can see what he does on the days you are not home to monitor and test. He would not get HC treats on the days you are not home (we wouldn't recommend them anyway), so you want to see how low he would go without them when you are not home. I have a feeling I'm talking in circles and not making sense. Sorry if I am.
 
Re: 3/2 Sweetie amps 314, +1 298, +3 231, +5 180: HC treat O

You are right Dyana! I wish I had waited now on that Pounce. The good news is that while his bg did go up to 207 an hour after the HC treats, an hour after that (+7) it is pretty flat at 211. I was afraid of a dip into green followed by a spike up to 400 again.

I'll stick with the regular 100% protein treats for the rest of the weekend's tests.
 
Re: 3/2 Sweetie amps 314, +1 298, +3 231, +5 180: HC treat O

Sweetie's a lucky girl to have a mom like you. Good job!!
 
Re: 3/2 Sweetie amps 314, +1 298, +3 231, +5 180: HC treat O

Sweeties-Mom said:
You are right Dyana! I wish I had waited now on that Pounce. The good news is that while his bg did go up to 207 an hour after the HC treats, an hour after that (+7) it is pretty flat at 211. I was afraid of a dip into green followed by a spike up to 400 again.

I'll stick with the regular 100% protein treats for the rest of the weekend's tests.
I just don't think he was coming down that fast to need anything HC. It looks to me, like he was coming down real nice and slow and would have stayed in the blue range. I do understand that you were unsure. I've done a lot worse than giving a few HC treats before, as I've dumped a can of HC in front of my cat, and then thought about it afterwards :) lol.
You'll get the hang of it. ;-)
 
Re: 3/2 Sweetie amps 314, +1 298, +3 231, +5 180: HC treat O

Is there any way to make a good guess about just how fast would be too fast for Sweetie? (I know I know, ECID, plus they are always changing from day to day ;-) )

It is so helpful to have you and all the others on the board to look over the shoulders of newbies like me and give us great advice! Now I'm wondering just how much to tell my vet on Tuesday when Sweetie is scheduled for a visit so they can do a curve . . . she has not been supportive or encouraging of my home testing and charting so far. I think I will bring in the official articles about Lantus and the protocol and the high rates of remission.
 
Re: 3/2 Sweetie amps 314, +1 298, +3 231, +5 180: HC treat O

My vet was awful about all of it, til I got to the point of I told her I would manage Ruben's FD on my own, Can't tell you what a good feeling it was to tell her he's in remission now :lol: :lol: :lol:
She would of had him on 1u bid and would have hypo's him if no for here.
((((FDMB)))))
You seem to have catched on really quick, good job. Lucky sweetie
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top