3/2 Nacho AMPS 32

Status
Not open for further replies.
A good idea to test when you get home. Don't be alarmed if he's high. Between the skipped shot and him being that low this morning a bounce is likely coming too.
 
Wow! That is some way to earn a reduction. :eek: His new dose is 1.0 unit.

Since you skipped the AM shot, you could shoot a little bit earlier tonight if you wanted.

And yes, autofeeders are great to help keep kitty safe.
 
Wow! That is some way to earn a reduction. :eek: His new dose is 1.0 unit.

Since you skipped the AM shot, you could shoot a little bit earlier tonight if you wanted.

And yes, autofeeders are great to help keep kitty safe.

Ok thank you! I will be home in about 2 or 2 1/2 hours and will test and post! Yes I was like whoa!
 
Wow! That is some way to earn a reduction. :eek: His new dose is 1.0 unit.

Since you skipped the AM shot, you could shoot a little bit earlier tonight if you wanted.

And yes, autofeeders are great to help keep kitty safe.

What type of food would go in an autofeeder? Since we are not supposed to use dry food? Thank you!
 
I used the Petsafe 5 feeder with both wet food and raw. There is a little spot below the tray where you can fit a small gel pack. You can buy one specifically for it, but I just got a small soft sided gel pack and folded it to fit. An alternative is to put an ice cube on top of the food. It'll keep it cool and melt to add extra water, which is always a good thing for diabetics.
 
I used the Petsafe 5 feeder with both wet food and raw. There is a little spot below the tray where you can fit a small gel pack. You can buy one specifically for it, but I just got a small soft sided gel pack and folded it to fit. An alternative is to put an ice cube on top of the food. It'll keep it cool and melt to add extra water, which is always a good thing for diabetics.

Great! Is it good to feed him more than just the twice a day if I get and fill this feeder daily? Currently he is eating before i give insulin morning and night (due to FT job) then some snacks in the evening later on. Is there a better feeding schedule I should use?
 
It's supposed to be easier on the healing pancreas to have several smaller meals, not overload it all at once. You can try spreading his food out a bit, mostly in the first half of the cycle before nadir. You might have to experiment, but maybe a +3 meal too? That's around insulin onset and will give the insulin a little extra carbs to work with. Some people also put a little food in there for just before nadir time, especially if they will be away and are worried kitty might go lower then.
 
Thank you!

Just got home and did what would have been a +6 and he is at 285.

Should I give evening insulin/food earlier tonight?
 
We used the Petsafe 5 feeder also. I programmed it to offer a little food at +1.5, +3 and +5. If Leo was going to tank on numbers, it generally happened quickly, so that would help him surf, and the sound of the feeder rotating would get his attention to "remind" him that food was available. That feeder is also great because you can program the last "feeding" to be empty so all food is removed 2 hours prior to PS.
 
Nacho PMPS 305 - gave 1 unit instead of 1.25 based on recommendations above. Guess he had a bounce back up - we will see!

Should I do a curve on Sunday to see how he evens out? Or Saturday? Thank you!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top