3/2 Milo PMPS 288 +3 318 +5 338 He's in his bouncy house

Status
Not open for further replies.

milosmommy

Member Since 2009
Milo yesterday

Higher preshot than past few days. This is fourth cycle on 3.75U. Hopefully we can find the magic dose soon. We are getting better numbers than we had been which is encouraging.

Milo enjoyed some scrambled eggs for breakfast. I am not got to test until +3 since that is usually the earliest we swe any movement.

Once again thanks for all the encouragement, support and help.
 
Oh my!
He surprised me with 77 at +5.5.
Dropped 200 in 1.5 hours.
I will really watch as nadir isn't until +7 or +8.
If needed I have food with gravy.
 
WOOT! :D:D

I'd give him a couple tsp of low carb food to encourage a surf. He's also dropping quite quickly, so I wouldn't wait more than an hour to test again. So happy to see this!:):)
 
Meredith, I would also get a second test. Whenever I see a HUGE drop like that I first assume that it is a bad strip, but if the second test shows a similar number then it is good. I definitely agree with Wendy, I would test again in 30-60 minutes after a few teaspoons of low carb food.
 
Wonder if bad strips. I just opened new package this AM. Tested the 174 twice. Checked myself too. These are the generic for the confirm. Hope he goes down. ..
 
That spike at +7 could also be a bounce, Milo hasn't seen anything close to GREEN until today so that is the first thing I think, especially since you had two readings that were almost the same. I would assume a bad strip or not enough blood sample if I get the reading once, but if I get a similar reading twice then I think you can assume that the strips are probably fine.
 
Last edited:
Milo and I were having quiet time. Phone rang and it was vet. He was just checking up on Milo to see how he was doing on Levemir. I had been meaning to send SS to him. I quickly told him how we were doing. He was happy. I was very impressed that he called since it's been 6 weeks since we started. I really love my vet.
 
Today we completed 6th cycle on 3.75U. We are following TR. Should I increase to 4U or hold this for another day (2 more cycles)?

If he follows normal pattern he will bounce from low this AM, that is if number was truly 77.

THANKS
 
I am not 100% sure but based on the protocol it looks like you could increase after 6 cycles, but I don't know if Milo would fall in the "new to numbers under 200", I don't know what the rule is on that.

Increasing the dose:
  • Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose by 0.25 unit.
    • if your cat is new to numbers under 200, it is recommended to hold the dose for at least 8-10 cycles before increasing.
    • when your cat starts to see nadirs under 100, hold the dose for at least 10 cycles before increasing.
 
After his +5 reading I know that he is bouncing. Know it takes a couple cycles to clear. Plan on holding 3.75U through tomorrow. Cycle 8 on 3.75U will be Wednesday so I'll revisit dosecrease then.

I'll check at +7 or +7.5 just to swe where he is.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top