3/2 Java PMPS 296 nanner video

Status
Not open for further replies.

Steph and Java(GA)

Member Since 2011
yesterday

So I was going to increase to 1.75u from 1.5u last night based on advice I had been given here. I wanted to give my vet a chance to chime in because I am trying not to overstep and he has been very open to learning a lot with me in this process. He really wanted me to have a wt check and fructosamine before we up the dose based on the cliff diving Java did on the 22nd. So I gave the 1.5 last night and this morning and took him in today. His wt was up a bit which is good and his fructosamine was 252. On 1/28 his fructosamine was like 520? So he wants me to wait until he talks to me tomorrow before we up the dose, he thinks it is stable and he is not concerned about the spikes but I am. I didn't talk to him today because he is off and the clinic tracked him down for me. What should I do?

Oh and by the way, my cat smells like nanners!


[youtube]RzyWyarMm2s[/youtube]
 
Re: 3/2 Java AMPS 419 +7.5 335 need dosing advice

Ok, let me preface this by saying that I don't trash vets, I honestly think that they usually have the best interests of their clients in mind when they give FD advice. However, they usually are quite happy to see their client's BG much higher than what we strive for here. They don't like low numbers, because they worry about liability. Most of their clients don't hometest and don't know how to manage low numbers like we do...so it's safer to have them run higher. They also don't see too many cats go OTJ....we do.

Fructosamine tests are an average of BG over the last few weeks. You have much better information on your SS than a fructosamine test can give you or your vet at this point...honestly, fructosamine tests are a waste of money if you are home testing. When I took my SS to my vet, she flat out said that there was no point in doing a fructosamine test. The reason the fructosamine test result is so good now is that you were seeing some lower numbers for a while...but that was several days ago. If you don't raise the dose, and do another fructosamine test in a week or two, you will see very different results.

If you look at your SS, you can see that his overall numbers are rising, not stable. That low cycle is ancient history at this point. The longer you hold off increasing, the more comfortable Java will get with those higher numbers, and harder it will be to bring him down. It really isn't helpful to hold doses for a long time when you are not seeing good numbers, it just makes it harder and takes more insulin to bring those numbers down.

With all of that said, I completely understand the wish to have your vet on board. Maybe if you take the published protocol to your vet, it will help him understand what you are trying to do and get him to support you.
 
Re: 3/2 Java AMPS 419 +7.5 335 need dosing advice

Thanks Laurie, I really appreciate it. My gut tells me to listen to you guys but my vet has been very good to us and I am walking a fine line. I guess I will decide tonight at PMPS, if it isn't too bad maybe I can wait one more day.
 
Re: 3/2 Java AMPS 419 +7.5 335 need dosing advice

Steph, one more day is not a big deal, if you want to hold off and talk to your vet first, that's fine! I certainly don't want you to feel pressured to do something you are not comfortable doing, ok? I'm just telling you what I know to help you as best I can.
 
Re: 3/2 Java AMPS 419 +7.5 335 need dosing advice

Laurie and Mr Tinkles said:
Steph, one more day is not a big deal, if you want to hold off and talk to your vet first, that's fine! I certainly don't want you to feel pressured to do something you are not comfortable doing, ok? I'm just telling you what I know to help you as best I can.

Oh no I didn't take it that way at all. My conflict is from myself because I really like what I have read here the last month or so and I feel in my gut that I should just follow what you all say. You weren't pressuring me at all and I really appreciate the advice. My vet is a sweetheart and he has been so open about reading what I send him, I just am tormented between not stepping on his toes and doing the best thing for my cat. Based on my SS if you were me, would you go another .25 or .50 no matter whether we do it tonight or wait until tomorrow? I was just re-reading the protocol and based on his numbers it almost seems we should bump up a half.
 
Re: 3/2 Java AMPS 419 +7.5 335 need dosing advice

Good, I'm glad you don't feel pressured, that's the last thing I want.

I would increase by 0.25u. His nadirs are over 200 but under 300, so that calls for a 0.25u increase.

Increasing the dose...

Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose.
After 3 consecutive days (6 cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300 increase the dose by 0.25 unit.
After 3 consecutive days (6 cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 300 increase the dose by 0.5 unit.
 
Re: 3/2 Java AMPS 419 +7.5 335 need dosing advice

Hi Steph! It's a fine line when you just start out and you don't know who to listen to! I remember having those feelings as well (and still do sometimes...). You think "this is what vets DO, they should know best". I have found that's definitely not the case. My vet is great too, but I have found they aren't feline diabetes specialists! They would still have me on dry D/M, blind dosing and giving 5u/day!!! I'm so happy I found these internet sites early in the game. It's a leap of faith to trust people you've never met, but it's soooooo worth it. Hopefully by sharing the info that you learn here, you can teach your vet something too. My vet partners with me and we both share info that we learn.

The sooner you get him regulated, the better chance you have of getting Java OTJ! Believe me, it's the greatest feeling in the world when it happens!! All your sleepless nights, worrying and care-taking are SOOO worth it!

Hang in there! You're doing great! :-D
 
Re: 3/2 Java AMPS 419 +7.5 335 need dosing advice

pistull said:
Hi Steph! It's a fine line when you just start out and you don't know who to listen to! I remember having those feelings as well (and still do sometimes...). You think "this is what vets DO, they should know best". I have found that's definitely not the case. My vet is great too, but I have found they aren't feline diabetes specialists! They would still have me on dry D/M, blind dosing and giving 5u/day!!! I'm so happy I found these internet sites early in the game. It's a leap of faith to trust people you've never met, but it's soooooo worth it. Hopefully by sharing the info that you learn here, you can teach your vet something too. My vet partners with me and we both share info that we learn.

The sooner you get him regulated, the better chance you have of getting Java OTJ! Believe me, it's the greatest feeling in the world when it happens!! All your sleepless nights, worrying and care-taking are SOOO worth it!

Hang in there! You're doing great! :-D

Thanks Lori! you are so right about the fine line and I feel like I have been straddling it for a month! LOL! BTW I am originally from MPLS, mom and dad grew up in champlin and anoka, I was born in coon rapids. Nice to meet a fellow midwesterner. Have you been following our little upset here in Madison?
 
Re: 3/2 Java AMPS 419 +7.5 335 need dosing advice

I agree with everything Laurie said. I adore my vet. I'm sure I'm a pain in her neck because I can access medical and vet journals and we do have some lively discussions. She also abandoned fructosamine tests and asking me to have her run curves. She saw our SS and declared both irrelevant. She also knows that I can manage dosing issues without her looking over my shoulder.

That said, I think it's important to have a vet who's a partner in the process. You might want to give your vet the link to the FDMB website. There's a huge volume of information here that may make it easier for him to get information to other people with a diabetic cat. It's also a way for him to get comfortable with what we do.
 
Re: 3/2 Java AMPS 419 +7.5 335 need dosing advice

Sienne and Gabby said:
I agree with everything Laurie said. I adore my vet. I'm sure I'm a pain in her neck because I can access medical and vet journals and we do have some lively discussions. She also abandoned fructosamine tests and asking me to have her run curves. She saw our SS and declared both irrelevant. She also knows that I can manage dosing issues without her looking over my shoulder.

That said, I think it's important to have a vet who's a partner in the process. You might want to give your vet the link to the FDMB website. There's a huge volume of information here that may make it easier for him to get information to other people with a diabetic cat. It's also a way for him to get comfortable with what we do.


That's a great idea to give him the link. I printed the food charts and Dr. Lisa's article about nutrition and he was very receptive. He probably would have brought Java in sooner but he liked what he saw on the SS(Thanks to all who helped me understand that and set it up!)so when he wanted to do a fructosamine I thought it was ok. He really is one of the good guys and I want him to help me but the bottom line is Java is my cat and if I fell that he isn't getting the best care, I will definitely find a different vet. But so far I love these people and they have taken care of my babies for years. I drive across town for them so I guess I feel comfortable with the care.

I really appreciate all the support and information I have gotten here. I can't really say that enough, you have all been wonderful!
 
Karrie and Maverick said:
OMG I LOVED the nanner video!!! Are they new to them or have you had them for a while?

It is hilarious to see them with their Nanners!

Karrie we just got them yesterday! I never heard of them until I found you guys!
 
mybuddybinks said:
hi, guys...you look like you're going to have a Nanner addict on your hands!

They are huge addicts already. Java came over for a cuddle today and his neck was right in my face and all I could smell was NANNERS!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top