3/2 Harley AMPS 140 PMPS 125

Status
Not open for further replies.

Laura and Harley (GA)

Very Active Member
Continued from yesterday's thread: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=24&t=37846&p=400508#p400508

AMPS=140
Gave a skinny 0.20

Last night was a good night! Harley surfed the greens for a few hours, with a little paw holding from his worried mama bean (whose paws in turn were held by Sue - thank you Sue!) before heading back up at about +6.

Since I can't be with him this morning during the +2-4 roller coaster, I'm trying a little experiment: I gave him some Friskies Poultry Platter for breakfast which is 7-8% carbs. according to Janet & Binky's charts with the thought that maybe the extra carbs. would help him slide down the curve a little more gradually. Up til now I've been feeding him Fancy Feast Gourmet Chicken which is about 4% carbs. and Chopped Grill which is about 2% carbs. and the Blue Wilderness (which he is not a fan of) that is 1-2% carbs.

Just before I left for work at almost +2, I tested him and got 135. So far so good.

Curious to see what kind of a +6 number I come home to. And for lunch I'll go back to the FF low carb.

This will be interesting...
 
Re: 3/2 Harley AMPS 140

Thanks Judy! The ratio of higher carb. and lower carb. food and perhaps even the insulin dose would need some tinkering in order to get the numbers down where we want it. I'd like to see him glide down and surf the greens safely - and mama bean not worried out of her mind while at work.

I also need to try Joanna suggestion about testing, feeding, holding the shot and then testing to see if Mr. P. brings the BG down on its own. But I can only do that at night or on the weekend. :YMSIGH:
 
Re: 3/2 Harley AMPS 140

Looking good! I second gliding, safe surfing, and less worries for the mama bean.
 
Re: 3/2 Harley AMPS 140

To test for a working pancreas it is not necessary to have a lot of time. You just need to test, feed, and then test again about a half hour later. If the BG goes down, BINGO!-- you have hit gold (or whatever color a working pancreas is).
 
Re: 3/2 Harley AMPS 140

judy and squamee(GA) said:
To test for a working pancreas it is not necessary to have a lot of time. You just need to test, feed, and then test again about a half hour later. If the BG goes down, BINGO!-- you have hit gold (or whatever color a working pancreas is).

I guess I was thinking that it would put my shot time back if I still had to give it but then its not like I can't make up that little bit of time. Never mind, fatigue brain has arrived.

PMPS=125

I tested at 5:55 p.m., he ate at 6 p.m. and I'll test again in about 15 min. to see what happens. 10 fingers, 10 toes, 8 paws 2 tails and 2 eyes crossed. :lol:
 
Thanks for the crossed paws and tails Donna, Asher & Alby, oh yes, and Tom too.

judy and squamee(GA) said:
I might wait a little longer than that--20 or 30 min?

Ah, there goes that fur brain of mine again - I should have just said "at 6:30." ohmygod_smile
Yes, total time elapsed was about 30 min.

+12.5=134
 
I'm still a newbie so this is just a thought. When Max was just starting to go OTJ, he took a little longer to come down on his own after a meal, more like an hour, but he would come down. I know...30 min vs 60 min...not a big difference. Max may have been a slow digester. Paws and tails crossed!
 
Yes, I did that dose last night and this morning. I'll give him a bite or two of the Friskies 8% carb. food when I give the shot just to make sure he won't dive bomb at +3.

This should be interesting...
 
I like the idea of the higher lower carb (HLC? LOL) early in the cycle, then switch to lower lower carb. That's what Hilary & Maui did at Blue's Boot Camp*, and he went OTJ, yay! Hope it works for you guys! He is tricky b/c he is definitely surfing in blues, but then either not hitting greens, or dropping like a rock to them like last night nailbite_smile. Makes it hard to figure out dosing - can't raise, don't really want to lower either. Hmmmm. Well the good news is his #s are so good overall, yay!

* Of Alexia & Blue - not sure if their SS would be of help to look at, but they are in the Recent Remissions thread if you are interested.
 
Yeah, he sure keeps me on my toes. nailbite_smile He's 87 at +2 tonight but I just fed him the rest of his dinner 2-3 tsp mix of FF chicken and Friskies. That should keep him safe but I'll watch him to be sure. This is actually what he does on his own - eat 1/2 his meal at meal time and save 1/2 for these drops. Smart cat.

Thanks for the tip about Alexia & Blue. I'd be curious to see how they did with the HLC food and how they got OTJ.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top