3/2 DC PMPS=313(R+3) +1=317(R+4) +2=340 +3=347 +10=371

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 3/2 DC AMPS=392

I heard back from the vet regarding DC's antibiotic.
She still hasn't heard back from the manufacturer.
Looking at DC's BG's since he started the antibiotic, she wants me to bring the current one back.
She's going to give me a different one in pill form.
Hopefully this will help lower his numbers.
 
Re: 3/2 DC AMPS=392

my goodness, Noreen...I missed this.
hoping that the AB change will get him back to "DC-like" numbers...

celi
 
Re: 3/2 DC AMPS=392

Is anyone familiar with "R" insulin?
The vet is suggesting I give DC 2 units of "R" when I get home from picking up the new antibiotic.
I've never used it and am not familiar with it.
That seems like a lot for a cat that only weighs 4.8kg or 10 pounds 9 ounces.
Any feedback would be appreciated.
I will check my posts when I get to the vet on my cell phone.
I'm not sure if I can reply that way though.
 
Re: 3/2 DC AMPS=392 Question

Noreen:

That is a HUGE amount of "R". If you look at some of the acro cats, they are giving small amounts....like .1 or .25u of "R". I've asked for some more experienced eyes with the use of "R" to give
you some thoughts. I would suggest you hold off on the "R" until we can get Sandy's or Libby's input....they've both used it and typically help the acro kitties caregivers with it.

Sending DC healing vines....
 
Re: 3/2 DC AMPS=392 Question

The vet is suggesting I give DC 2 units of "R" when I get home from picking up the new antibiotic.
Absolutely, positively NO. R is incredibly powerful. You will OD your cat on 2.0u. The only thing it will accomplish is your rushing DC to the vet for emergency treatment and your helping to buy the vet a new Mercedes with the resulting bills. (Or, you'll become a wealthy woman from suing the vet for malpractice.) Maybe, that much can be given to a cat that's in DKA and is hooked up to IVs that are running dextrose and the cat is being monitored 24/7.

Did I scare you? I hope so. That is a crazy suggestion from your vet.

With a cat that is a high dose cat, we start curving R use with 0.1u. It may then be increased to 0.25u. It is VERY gradually worked up with constant monitoring. 2.0u of R could be lethal.
 
Re: 3/2 DC AMPS=392 Question

Noreen&DC&Frisky said:
Is anyone familiar with "R" insulin?
The vet is suggesting I give DC 2 units of "R" when I get home from picking up the new antibiotic.
I've never used it and am not familiar with it.

Whoa !
I am familiar with using R and am of the opinion that unless a kitty has a high dose condition (Acro, IAA, ) or is throwing ketones it should be avoided.
Even with an insulin resistant kitty 2u is a big dose and should only be used if all the lower doses have no effect.

I'm not seeing a reason for R here. . .
 
Re: 3/2 DC AMPS=392 Question

:shock: your vet is crazy :shock:

Noreen, your link today back to yesterday isn't working, yesterday's wasn't either. I meant to mention it yesterday but forgot (sorry) I think you have just been forgetting to click on the URL button and put the link between the URL brackets.

Here is yesterday:
http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=65102
 
Re: 3/2 DC AMPS=392 Question

Vyktors Mum said:
:shock: your vet is crazy :shock:

Noreen, your link today back to yesterday isn't working, yesterday's wasn't either. I meant to mention it yesterday but forgot (sorry) I think you have just been forgetting to click on the URL button and put the link between the URL brackets.

Here is yesterday:
http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=65102
Thank you. I think I have the link fixed.
 
Re: 3/2 DC AMPS=392 Question

I was thinking that was a very high amount.
I'm glad I went with my gut and didn't take DC with me, because she probably would have dosed him there and sent us home.
She wanted me to test every 15 minutes for 4 hours.
I have the "R". She didn't charge me for it.
She also gave me a full refund for the amount I paid for the original antibiotic even though it was half gone.
Am I understanding correctly that I shouldn't give any "R" at all?
Or should I give 0.1u?
 
Re: 3/2 DC AMPS=392 Question

Noreen:

We're discussing back channel and we'll let you know. I do know it has to be given at very specific times so as to not coincide with the lantus nadir. Please hold tight and don't give any until we get back to you.
Also glad you did not take him!
 
Re: 3/2 DC AMPS=392 Question

Marjorie and Gracie said:
Noreen:

We're discussing back channel and we'll let you know. I do know it has to be given at very specific times so as to not coincide with the lantus nadir. Please hold tight and don't give any until we get back to you.
Also glad you did not take him!
I have about 2 hours until nadir.
He's on a very late shot schedule due to a commitment I have tomorrow evening.
I will be moving his time back 15 minutes per shot starting on Sunday.
 
Re: 3/2 DC AMPS=392 Question

I'm not suprised she didn't charge you since the situation with DC's BG is probably mostly her fault!

I am not an expert in this area but I don't think I would even consider using it before you see what happens with the change in AB. Sandy is certainly suggesting you shouldn't use it at all under these circumstances and she is experienced with R so I would follow her advice.

Hope the change in AB brings him down again.
 
Re: 3/2 DC AMPS=392 +4=342 Question

I do not believe you can give it that close to nadir....that could potentially be very dangerous.

I think unless Sandy or Libby advises otherwise and can help walk you through it, you should take Sandy's suggestion and not use it. They are aware of the situation.
 
Re: 3/2 DC AMPS=392 +4=342 Question

Marjorie and Gracie said:
I do not believe you can give it that close to nadir....that could potentially be very dangerous.

I think unless Sandy or Libby advises otherwise and can help walk you through it, you should take Sandy's suggestion and not use it. They are aware of the situation.
I have 6 hours until I use the AB.
If I am going to use the "R", I wouldn't want to use it until after nadir.
I will be awake for at least 7 or 8 hours after nadir.
 
Re: 3/2 DC AMPS=392 +4=342 Question

Understand about when you might want to use it.

At this point, the best I can tell you right now is to hold off on it's use. Libby will not be able to walk you through it tonight and we haven't heard back
from Sandy. It is not something you should do alone even if you will be up. I know it's hard to see these numbers after his incredible numbers of recent times. But you are a very devoted bean and I
know your first concern is safety.
 
Re: 3/2 DC AMPS=392 +4=342 Question

Marjorie and Gracie said:
Understand about when you might want to use it.

At this point, the best I can tell you right now is to hold off on it's use. Libby will not be able to walk you through it tonight and we haven't heard back
from Sandy. It is not something you should do alone even if you will be up. I know it's hard to see these numbers after his incredible numbers of recent times. But you are a very devoted bean and I
know your first concern is safety.
I appreciate every ones help so much. We wouldn't be where we are today without all of your support.
His safety is always my first concern, which is why I didn't follow the vets advice without posting here first.
I'm ok with holding off on the "R", especially if it will put DC at risk.
Tomorrow I am not able to monitor him closely as I will be in and out for most of the day and gone from his nadir until his PM shot.
 
Re: 3/2 DC AMPS=392 +4=342

Ok....Sandy is going to take another look. Can you please let us know how he's been eating? Is he doing ok in that respect...eating normal amounts at regular times or is he feeling too bad to eat?

eta: I know you said in the first post today that he is eating well but just trying to be sure he continued to eat well today. Thank you!
 
Re: 3/2 DC AMPS=392 +4=342

Hi Noreen,

Can you tell me approx. when onset and nadir are for DC?
Have you ever had to guide low numbers with HC food and if so, does he respond well to HC?
is his appetite OK?

It looks like you are 2 hours behind US east coast time - is that correct? How many hours until PMPS?
 
Re: 3/2 DC AMPS=392 +4=342

Sandy and Black Kitty said:
Hi Noreen,

Can you tell me approx. when onset and nadir are for DC?
Have you ever had to guide low numbers with HC food and if so, does he respond well to HC?
is his appetite OK?

It looks like you are 2 hours behind US east coast time - is that correct? How many hours until PMPS?
Nadir is in 15 minutes at +6 and onset is usually around +1.
He is eating well and regular. His appetite is back to normal.
I am on MST same as Montana.
I always use HC for low numbers and he responds great. I've haven't had to use Karo since I switched to Lantus 1 1/2 years ago.
I did use Karo when he was on Humulin N.
I will test at nadir and post the number in about 15 minutes.
I have 6 hours until PMPS.
 
Re: 3/2 DC AMPS=392 +4=342 +6=349

OK,+6/349.

I'm thinking if the +9 is still pink, you can try 0.1uR a that time.
You will then need to monitor at R+1, R+2, R+3 and R+4.
It may or may not have an effect, but since I've seen kitties that respond to 0.1u, that's the safest place to start.

What do you think?

(I've got to run out for a bit. . .BBL)
 
Re: 3/2 DC AMPS=392 +4=342 +6=349

Sandy and Black Kitty said:
OK,+6/349.

I'm thinking if the +9 is still pink, you can try 0.1uR a that time.
You will then need to monitor at R+1, R+2, R+3 and R+4.
It may or may not have an effect, but since I've seen kitties that respond to 0.1u, that's the safest place to start.

What do you think?

(I've got to run out for a bit. . .BBL)
Thanks. I like that idea.
I will retest at +9 which is just under 2 hours from now.
I will see where his numbers are at that time.
 
Re: 3/2 DC AMPS=392 +4=342 +6=349

Noreen

I'm on MST and Julie is on PST. We can both check in with you. I'll be up at least until midnight with Grace; that should be your +11....right?

So I'll check back in at 10 pm MST which is your +9. Good luck!
 
Re: 3/2 DC AMPS=392 +4=342 +6=349

Marjorie and Gracie said:
Noreen

I'm on MST and Julie is on PST. We can both check in with you. I'll be up at least until midnight with Grace; that should be your +11....right?

So I'll check back in at 10 pm MST which is your +9. Good luck!
That's correct. Thank you very much.
 
Re: 3/2 DC AMPS=392 +4=342 +6=349

hi noreen! i use R on punkin, who has acro, occasionally. i think it's really strong and have found that the very most i ever would consider using on him is .5u - so i'm very very glad people caught the recommendation for 2units before you'd shot it. i only use the .5u under certain circumstances, even.

starting at .1u is a good idea.

i'm in oregon and will be up for at least 3 more hours from now and can stay up later if needed. when we started using the R we also started with .1u and checked every hour. didn't see much from it, but it's best to start there with our little ones.

it's possible that your new AB will bring the infection under control and the numbers down. we don't want a train wreck, so safe is smart!

see you in a while for your +9.
 
Re: 3/2 DC AMPS=392 +4=342 +6=349 +9=349

DC's numbers have been pretty much the same for most of the day.
He's still eating well.
I think I will go ahead with the 0.1u of "R"
 
Re: 3/2 DC AMPS=392 +4=342 +6=349

Noreen&DC&Frisky said:
I will retest at +9 which is just under 2 hours from now.
I will see where his numbers are at that time.

Typical duration for R is 4-ish hours. Testing each hour will let you know onset/nadir/duration, as well as response. ECID
The objective is to set up a nice PS, so when the Lantus onset happens it isn't fighting such high numbers.

Since R does not make a shed, once it's duration comes to an end that's it.
 
Re: 3/2 DC AMPS=392 +4=342 +6=349 +9=349

sandy's the best! :-D

i've missed the earlier discussions about what's going on with DC. last i saw you were shooting a fat 0. do you know what kind of infection is going on? what's the new antibiotic?
 
Re: 3/2 DC AMPS=392 +4=342 +6=349 +9=349

julie & punkin said:
sandy's the best! :-D

i've missed the earlier discussions about what's going on with DC. last i saw you were shooting a fat 0. do you know what kind of infection is going on? what's the new antibiotic?
The vet said it was kind of like a stomach flu, but viral.
The new AB is the same as the other one in pill form (Metronidazole).
The manufacturer told the vet that some of the liquid has saccharin but most has some kind of syrup that is glucose based, but it's supposed to taste salty.
 
Re: 3/2 DC AMPS=392 +4=342 +6=349 +9=349 +10=340 (R+1)

This is the lowest DC has been in the last day and a half.
I hope the numbers keep dropping slowly.
I'm hoping for at least some yellow tomorrow.
The red scares me. He hasn't been red in over a year, with the exception of yesterday.
 
Re: 3/2 DC AMPS=392 +4=342 +6=349 +9=349 +10=340 (R+1)

are you checking for ketones?

I'm gonna call it a night - it's getting early here in the east ;-)
Julie and Marjorie will be around for a while.

Fingers crossed the R will help things out and tomorrow looks better for DC

I-) I-) I-) I-)
 
Re: 3/2 DC AMPS=392 +4=342 +6=349 +9=349 +10=340 (R+1)

Sandy and Black Kitty said:
are you checking for ketones?

I'm gonna call it a night - it's getting early here in the east ;-)
Julie and Marjorie will be around for a while.

Fingers crossed the R will help things out and tomorrow looks better for DC

I-) I-) I-) I-)
I tested for ketones earlier today and yesterday. Nothing.
Thanks for your help and have a good sleep.
 
Re: 3/2 DC AMPS=392 +4=342 +6=349 +9=349 +10=340 (R+1)

i have noticed that R does help bring the number down and then the Lantus cycle kicks in at a lower level and the next cycle is better. it must've been worrisome for you to see DC so high. hopefully this is going to help. :YMHUG:
 
Re: 3/2 DC AMPS=392 +4=342 +6=349 +9=349 +10=340 (R+1)

noreen, i'm falling asleep and am going to have to sign off. you're more skilled than i am, so i trust you'll be fine, it's just nice to have someone there with you if you get scared. but my head keeps bobbing and i'm no good anyway.

you don't have to do a thing unless you get a less than 50, which i sincerely doubt you will!!! then you handle it just like always.

night night!
 
Re: 3/2 DC AMPS=392 +4=342 +6=349 +9=349 +10=340 (R+1)

julie & punkin said:
noreen, i'm falling asleep and am going to have to sign off. you're more skilled than i am, so i trust you'll be fine, it's just nice to have someone there with you if you get scared. but my head keeps bobbing and i'm no good anyway.

you don't have to do a thing unless you get a less than 50, which i sincerely doubt you will!!! then you handle it just like always.

night night!
Thanks for the support. Have a good sleep.
 
Re: 3/2 DC +4=342 +6=349 +9=349 +10=340(R+1) +11=326(R+2)

So far it's a nice real slow drop.
I'm glad it's not overly stressful.
Other than the fact that it's always stressful when your baby isn't feeling well.
I'm comfortable with the drop at least.
 
Re: 3/2 DC +4=342 +6=349 +9=349 +10=340(R+1) +11=326(R+2)

Wonderful. Are you doing ok? Should I stay up for the next test or so? Like Julie said, you are more experienced with low numbers but sometimes the company is nice. Up to you. I'll just sleep and get back up.
 
Re: 3/2 DC +4=342 +6=349 +9=349 +10=340(R+1) +11=326(R+2)

Marjorie and Gracie said:
Wonderful. Are you doing ok? Should I stay up for the next test or so? Like Julie said, you are more experienced with low numbers but sometimes the company is nice. Up to you. I'll just sleep and get back up.
Thanks for being here, it's appreciated.
I can't see a big drop coming.
I think I'll be ok if you want to go to sleep.
I have 40 minutes until his regular insulin shot.
Unless something drastic happens, I will just go ahead and give it to him.
I'll be up for at least another 2 hours.
 
Re: 3/2 DC +4=342 +6=349 +9=349 +10=340(R+1) +11=326(R+2)

Ok....good night. Hope you both get some rest and DC feels better tomorrow.
 
Re: 3/2 DC +4=342 +6=349 +9=349 +10=340(R+1) +11=326(R+2)

I am here Noreen, I can offer moral support :smile: Serryn

How long until R+3
 
Re: 3/2 DC +6=349 +9=349 +10=340(R+1) +11=326(R+2) PMPS=313(

So far so good.
I just did DC's PM shot of 0.75u of Lantus and gave him his AB pill.
He actually took the pill very well. It was much easier than the liquid.
If all goes well, maybe I'll even see some yellow by R+4.
 
Re: 3/2 DC +4=342 +6=349 +9=349 +10=340(R+1) +11=326(R+2)

Vyktors Mum said:
I am here Noreen, I can offer moral support :smile: Serryn

How long until R+3
Thank you.
I was trying to track down DC for his test and shot.
He was hiding under the blankets in the closet.
Then I fed him before I came back to post.
I thought everyone was sleeping.
It's always good to know that someone is around.
 
Re: 3/2 DC +6=349 +9=349 +10=340(R+1) +11=326(R+2) PMPS=313(

It's daytime here, well just coming on evening. Since the R action should finish at +4 I guess we don't expect a substantial drop from it between now and then but yellow may be acheivable, he's so close. If not at +1 at least you were able to shoot a bit better of a number so the lantus might get you to the yellow floor.
 
Re: 3/2 DC +10=340(R+1) +11=326(R+2) PMPS=313(R+3) +1=317(R+

I'm assuming the "R" has finished working.
We have a slight rise for +1, which I guess is normal since he just finished eating 30 minutes before.
I'm hoping tomorrow will bring a better day for the numbers and that DC will feel all better.
5 more doses of his AB, he is now half way through.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top