3/2/17 Simone AMBG=129.6, +6=124.2, PMBG=128, +2=164

Status
Not open for further replies.
Wow. Simone really is emphasizing her point about wanting a lower dose, isn't she?
She's telling me something. I was sure that with the skipped shot last night that her AMPS number would be above 360 (20+).

I'll see about testing her around the +6 mark and see if it's going up slowly or shooting up like a rocket.

For the last 4 meals (2 days) she's only been getting the FF wet food. In the AM I always give her 5 little gastral treats but that's the only dry she gets.
 
For the last 4 meals (2 days) she's only been getting the FF wet food. In the AM I always give her 5 little gastral treats but that's the only dry she gets.

That just might be what is doing this-- we've seen some really dramatic changes in insulin needs when a cat finally goes off dry completely.

For treats, have you tried freeze-dried chicken or other meats? The brands I know in the US are PureBites and Life Essentials, but the pet food company Orijen also makes some freeze-dried treats that are low-carb (meat only).

I'll see about testing her around the +6 mark and see if it's going up slowly or shooting up like a rocket.

Good idea!
 
That just might be what is doing this-- we've seen some really dramatic changes in insulin needs when a cat finally goes off dry completely.

Well I'm liking last nights and this mornings numbers and I bet Simone's body does too. I'm just so glad that she's eating the wet food. For years I tried different brands and flavors and she would turn her nose up at all of them, regardless of how I tried to mix it with her kibble.

For treats, have you tried freeze-dried chicken or other meats? The brands I know in the US are PureBites and Life Essentials, but the pet food company Orijen also makes some freeze-dried treats that are low-carb (meat only).

She won't eat my cooking, LOL. So unless I can freeze deli bought chicken or roastbeef it's a no go on real meat. I'll check with the pet food store in town and see if they have any low-carb real meat cat treats.
 
Nice to see these lower numbers. Wasn't expecting that. 6 hrs later and it's even a little lower then her AMPS, but given the +/- % of the meter being off they are close.
 
36 hrs since receiving an injection and Simone's BG levels are hovering around the 126 (7.0) mark.
 
Wow! Simone is looking great. :cool: When you don't give insulin, we use the convention of AMBG or AM blood glucose and PMBG. That way people looking at the post title can tell you didn't give insulin.

It'd be interesting to get a test a few hours after a meal to see if the food stimulates her pancreas to work and bring down the numbers.
 
When you don't give insulin, we use the convention of AMBG or AM blood glucose and PMBG. That way people looking at the post title can tell you didn't give insulin.

It'd be interesting to get a test a few hours after a meal to see if the food stimulates her pancreas to work and bring down the numbers.

Changed the conversions since no shot was given. At PM +2 she's 164 (9.1).
 
We'll see what the morning brings, whether she needs a shot. If she does, it's not as much as she used to. :)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top