3/190 Billy +6 148 +9 67 +10 79 PMPS 97 +1 144 +2 193 +4 284

Status
Not open for further replies.

Manouk & Billy

Member Since 2011
Hello LL!
Yesterday's condo
Today :
AMPS 421
+3 342
+6 148
+9 67
+9.20 83
+10 79
+PMPS 97
+0.25 94
+1 144
+2 193
+4 284

Everything looks fine today. I have some visit over and Billy is getting plenty of attention. :)

His numbers are getting lower. Is it a good thing, or should he be monitored closely? I am not really used to blue floors for him. I usually test him on +3 +6 and +9, should I test more?

I hope you're all having a nice week-end!
 
Re: 3/190 Billy AMPS 421 +3 342 +6 148

good morning!

Billy we have a full moon party for the kitties tonight...
you in? looking great in blue!

Binks
 
Re: 3/190 Billy AMPS 421 +3 342 +6 148

NICE!!!! I'd probably do a +7 just to see where Billy is headed and go from there. He may start back up but at least you'll have some data.
 
Re: 3/190 Billy AMPS 421 +3 342 +6 148

Good suggestion from Marjorie.

Don't be surprised if Billy bounces back into higher numbers. He's not used to spending time in lower ranges and his liver may "panic." When this happens, the liver dumps stored glucose and counterregulatory hormones and numbers spike. It can take up to 72 hours for the bounce to clear. It's something all of our kitties go through until their livers learn these lower numbers are normal.
 
Re: 3/190 Billy AMPS 421 +3 342 +6 148 +9 67 ??

Aw. I forgot to refresh this page. Wish I had... ><

He's at 67 now. Billy never has been in the greens before... Is this good? At what numbers should I start worrying?
He seems to be pretty hungry now, is it because of the low #? I think I need advice. :/
 
Re: 3/190 Billy AMPS 421 +3 342 +6 148 +9 67 ??

You might want to check him again in 30 mins and continue to see where he's headed. The only thing I am not comfortable telling you is what to do if he gets lower since he hasn't been this low. I'd really like someone more experienced with first time lows this late jump in and give you some thoughts. But test and post...
 
Re: 3/190 Billy AMPS 421 +3 342 +6 148 +9 67 ??

Good...I'll be on for a bit longer. It's not that I can't make suggestions...I wouldn't want to bump him up too much but since he hasn't been this low before, we might want to so you are faced with a possible low number you can't shoot tonight.
 
Re: 3/190 Billy AMPS 421 +3 342 +6 148 +9 67 ??

GREAT...he's on his way back up. I'm not sure what a 9.10 is....If it's 9 hours and 10 minutes then I'd get a +10. If it's longer than that, then wait an hour and be sure he is still coming up.
 
Re: 3/190 Billy AMPS 421 +3 342 +6 148 +9 67 ??

Yes it was meant like a 9 hours and 10 minutes. I am definitely getting a +10. Thanks for your help! :)
 
Re: 3/190 Billy AMPS 421 +3 342 +6 148 +9 67

At this point, you want to make sure numbers are heading back up by PMPS, which it looks like they will. If you're not sure about shooting, will you be able to post?
 
Re: 3/190 Billy AMPS 421 +3 342 +6 148 +9 67

Yes I will. :) Will you be around? Or would you be able to tell me what numbers are safe to shoot and which aren't?
 
Re: 3/190 Billy AMPS 421 +6 148 +9 67 +10 79 PMPS 97 Help?

PMPS @ 97. I've been shooting 2.25 u for the last two cycles. Should I shoot? Should I decrease? :/
 
bump

nice number!

you have supplies and time this evening for checks?
this is your lowest preshot, it does look like he came up from +10,
if you're not sure, maybe retest in 20/30 minutes if you can afford to stall...but see what others can add, giving you a bump.
 
Re: 3/190 Billy AMPS 421 +6 148 +9 67 +10 79 PMPS 97 Help?

Are you able to be around tonight to test Billy as needed, and do you have plenty of test strips, HC food, karo, etc?
 
Re: 3/190 Billy AMPS 421 +6 148 +9 67 +10 79 PMPS 97 Help?

Yes, I have plenty of test strips and corn syrup. What is karo?
 
Re: 3/190 Billy AMPS 421 +6 148 +9 67 +10 79 PMPS 97 Help?

Karo = corn syrup, so you're set. :)

Since you haven't shot this low, I would maybe stall 15 minutes, make sure that Billy is rising, and go ahead and shoot your regular dose. Billy didn't earn his decrease, but he may do so tonight. If you shoot the full dose, you'll definitely want a +1 and a +2 to know where the cycle is taking you, and you'll need to stay up for awhile to continue to test.

You could also shoot a BCS (big chicken shot) if you would feel more comfortable doing that. Given that you got the spot checks to tell you he is rising, I would not skip tonight altogether.
 
Re: 3/190 Billy AMPS 421 +6 148 +9 67 +10 79 PMPS 97 Help?

Let me see if I got this straight : I test him in 15 minutes, and if he keeps rising, I give him his 2.25 u? Or just 2 u?
And then I test him a lot tonight?
 
Re: 3/190 Billy AMPS 421 +6 148 +9 67 +10 79 PMPS 97 Help?

Test at +12.25 (if it hasn't passed already, if so, test now). If it is a higher number than 97, you can either shoot the regular dose, or a smaller one if you're more comfortable, as a one-time thing. Then, get a +1 and +2 and post here... folks should be around to let you know how much more you need to keep testing... likely at least a +4 if possible (the insulin really starts kicking in for most cats around +3).

PS-- you should change your PMPS 97 to a +12 97. You only use AMPS/PMPS to show the actual shot time... so if someone reads your headline, they'll think you've already shot and may not realize you need immediate help! :)
 
bump

yea, thats what I was thinking too...do be prepared to get a little bit extra checks in., the early numbers will guide you too, plus food on board.
do your retest and see where he's going.
 
Re: 3/190 Billy +6 148 +9 67 +10 79 +12 97 +12.25 94 Help?

Thanks for the tips! +12.25 is slightly lower at 94. Should I still go ahead with the dose?
 
Re: 3/190 Billy +6 148 +9 67 +10 79 +12 97 +12.25 94 Help?

Hmmm. Those are pretty much the same number, so normally, I would say shoot... but if it won't mess up your morning schedule too badly, you could also stall another 15 minutes if you are more comfortable waiting to confirm a rise.

Lets see if others weigh in...
 
Re: 3/190 Billy +6 148 +9 67 +10 79 +12 97 +12.25 94 Help?

nice. :smile:

If you can monitor tonight, starting with +1 and +2, then you can shoot whenever you're comfortable. The food should bump him up, and the +1 will tell you how much food spike he got and will give a hint as to how the rest of the cycle will probably go. Billy likes this dose!
 
Re: 3/190 Billy +6 148 +9 67 +10 79 +12 97 +12.25 94 Help?

Okay, I'll shoot and monitor closely. Thanks so much for your help. I'll post his next numbers.
 
Re: 3/190 Billy +6 148 +9 67 +10 79 PMPS 97 +1 144

Remember, with a "perfect" curve, the +1 should be higher than your pre-shot -- it reflects a food spike. The +2 "should" be about the same as your pre-shot.
 
Re: 3/190 Billy +6 148 +9 67 +10 79 PMPS 97 +1 144

Nice shooting!! :) I still remember the first time shooting right around 100.... was so nervous! You're doing great!
 
Re: 3/190 Billy +6 148 +9 67 +10 79 PMPS 97 +1 144 +2 193

193 @ +2... It keeps getting higher. I guess this isn't a perfect curve. Perhaps his food spike is right now? We'll see.

@ Christine : I really was nervous. I guess I'll get used to it, huh? :lol:
 
Re: 3/190 Billy +6 148 +9 67 +10 79 PMPS 97 +1 144 +2 193

GREAT SHOOTING MANOUK!!! Sorry I wasn't around to witness it!!! He may continue to go up because he may be starting the bounce Sienne told you about earlier. GOOD JOB!
 
Re: 3/190 Billy +6 148 +9 67 +10 79 PMPS 97 +1 144 +2 193

I think he is. Thanks, everyone. You've been so kind and helpful for my little Billy's health. :) I really appreciate it.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top