? 3/19 Pudge Food suggestions?.. AMPS 149 +2 148 +3 101 +4 112

kitten68

Member Since 2024
3/10/26 Prev Thread Pudgles

โค๏ธโ€๐Ÿ”ฅ๐Ÿซถ๐Ÿผ.. things calmed down and w that came exhaustion frm everythingโ€ฆ wanted to come on earlier but been.. ugh.. i just woke up some days ago and just.. had integrated everything or something.. and just been laying low since. been resting frm all the mayhem. nugget is feeling better than before.. so relieving.. getting fluids.. i feel bad about his nausea, but think its much better controlled hopefully now.. all considering. honestly i thought id lose it frm the panic and the overwhelm.. this all has been really unpleasant. the whole thing sucks.. relieved to just be on the other side more..

have been implementing all the things mostly.. we do our best everyday. esp since its pretty extensive.. youre trying to make up for the work the kidneys do. ๐Ÿ˜ž๐Ÿ˜”โค๏ธโ€๐Ÿฉน on top of us still doing TR and things.. but ive just added the kidney things to the steps we been doing.. although theres some additional ones. i try to condense everything but.. time management is even more of a balancing act. its really hard sometimes.. but trying.. not easy. ๐Ÿ˜ž hes lost weight.. and continues to probably.. but doctor said its hard to keep weight on w the kidney things going on.. its hard to see. but think considering hes doing all right. ๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿผ so appreciative of everyone helping us so, so much again and offering so much support.. tysm. โค๏ธโ€๐Ÿฉน always.

im taking him for a blood pressure test tmw or early next week cuz his sugar numbers have dropped off again, on top of the blood in his eye.. so i wonder if his pressure hasnt been great again obviously.. OR could just be spikes.. which i think i was told you cant really treat, but the kidney forum has been worried about his pressure, and of course i am too, but honestly its a slippery slope at that.. i dont really know what to do. he gets white coat syndrome.. which complicated us treating it the first time and generally hypertension is hard to pinpoint anyway cause most pets are nervous at the vet.. so any readings we get most likely wont be accurate.. and of course my home machine? it aint working right.. so how do we dose? how do we go about it? now w his kidney stuff too.. the current vet is wary cause BP meds can stress the kidneys also.. yet hypertension isnt good for the body either. so we gonna see.. but idk what the solution is. ๐Ÿ˜•โค๏ธโ€๐Ÿฉน i also think.. the hypertension is why weโ€™re here.. what maybe caused the kidney issues.. and being possibly hypotensive frm the meds.. that maybe really did it too.. idk. ๐Ÿ˜”

hes not acting like he did before tho w the pressure.. he isnt withdrawn or anything.. i also try my best w the binders.. upping his Niacinimide more tonite, until its where it was suggested.. i wonder if the Niacinimide might be contributing to the higher sugar numbers, but i understand that happens mostly at higher doses.. but idk. theres things we dont know.

been seeing needing to go back up for now.. think right.. so increased the Lantus again this AM.. ugh. ๐Ÿซถ๐Ÿผ whatever is needed right.. ๐Ÿฅฒ im also trying to tend to my own health too.. on top of just trying to do just regular things.. its too much really. but trying to juggle and move things around as needed..

โ“: on top of it all, apparently Merrick is either having issues w supply.. or D/Cing the Limited Ingredient line altogether.. of which nugget gets the Turkey, so we need to be finding another only Turkey food.. i was thinking of putting him on Tiki Cat After Dark Turkey for the time being.. as food is going down.. and i been all over the region almost buying up what i could find.. i was gonna try researching more also tonite.. if anyone got suggestions, much appreciated.. ๐Ÿ’›

hoping all been all right.. ๐Ÿซถ๐Ÿผ
 
Last edited:
3/8/26 Prev Thread Pudgles

โค๏ธโ€๐Ÿ”ฅ๐Ÿซถ๐Ÿผ.. things calmed down and w that came exhaustion frm everythingโ€ฆ wanted to come on earlier but been.. ugh.. i just woke up some days ago and just.. had integrated everything or something.. and just been laying low since. been resting frm all the mayhem. nugget is feeling better than before.. so relieving.. getting fluids.. i feel bad about his nausea, but think its much better controlled hopefully now.. all considering. honestly i thought id lose it frm the panic and the overwhelm.. this all has been really unpleasant. the whole thing sucks.. relieved to just be on the other side more..

have been implementing all the things mostly.. we do our best everyday. esp since its pretty extensive.. youre trying to make up for the work the kidneys do. ๐Ÿ˜ž๐Ÿ˜”โค๏ธโ€๐Ÿฉน on top of us still doing TR and things.. but ive just added the kidney things to the steps we been doing.. although theres some additional ones. i try to condense everything but.. time management is even more of a balancing act. its really hard sometimes.. but trying.. not easy. ๐Ÿ˜ž hes lost weight.. and continues to probably.. but doctor said its hard to keep weight on w the kidney things going on.. its hard to see. but think considering hes doing all right. ๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿผ so appreciative of everyone helping us so, so much again and offering so much support.. tysm. โค๏ธโ€๐Ÿฉน always.

im taking him for a blood pressure test tmw or early next week cuz his sugar numbers have dropped off again, on top of the blood in his eye.. so i wonder if his pressure hasnt been great again obviously.. OR could just be spikes.. which i think i was told you cant really treat, but the kidney forum has been worried about his pressure, and of course i am too, but honestly its a slippery slope at that.. i dont really know what to do. he gets white coat syndrome.. which complicated us treating it the first time and generally hypertension is hard to pinpoint anyway cause most pets are nervous at the vet.. so any readings we get most likely wont be accurate.. and of course my home machine? it aint working right.. so how do we dose? how do we go about it? now w his kidney stuff too.. the current vet is wary cause BP meds can stress the kidneys also.. yet hypertension isnt good for the body either. so we gonna see.. but idk what the solution is. ๐Ÿ˜•โค๏ธโ€๐Ÿฉน i also think.. the hypertension is why weโ€™re here.. what maybe caused the kidney issues.. and being possibly hypotensive frm the meds.. that maybe really did it too.. idk. ๐Ÿ˜”

hes not acting like he did before tho w the pressure.. he isnt withdrawn or anything.. i also try my best w the binders.. upping his Niacinimide more tonite, until its where it was suggested.. i wonder if the Niacinimide might be contributing to the higher sugar numbers, but i understand that happens mostly at higher doses.. but idk. theres things we dont know.

been seeing needing to go back up for now.. think right.. so increased the Lantus again this AM.. ugh. ๐Ÿซถ๐Ÿผ whatever is needed right.. ๐Ÿฅฒ im also trying to tend to my own health too.. on top of just trying to do just regular things.. its too much really. but trying to juggle and move things around as needed..

โ“: on top of it all, apparently Merrick is either having issues w supply.. or D/Cing the Limited Ingredient line altogether.. of which nugget gets the Turkey, so we need to be finding another only Turkey food.. i was thinking of putting him on Tiki Cat After Dark Turkey for the time being.. as food is going down.. and i been all over the region almost buying up what i could find.. i was gonna try researching more also tonite.. if anyone got suggestions, much appreciated.. ๐Ÿ’›

hoping all been all right.. ๐Ÿซถ๐Ÿผ
I was just thinking about you both and hoping things were a bit calmer.
Iโ€™m so glad to read heโ€™s doing well overall.
And I hope youโ€™re taking care of yourself๐Ÿฅฐ

Itโ€™s been a very hard few months for you ๐Ÿ˜˜๐Ÿฅฐ๐Ÿซถ๐Ÿ’Œ

I hope you can find the turkey foods you need for Pudge.
Iโ€™m sure youโ€™ve looked online if you canโ€™t find it locally.

Youโ€™re doing an amazing job caring for your sweet boy! Sending lots of support and good wishes your way ๐Ÿ’•๐Ÿ’“๐Ÿˆโ€โฌ›๐Ÿซ‚๐Ÿ€๐Ÿƒ๐Ÿ€๐Ÿƒ๐Ÿ€๐Ÿƒ๐Ÿ€๐Ÿ’•๐Ÿ’—๐Ÿ’“๐Ÿ’
 
I was just thinking about you both and hoping things were a bit calmer.
Iโ€™m so glad to read heโ€™s doing well overall.
And I hope youโ€™re taking care of yourself๐Ÿฅฐ

Itโ€™s been a very hard few months for you ๐Ÿ˜˜๐Ÿฅฐ๐Ÿซถ๐Ÿ’Œ

I hope you can find the turkey foods you need for Pudge.
Iโ€™m sure youโ€™ve looked online if you canโ€™t find it locally.

Youโ€™re doing an amazing job caring for your sweet boy! Sending lots of support and good wishes your way ๐Ÿ’•๐Ÿ’“๐Ÿˆโ€โฌ›๐Ÿซ‚๐Ÿ€๐Ÿƒ๐Ÿ€๐Ÿƒ๐Ÿ€๐Ÿƒ๐Ÿ€๐Ÿ’•๐Ÿ’—๐Ÿ’“๐Ÿ’
๐Ÿ’–โค๏ธโ€โค๏ธโ€๐Ÿ”ฅ๐Ÿ’–โค๏ธโ€๐Ÿ”ฅ๐Ÿ’–
glad was able to come back on today.. trying our best. โค๏ธโ€๐Ÿฉน tysm for saying.. oof. omg..

me too!! ๐Ÿฅฐ๐Ÿฅฐ๐Ÿฅฐ im thinking the Tiki is fine for time being.. hope it tastes really good to him. he sometimes doesnt like the Merrick.. but not sure if is the kidneys doing that.. ๐Ÿฅฒ

by chance do u know this.. does a new iv line set go into every new fluids bag? or can be reused once or twice? ive heard many opinions..

hows ivy??? โค๏ธ๐Ÿ’–โค๏ธโ€๐Ÿ”ฅ๐Ÿ’–
 
๐Ÿ’–โค๏ธโ€โค๏ธโ€๐Ÿ”ฅ๐Ÿ’–โค๏ธโ€๐Ÿ”ฅ๐Ÿ’–
glad was able to come back on today.. trying our best. โค๏ธโ€๐Ÿฉน tysm for saying.. oof. omg..

me too!! ๐Ÿฅฐ๐Ÿฅฐ๐Ÿฅฐ im thinking the Tiki is fine for time being.. hope it tastes really good to him. he sometimes doesnt like the Merrick.. but not sure if is the kidneys doing that.. ๐Ÿฅฒ

by chance do u know this.. does a new iv line set go into every new fluids bag? or can be reused once or twice? ive heard many opinions..

hows ivy??? โค๏ธ๐Ÿ’–โค๏ธโ€๐Ÿ”ฅ๐Ÿ’–
I would think you need a new line for each new bag.

When I did fluids with my previous kitty, I recall using a new line. (I assume they told me to do that!)
๐Ÿ’“๐Ÿ’—๐Ÿ’•
 
I'm so glad you're feeling a bit more regulated and that you're putting effort into taking care of yourself, too. I bet Pudge is happier with a happier you, as well. โค๏ธ

You're working so hard! I wonder if you could take a little pressure off with regard to his BG numbers ... keeping them in the "ideal" range is well and good, but given how much Pudge is dealing with, I wonder if strict regulation is really much of a help. Staying below 200 is a perfectly good place for diabetic maintenance, especially when you're juggling so many other health considerations.

I just took a quick look over the limited ingredient/single protein food research I was doing for Gen a few weeks back ... KOHA, Lotus, Hounds & Gatos, Rawz and Identity all have turkey-only recipes (some are "turkey and liver," but I'm pretty sure that was turkey liver, though I'd have to go back through to make sure). Some of those are pretty expensive, unfortunately, and some can probably only be purchased online (not sure if that's an issue). I haven't looked at Tiki Cat. It sucks that his current food is disappearing ... I hope it's not a permanent discontinuation. Might be some info on that online too? Best of luck sorting it out, happy to do a bit of research later if you could use some help.
 
I'm so glad you're feeling a bit more regulated and that you're putting effort into taking care of yourself, too. I bet Pudge is happier with a happier you, as well. โค๏ธ

You're working so hard! I wonder if you could take a little pressure off with regard to his BG numbers ... keeping them in the "ideal" range is well and good, but given how much Pudge is dealing with, I wonder if strict regulation is really much of a help. Staying below 200 is a perfectly good place for diabetic maintenance, especially when you're juggling so many other health considerations.

I just took a quick look over the limited ingredient/single protein food research I was doing for Gen a few weeks back ... KOHA, Lotus, Hounds & Gatos, Rawz and Identity all have turkey-only recipes (some are "turkey and liver," but I'm pretty sure that was turkey liver, though I'd have to go back through to make sure). Some of those are pretty expensive, unfortunately, and some can probably only be purchased online (not sure if that's an issue). I haven't looked at Tiki Cat. It sucks that his current food is disappearing ... I hope it's not a permanent discontinuation. Might be some info on that online too? Best of luck sorting it out, happy to do a bit of research later if you could use some help.
tysmโ€ฆ.. honestly. โค๏ธโ€๐Ÿ”ฅ not easy.. but im trying to balance it all. and thats a good reminder.. Not too bad numbers right?.. im remembering to take the breaks sometimes when they show..

im just gonna go w the Tiki Cat for now.. would like something i can get frm the store y know.. but will see. can change to another frm there too. and plz!! i hate to be a bother cuz u got a lot on your plate too.. but if you see anything plz let us know. โค๏ธโ€๐Ÿ”ฅโค๏ธโ€๐Ÿ”ฅโค๏ธโ€๐Ÿ”ฅ๐Ÿซถ๐Ÿผ
 
Back
Top