3/19 Mr Kitty AMPS 146, +5 148, +8 142, +9 131 PM Dose Help

FrostD

Member Since 2020
Last post

Original post below, but now at AMPS and need advice. Stalled without feeding. One of us is around all day, can syringe feed as needed. Have MC, HC, karo, plenty of strips. Only concern is him eventually fighting the syringe because he's still not feeling well. Gave full dose Mirataz just now.


Will remove overnight info once AMPS rolls around, just wanted a placeholder and to show the green overnight

Phew, been a long time since I've seen green...I should be happy, but I don't like the circumstances. Finally bribed him into drinking some very diluted tuna water, but not eating well on his own. Will do full Mirataz dose this AM to see, but concerned he may still be nauseous. Hard to tell.

Not sure what to do about dose here. The combination of this sudden drop in numbers, the not eating, and momentum of depot has me wondering if I need to be cautious and reduce, even though he hasn't technically earned a reduction. Am I ok to hold, so long as I can syringe feed and he keeps it down? I can monitor daytime, but nighttime getting a little exhausting between the newborn and cat.

Vet appointment today at 5pm (it's 3:30am now) for subQ supplies and more meds. Including pain meds, was supposed to have those yesterday, very frustrated with the tech who forgot to talk to the Dr twice and didn't call me back til after they closed. Will request ondansetron too since he's apparently still not feeling great. Not sure if pain, nausea, or both.
 
Last edited:
Decided to shoot full dose :nailbiting: After poring over the SS, I'm thinking the lows are partially food (and partially something else that is a mystery to me, maybe inflammation improving?). Would rather keep this momentum going for low numbers.

Mirataz did it's job, he was begging for food at retest. Started with 1/4 can for now. Going to pte-emptively post my hypo kit info here shortly
 
Hypo kit

Karo, honey, ice cream

Friskies
Savory shreds chicken - 13%
Turkey in extra gravy - crap this one isn't on list
Savory shreds turkey and cheese - 13%

Meow mix savory morsels
Ocean Whitefish and Tuna - 22%
Tuna and salmon - 20%
Salmon and ocean fish - 24%
 
Excellent!

Sorry, I had stepped out to run some errands and only just getting online.
Damn, just kidding. Came back down and he didn't actually eat much. Picking at it now, but going to syringe feed in a bit just to get something in him.

Definitely still nauseous poor guy, standing there looking at it.
 
Good you will see the vet. I’m hoping you will get a SpecfPL to test for pancreatitis, cerenia, an RX for ondansetron. Glad mirtaz is working.
 
Got fluids, bupe, Cerenia. If he doesn't improve they'll give rx for ondansetron.

No food since +3, about to syringe the rest of the can over the next two hours if he'll let me.

Still nervous shooting full dose, especially since he's been dropping at night and I'm dead tired. Thoughts?
 
PMPS is still a while away, he could go up some.

One other thing, over 5 units total dose, we typically increase by 0.5 units, unless you are just fattening a dose already seeing green.

Paws crossed bupe, Cerenia, fluids help. I too am a bigger fan of ondansetron for nausea. Remember you want to tackle nausea first with Cerenia, then do the appetite stimulant. You don't want an appy stim if still nauseous. It can also cause food aversion, so you might have to try a different flavour.
 
Ondansetron is my drug of choice as well. I like that it can be given as much as every 8 hours and it worked for Max. I hope he feels better soon. Was a SpecfPL run?
 
PMPS is still a while away, he could go up some.

One other thing, over 5 units total dose, we typically increase by 0.5 units, unless you are just fattening a dose already seeing green.

Paws crossed bupe, Cerenia, fluids help. I too am a bigger fan of ondansetron for nausea. Remember you want to tackle nausea first with Cerenia, then do the appetite stimulant. You don't want an appy stim if still nauseous. It can also cause food aversion, so you might have to try a different flavour.
Oh I didn't realize, I thought the "if new to numbers under 200" and "nadirs between 200 and 300" applied, both if which are 0.25 increases under TR, just held for different # of cycles.

If he stabilizes around these numbers, still increase by 0.5?

I did feel like a jerk this morning, I didn't think he was nauseous so gave Mirataz...turned out he was. But now I know his nausea behavior and can avoid doing that again.

@tiffmaxee no, no spec fPL. This appointment was with a tech, vet appointment not available til 29th. What will specfPL tell us? And is it worth running if not in a flare?
 
@tiffmaxee no, no spec fPL. This appointment was with a tech, vet appointment not available til 29th. What will specfPL tell us? And is it worth running if not in a flare?[/QUOTE]

The SpecfPL would have confirmed if it is a flare. It’s only worth running when having a flare. You have the meds for pancreatitis so just see how he does. Hopefully he will feel better soon and that will be the end of it.
 
I didn't think he was nauseous so gave Mirataz.
Sometimes it's really hard to tell if they are nauseous. :bighug:
"if new to numbers under 200" and "nadirs between 200 and 300" applied, both if which are 0.25 increases under TR
That's true for cats on smaller doses. Think of the increase as a percentage of the total dose. At 1 unit, a 0.25 unit increase is 25% of the total dose. At 5 units, it's just a 5% increase. If you don't end up seeing greens at this dose, the next increase would be by 0.5 units.
 
Back
Top