3/19 GracieD PMBG 61

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jason & Belle (GA)

Member Since 2010
Afternoon all!

http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=39242

Gracie is like a crazed maniac in the mornings now. She started playing at around 5AM, and didn't stop until I got out of bed. I think it's great, but she cries and squeals when she plays, so it's impossible to sleep! Anyway, she wasn't begging for food this morning so I assume she ate some dry, but her preshot was only 81. After I fed my other wet food cat, Gracie started to beg. So I gave her FF Elegant Medleys Salmon Florentine. She loves it. I tested at +1.5 expecting to see a 40 point spike, but she was at 62. Good thing since this is the food she'll probably be getting moving forward. At +3, she was 48. Dry food and a large medium carb meal and her numbers are this low with what amounts to a drop of insulin. Me thinks it's time to give the OTJ trial a go.

I've been keeping up on Mocha, so I get the idea that the trial is 14 days. What's the significance of 14 days? Is there other protocol for the trial?

Have a great weekend everyone!

Jason
 
Re: 3/19 GracieD AMPS 81, +1.5 62, +3 48 Trial starts tonig

Hi guys .. I think it is great that you are trying a you know what trial! All I know is that when you are doing the trial, you test once in the morning, and once at night ... if your kitty is green, you just go about your day, feeding small mini meals to help the pancreas ... if your kitty is blue at either one of those times, you feed a small amount (no insulin) and then re test in a few hours to see if they brought their own numbers down .. if they did, go about your day, if they didn't, re test in another hour .. I'm not sure at that point if they have not brought their numbers down what to do, but others should be able to help answer that .. How exciting!!
 
Re: 3/19 GracieD AMPS 81, +1.5 62, +3 48 Trial starts tonig

Good luck with the trial guys. I bet it's going to go well.
 
Re: 3/19 GracieD AMPS 81, +1.5 62, +3 48 Trial starts tonig

Hi, Jason & Belle.. wow, how very exciting..an OTJ Trial tonight!! Very happy for you both :mrgreen:
I am not an advisor on the board, but I can pass along the OTJ information that I have seen given to other kitties since you are asking ;-)
Someone else might stop by & suggest specifics on moving forward with a trial, but here you go....
Good Luck!!

Per Libby and/or Sienne:

Here's the info on an OTJ trial. We like to give our LL kitties 2 weeks before declared "officially" OTJ.

Test at your normal AMPS and PMPS times. Feed multiple small meals throughout the day as much as possible (small meals are less likely to overwhelm a newly functioning pancreas).

If he/she is green at your normal test times, no need to test further until the next "PS" time, just feed small meals and go about your day. If he/she is blue, feed a small meal and test again after about 3 hours. If his/her number is lower 3-4 hours after a meal, then his pancreas is working!

Sometimes the trial doesn't work the first time and we have to give a little more support in the form of resuming insulin. It's not the end of the world if that happens, we just give him/her the support he needs. Our goal is a strong remission and it's better to take our time to get that than to rush into remission just to have it fail later on.
 
Re: 3/19 GracieD AMPS 81, +1.5 62, +3 48 Trial starts tonig

Hey Jason! Congratulations for Gracie! What wonderful news. Here is another part of the
OTJ traditions:

UncleSamphotos.jpg


Check your private messages soon, I am sending you more info in about 5 minutes. :-D
 
Re: 3/19 GracieD AMPS 81, +1.5 62, +3 48 Trial starts tonig

Also, you asked why 14 days.. it is in the protocol:

Tilly's Diabetes Homepage

Phase 5: Remission
14 days without insulin and normal blood glucose values. Most remission cats are able to stay in the normal range all of the time (50 to 80 mg/dl), although there are a few cases of sporadic higher and lower BGs. Don't stop feeding low-carb and try to avoid cortisone if possible. Test the cat's BGs once per month.

Approximately 25% cats that achieved remission using this protocol relapsed and required insulin again (frequent causes are hyperthyroidism or bouts of pancreatitis). Therefore, it is important to keep your diabetes kit up-to-date. Then you can react immediately by giving insulin and home testing. Importantly, the sooner you react to a relapse (i.e. preventing hyperglycemia and initiating other necessary veterinary treatment), the more likely a second remission will become.

The longer a cat has had diabetes, the less likely it will go into remission. Many long-term diabetics get stuck in Phase 3 or 4. Yet there is a benefit of using this method for such a cat as well: keeping the cat's BG levels as normal as possible is much healthier for it long term. Insulin requirements will often decrease to very low levels too.
 
Re: 3/19 GracieD AMPS 81, +1.5 62, +3 48 Trial starts tonig

Thanks everyone for your support! My wife and I are both hesitant to start the trial and discussed keeping her on the drop for a few more days. It just seems to have happened so fast. However, her reductions have been fast and furious, and all have held and dropped her below 50 in a matter of a few cycles. She's gone from 1.5u to .1u in two weeks and had only the slightest of hiccups for a few hours. There is no more room to reduce, so the trial is our only next step. Hopefully we're not jumping the gun.

Thanks for that snippet Nicole.

Jason
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top