3.19 Frankie AMPS 305 PMPS 313 +3 232 +4 217

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jay

Member Since 2010
Tonight we raise his does to 2.5 (Done)

Hopefully that will bring his PS's and Nadirs down (assuming I can find a Nadir) We shall soon see
 
Re: 3.19 Frankie AMPS 305

Jay I am not sure I would raise the dose just yet. You got blue with this dose but skipped the shot and could not spot check in the middle of the day so you really have no idea what Frankie's numbers would have been.
Once again Lantus is dosed by nadir not ps so if you don't know what his nadir is then I would hold off increasing until you have more data.

That is just my opinion. If you have not had a chance to read the stickies on the top of the page on how Lantus works I think you should do that when you have more time this weekend.....you really need to let go of your old insulin thinking.... believe me I know that is really hard to do.

If you increase too soon you could end up with higher ps's which is not what you want.

Others may have a different opinion.
 
Re: 3.19 Frankie AMPS 305

The past two weeks he has been over 300 for the most part at his PS's and other then the first
few days his nadir has been over 175.

Leaving hin this high this long isn't a good thing is it?

I have had him at 2.25 units for the past 8 cycles. Its obvious
based on his numbers that this dose is too "lite" to be really effective, or am
not seeing something?





Miriam and Putty said:
Jay I am not sure I would raise the dose just yet. You got blue with this dose but skipped the shot and could not spot check in the middle of the day so you really have no idea what Frankie's numbers would have been.
Once again Lantus is dosed by nadir not ps so if you don't know what his nadir is then I would hold off increasing until you have more data.

That is just my opinion. If you have not had a chance to read the stickies on the top of the page on how Lantus works I think you should do that when you have more time this weekend.....you really need to let go of your old insulin thinking.... believe me I know that is really hard to do.

If you increase too soon you could end up with higher ps's which is not what you want.

Others may have a different opinion.
 
Re: 3.19 Frankie AMPS 305

He may very well need an increase but on 3/5 and 3/17 he ps was blue. One of the days you did not shoot and the other one you delayed by and hour or two not really sure.....so you really have no idea how low he would have gone on this dose.
Normally with high numbers for 8 cycles I would increase but skipping a shot and delaying plays a big part in the higher numbers.
Frankie is your cat and you know him better than I do so you have to do what you think is best.
 
Re: 3.19 Frankie AMPS 305

those two days you mentioned food went in and ce
righ back up. 1/2 can per feeding or 1 can per day (which is really to fee calories) with a dose of 2.25 units may
very well work. However he needs both, food and insulin.
Yea, I skipped a dose because I'm had no time to wait. Of course he will be high without a shot unless the previous shot gave us some duration beyond +12, and we can catch some overlap. The only times that has
happened (overlap) is when he threw his food up the previous cycle

I'm not going skiing this weekend and other then a few hours
to see my accountant, his ear will get a poke work out.


Miriam and Putty said:
He may very well need an increase but on 3/5 and 3/17 he ps was blue. One of the days you did not shoot and the other one you delayed by and hour or two not really sure.....so you really have no idea how low he would have gone on this dose.
Normally with high numbers for 8 cycles I would increase but skipping a shot and delaying plays a big part in the higher numbers.
Frankie is your cat and you know him better than I do so you have to do what you think is best.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top